skip to main content

Laboratory Safety Committee


The Laboratory Safety Committee (LSC) provides guidance and administrative oversight of environmental health and safety issues arising from UNR laboratory activities. Through consideration of laboratory safety issues in a holistic manner, the LSC develops policies, that when implemented, will reduce risks associated with laboratory operations. The LSC is responsible for ensuring that all laboratory safety issues are considered in order to avoid contradiction or redundancy, and to provide effective overall management of laboratory safety issues.

Committee Minutes

Contact EH&S for LSC meeting minutes.

Committee Issues (Typical)

  • Reproductive Health
  • Laboratory closeout
  • Laboratory safety training
  • Hazardous materials procurement and inventory
  • Laboratory safety assessments

Major Regulatory Drivers:

  • OSHA
    • Occupational Exposure to Hazardous Chemicals in Laboratories
  • Washoe County District Health Department, Air Quality Management Division
    • Laboratory Hood Air Discharge Permit
  • Nevada State Fire Marshall
    • Fire and Life Safety; chemical inventories

Meeting Frequency:

The LSC will meet at least twice each fall and spring semesters, and more frequently if needed.


Institutional OfficialVPRI
Number of members 7
No. of off-campus members 0
No. of faculty/staff organization members 0
No. of student members 0
Meeting frequency Academic Year - 5 times
Operational Procedures Yes, but not approved
Committee membership turnover none defined

Committee Contacts

Committee Chair

Ana Bettencourt-Dias, Ph.D.
Lab Safety Committee Chair
Professor, Chemistry
University of Nevada, Reno
Phone: (775) 682-8421

Committee Members

 Ben Owens, CIH, CPSP
Assistant Director, Laboratory Safety
University of Nevada, Reno
phone: (775) 327-5196

 Claus Tittiger, Ph.D.
University of Nevada, Reno
Phone: (775) 784-6480

William Courchesne, Ph.D. 
Institutional Biosafety Committee Chair
Assoc. Professor, Microbiology
University of Nevada, Reno 
Phone: (775) 784-4113

Paul Neill, Ph.D. 
Radiation Safety Committee Chair
Department of Physics
University of Nevada, Reno 
Phone: (775)-682-6614

Qizhen Li, Ph.D. 
Associate Professor
Chemical Engineering 
University of Nevada, Reno 
Phone: (775) 784-4507

Take the next step...