Nevada Safety Committee

Purpose

The committee will provide oversight and guidance to university administrators and EH&S staff with regard to programmatic and compliance aspects of workplace safety and promote development of specific programs to facilitate employee awareness and observance of applicable health and safety standards.

Committee issues (typical)

  • Occupational injuries and illness
  • Workplace audits and reviews
  • Regulatory compliance

Major regulatory drivers

  • Washoe County Health District, Air Quality Management Division
    • Asbestos testing and surveys
  • Nevada State Fire Marshal
    • International Fire Code 2018
  • State of Nevada
    • NRS 616, Industrial Insurance
    • NRS 618, Occupational Safety and Health
    • NRS 681, Insurance/Liabilities
    • NAC 618.538-542, Safety Programs
  • United States Occupational Safety and Health Administration
    • 29 CFR 1910, General Industry Standards
    • 29 CFR 1926, Construction Industry Standards

Demographics

  • Number of members: 26
  • Number of academic faculty: 3
  • Number of administrative faculty: 18
  • Number of classified staff: 5
  • Meeting frequency: Quarterly

Committee minutes

Contact EH&S for NSC meeting minutes.

Committee contacts

Committee Chair

Vacant

Committee members

Alex Baker
Fitness and Recreational Sports
(775) 682-7031
arbaker@unr.edu

Nathan Barlow
Assistant Athletics Director, Facilities
Athletics
University of Nevada, Reno
(775) 682-6943
nbarlow@unr.edu

Luis P. Barthel-Rosa
Manager, Chemical Management Services
Environmental Health & Safety
University of Nevada, Reno
(775) 327-2270
luisbr@unr.edu

Andrew Conner
Campus Safety Manager
Facilities Services
University of Nevada, Reno
(775) 784-6359
aconner@unr.edu

Stephanie DeBoor
Associate Professor & Associate Dean of Graduate Programs
Orvis School of Nursing
University of Nevada, Reno
(775) 682-7156
deboors2@unr.edu

Amilton de Mello
Assistant Professor of Meat Science and Food Safety/Wolf Pack Meats Director
Department of Agriculture, Veterinary & Rangeland Sciences/Cooperative Extension
University of Nevada, Reno
(775) 784-6648
amilton@cabnr.unr.edu

Treg Gardner
IT Professional
Physiology and Cell Biology
University of Nevada, Reno
(775) 784-6045
tgardner@med.unr.edu

Andy Giddings
Environmental Health & Safety
(775) 327-2326
jgiddings@unr.edu

Patty Hand
Student Union
(775) 784-6505
patriciahand@unr.edu

Vincent Keller
Facility Manager
Residential Life and Housing
University of Nevada, Reno
(775) 784-6190
vkeller@unr.edu

Bowen Kindred
Assistant Director, NV Agricultural Experiment Station
College of Agriculture, Biotechnology, and Natural Resources
University of Nevada, Reno
(775) 784-4339
bkindred@cabnr.unr.edu

Amy Koeckes
Associate Director, Student Engagement Outreach
Associated Students of the University of Nevada, Reno (ASUN)
University of Nevada, Reno
(775) 784-6589
amyk@unr.edu

Spencer Lewis
Safety Specialist
Environmental Health & Safety
University of Nevada, Reno
(775) 327-5046
sclewis@unr.edu

Kathleen Newman
Manager, Safety & Human Resources
Facilities Services
University of Nevada, Reno
(775) 682-7046
kknewman@unr.edu

Kristi Roberson
Loss Control Coordinator
Business Center North – Human Resources
(775) 784-1450
kroberson@unr.edu

John Sagebiel
Assistant Director, Environmental Programs
Environmental Health & Safety
University of Nevada, Reno
(775) 784-1139
jsagebiel@unr.edu

Tim Wilmoth
Police Services
(775) 784-4013
twilmoth@unr.edu

Brock A. Young
Training Manager
Environmental Health & Safety
University of Nevada, Reno
(775) 784-5058
brocky@unr.edu

Mark Young
Specialist, Insurance and Risk
Business Center North – Human Resources
(775) 682-6105
marky@unr.edu

Damon Zimmerman
Parking Services
(775) 784-4654
zimmerman@unr.edu