Laboratory Safety Committee

Purpose

The Laboratory Safety Committee (LSC) provides guidance and administrative oversight of environmental health and safety issues associated with laboratory activities. Through consideration of laboratory safety issues in a holistic manner, the LSC develops policies to reduce risks that are associated with laboratory operations.

Committee minutes

Contact EH&S for LSC meeting minutes.

Committee issues (typical)

  • Reproductive health
  • Laboratory closeout
  • Laboratory safety training
  • Hazardous materials procurement and inventory
  • Laboratory safety assessments

Major regulatory drivers

  • OSHA
    • Occupational Exposure to Hazardous Chemicals in Laboratories
  • Washoe County District Health Department, Air Quality Management Division
    • Laboratory Hood Air Discharge Permit
  • Nevada State Fire Marshall
    • Fire and Life Safety; chemical inventories

Demographics

  • Number of members: 8
  • Number of academic faculty: 5
  • Number of administrative faculty: 3
  • Meeting frequency: Twice each fall and spring semester

Committee minutes

Contact EH&S for LSC meeting minutes.

Committee contacts

Committee Chair

Dev Chidambaram
Professor, Chemical and Materials Engineering
University of Nevada, Reno
(775) 784-7066
dcc@unr.edu

Committee members

Luis Barthel-Rosa
Manager of Chemical Management Services, Environmental Health and Safety
University of Nevada, Reno
(775) 327-2270
luisbr@unr.edu

Rose Beeler
Director of Laboratories, Chemistry
University of Nevada, Reno
(775) 682-8304
rbeeler@unr.edu

Paul Brett
Institutional Biosafety Committee Chair
Associate Professor, Microbiology and Immunology
University of Nevada, Reno
(775) 784-4109
pbrett@med.unr.edu

Iain Buxton
Radiation Safety Committee Chair
Professor, Pharmacology
University of Nevada, Reno
(775) 784-4800
ibuxton@med.unr.edu

Ben King
Professor, Chemistry
University of Nevada
(775) 784-1736
king@chem.unr.edu

Dylan Kosma
Assistant Professor, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
University of Nevada, Reno
(775) 682-7319
dkosma@unr.edu

Ben Owens
Associate Director, Environmental Health and Safety
University of Nevada, Reno
(775) 327-5196
bowens@unr.edu