skip to main content

Nevada Safety Committee

Purpose

The committee will provide oversight and guidance to university administrators and EH&S staff with regard to programmatic and compliance aspects of workplace safety, and promote development of specific programs to facilitate employee awareness and observance of applicable health and safety standards.

Committee Minutes

Browse all committee minutes.

Committee Issues (Typical)

  • Occupational injuries and illness
  • Workplace audits and reviews
  • Regulatory compliance

Major Regulatory Drivers:

  • OSHA
    • 29 CFR 1910, General Industry Standards
    • 29 CFR 1926, Construction Industry Standards
  • Washoe County District Health Department, Air Quality Management Division
    • Asbestos testing, Surveys
  • Nevada State Fire Marshal
    • Fire Safety
  • State of Nevada
    • NRS 681
    • NAC 618
      • 618.538-618.542, Safety Programs

Meeting Frequency:

The NSC will meet quarterly during the calendar year.

Demographics:

Institutional OfficialProvost
Number of members 13
No. of off-campus members 0
No. of faculty/staff organization members 0
No. of student members 0
Meeting frequency Quarterly
Operational Procedures Version 1. 10/2013
Committee membership turnover 3 year staggered/academic year

Committee Contacts

Committee Chair

Susan Dunt 
Committee Chair
BCN Risk Manager 
phone: (775) 682-6107
sdunt@unr.edu

Committee Members

Stephanie Woolf
EH&S Director
University of Nevada, Reno
phone: (775) 327-5041
swoolf@unr.edu

Brady Janes
Chemistry - Director of Laboratories
University of Nevada, Reno
phone: (775) 682-8304
bradyj@unr.edu

Jeffrey Erickson
Art - Asst Director, Sculpture Center
University of Nevada, Reno
phone: (775) 784-6782
erickson@unr.edu

Lou Christensen
Biology - Manager of Biology Facilities
University of Nevada, Reno
phone: (775) 784-6087
lpc@unr.edu

Sean Heenan
Facilities Maint. Services - Campus Safety Manager
University of Nevada, Reno
phone: (775) 682-5412
sheenan@unr.edu

Kyle Zive
Crowley Student Union - Manager, JCSU Operations
University of Nevada, Reno
phone: (775) 784-6505
kzive@unr.edu

EH&S Support:

John Sagebiel 
EH&S - Assistant Director
University of Nevada, Reno
phone: (775) 784-1139
jsagebiel@unr.edu

Elisa White 
EH&S - Administrative Assistant
University of Nevada, Reno
phone: (775) 327-5041
elisaw@unr.edu

Spencer Lewis 
EH&S - Safety Specialist
University of Nevada, Reno
phone: (775) 327-5046
sclewis@unr.edu

Stephanie DeBoor 
Orvis School of Nursing - Associate Director
University of Nevada, Reno
phone: (775) 682-7156
deboors2@unr.edu

Steve Matles 
EH&S - UNSOM-ICS EHS Officer
University of Nevada, Reno
phone: (775) 327-5041
smatles@medicine.nevada.edu

Marjorie Matocq 
NRES - Associate Professor
University of Nevada, Reno
phone: (775) 784-4621
mmatocq@cabnr.unr.edu

(VACANT)
Police Services
University of Nevada, Reno
phone:

(VACANT)
Athletics
University of Nevada, Reno
phone:

Take the next step...