Laboratory Safety Committee


The Laboratory Safety Committee (LSC) provides guidance and administrative oversight of environmental health and safety issues associated with laboratory activities. Through consideration of laboratory safety issues in a holistic manner, the LSC develops policies to reduce risks that are associated with laboratory operations.

Committee minutes

Contact EH&S for LSC meeting minutes.

Committee issues (typical)

  • Reproductive Health
  • Laboratory closeout
  • Laboratory safety training
  • Hazardous materials procurement and inventory
  • Laboratory safety assessments

Major regulatory drivers

  • OSHA
    • Occupational Exposure to Hazardous Chemicals in Laboratories
  • Washoe County District Health Department, Air Quality Management Division
    • Laboratory Hood Air Discharge Permit
  • Nevada State Fire Marshall
    • Fire and Life Safety; chemical inventories


  • No. of Members: 7
  • No. of Academic Faculty: 5
  • No. of Administrative Faculty: 2
  • Meeting Frequency: Twice each Fall and Spring Semester

Committee minutes

Contact EH&S for LSC meeting minutes.

Committee contacts

Committee Chair

Devicharan Chidambaram
Assoc. Professor, Chemical and Materials Engineering
University of Nevada, Reno
(775) 784-7066

Committee members

Iain Buxton
Radiation Safety Committee Chair
Professor, Pharmacology
University of Nevada, Reno
(775) 784-4800

William Courchesne
Institutional Biosafety Committee Chair
Associate Professor, Microbiology
University of Nevada, Reno
(775) 784-4113

Dylan Kosma
Assistant Professor, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
University of Nevada, Reno

Ben Owens, CIH, CBSP
Assistant Director, Laboratory Safety
University of Nevada, Reno
(775) 327-5196

Jason Shearer
Professor, Chemistry
University of Nevada, Reno
(775) 784-6804

Viktoriya Weirauch
Director of Laboratories, Chemistry
University of Nevada, Reno
(775) 682-8304