Nevada Safety Committee

Purpose

The committee will provide oversight and guidance to university administrators and EH&S staff with regard to programmatic and compliance aspects of workplace safety, and promote development of specific programs to facilitate employee awareness and observance of applicable health and safety standards.

Committee Minutes

Contact EH&S for NSC meeting minutes.

Committee Issues (Typical)

  • Occupational injuries and illness
  • Workplace audits and reviews
  • Regulatory compliance

Major Regulatory Drivers:

  • OSHA
    • 29 CFR 1910, General Industry Standards
    • 29 CFR 1926, Construction Industry Standards
  • Washoe County District Health Department, Air Quality Management Division
    • Asbestos testing, Surveys
  • Nevada State Fire Marshal
    • Fire Safety
  • State of Nevada
    • NRS 681
    • NAC 618
      • 618.538-618.542, Safety Programs

Meeting Frequency:

The NSC will meet quarterly during the calendar year.

Demographics:

Institutional OfficialProvost
Number of members 13
No. of off-campus members 0
No. of faculty/staff organization members 0
No. of student members 0
Meeting frequency Quarterly
Operational Procedures Version 1. 10/2013
Committee membership turnover 3 year staggered/academic year

Committee Contacts

Committee Chair

Migle Valunte
Committee Chair
Manager, Insurance
phone: (775) 682-6107
mvalunte@unr.edu

Committee Members:

Lou Christensen
Biology - Manager of Biology Facilities
University of Nevada, Reno
phone: (775) 784-6087
lpc@unr.edu

Andrew Conner
Facilities Maintenance Services - Campus Safety Manager
University of Nevada, Reno
phone: (775) 874-6359
aconner@unr.edu

Stephanie DeBoor
Orvis School of Nursing - Associate Director
University of Nevada, Reno
phone: (775) 682-7156
deboors2@unr.edu

Jeffrey Erickson
Art - Asst Director, Sculpture Center
University of Nevada, Reno
phone: (775) 784-6782
erickson@unr.edu

James Hawthorne
Police Services - Commander
University of Nevada, Reno
phone: (775) 682-7245
jhawthorne@police.unr.edu

William Jacques
Residential Housing & Food Services - Director, Housing Facilities
University of Nevada, Reno
phone: (775) 784-6109
wjacques@unr.edu

Bowen Kindred
NRES - Assistant Director, NV Agricultural Experiment Station
University of Nevada, Reno
phone: (775) 784-4339
bkindred@cabnr.unr.edu

Spencer Lewis
EH&S - Safety Specialist
University of Nevada, Reno
phone: (775) 327-5046
sclewis@unr.edu

Kathleen Newman
Facilities Services - Manager, Safety & HR
University of Nevada, Reno
phone: (775) 682-7046
kknewman@unr.edu

Andrew Reilly
Athletics - Assistant Athletics Director, Facilities
University of Nevada, Reno
phone: (775) 682-7661
andrewreilly@unr.edu

Kristi Roberson
Risk Management - Personnel Technician III
University of Nevada, Reno
phone: (775) 682-7661
kroberson@unr.edu

John Sagebiel 
EH&S - Assistant Director
University of Nevada, Reno
phone: (775) 784-1139
jsagebiel@unr.edu

Megan Swank
Speech Pathology and Audiology - Assistant Professor
University of Nevada, Reno
phone: (775) 784-4887
mswank@med.unr.edu

Su Hoon Tan
Crowley Student Union - Associate Director, JCSU Operations
University of Nevada, Reno
phone: (775) 784-6505
suhoontan@unr.edu

Viktoriya Weirauch
Chemistry - Director, Laboratories
University of Nevada, Reno
phone: (775) 682-8304
vlepak@unr.edu

Stephanie Woolf
EH&S - Director
University of Nevada, Reno
phone: (775) 327-5041
swoolf@unr.edu