Find a Faculty Mentor

Many faculty members are interested in working with undergraduates on research projects. It's easier than you might think to find a faculty mentor to work with.

Here are some steps to help you get started:

  • Think about your interests and your available time to commit to a research project.
  • Talk with faculty you have taken classes with and ask them to recommend other faculty members to contact.
  • Familiarize yourself with a faculty member's research before you contact them; check their department web pages and research sites for bios and publications.

Faculty Mentor Directory

Below is a list of faculty who would like to mentor and work with undergrad students. Faculty are listed by college and department.

Faculty Mentors for the Department of Agriculture, Nutrition & Veterinary Sciences
Department of Agriculture, Nutrition & Veterinary Sciences
Silvia Stan sstan@unr.edu
Stanley Omaye omaye@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
John Cushman jcushman@unr.edu
Patricia Ferreira Dos Santos pferreiradossantos@unr.edu
Dylan Kosma dkosma@unr.edu
Ian Wallace iwallace@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Science
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Science
Adrian Harpold adrian.harpold@gmail.com
Elizabeth Leger eleger@cabnr.unr.edu
Paul Verburg pverburg@cabnr.unr.edu
Peter Weisberg pweisberg@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Economics
Department of Economics
Mehmet Tosun tosun@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Literacy Studies
NevadaTeach
Glenn Waddell gwaddell@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Chemical and Materials Engineering
Department of Chemical and Materials Engineering
Sage Hiibel shiibel@unr.edu
Ravi Subramanian ravisv@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Yu Yang yuy@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Computer Science and Engineering
Department of Computer Science and Engineering
Konstantinos Alexis kalexis@unr.edu
David Feil-Seifer dfseifer@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Electrical and Biomedical Engineering
Department of Electrical and Biomedical Engineering Faculty Mentors
Xiaoshan Zhu xzhu@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Mechanical Engineering
Department of Mechanical Engineering Faculty Mentors
Mustafa Hadj-Nacer mhadjnacer@unr.edu
Yanyao Jiang yjiang@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Anthropology
Department of Anthropology
Richard Scott grscott@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Art
Department of Art
Peter Goin pgoin@unr.edu
Brett Van Hoesen bvanhoesen@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Criminal Justice
Department of Criminal Justice
Emmanuel Barthe epbarthe@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of English
Department of English
Elisabeth Miller elisabethmiller@unr.edu
Ignacio Montoya ignaciomontoya@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of History
Department of History
Linda Curcio lindacurcio@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Political Science
Department of Political Science
Elizabeth Koebele ekoebele@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Psychology
Department of Psychology
Lorraine Benuto dr.benuto@gmail.com
Marian Berryhill mberryhill@unr.edu
Gideon Caplovitz gcaplovitz@unr.edu
Jeff Hutsler jhutsler@unr.edu
Fang Jiang fangj@unr.edu
Jacqueline Snow snow@unr.edu
Lars Strother lars@unr.edu
Michael Webster mwebster@unr.edu
Yueran Yang yuerany@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Sociology
Department of Sociology
Marta Elliott melliott@unr.edu
Clayton Peoples peoplesc@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of World Languages and Literatures
Department of World Languages and Literatures
Fred de Rafols fdrafols@unr.edu
Casilde Isabelli isabelli@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Center for Basque Studies
Genocide Studies (Center for Basque Studies)
Xabier Irujo irujo@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Biology
Department of Biology
Jeffrey Baguley baguley@unr.edu
Sudeep Chandra sudeep@unr.edu
Chris Feldman ophis@unr.edu
Matthew Forister mforister@unr.edu
Thomas Kidd tkidd@unr.edu
Anne Leonard anneleonard@unr.edu
Pedro Miura pmiura@unr.edu
Elizabeth Pringle epringle@unr.edu
Yong Zhang yongzhang@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Chemistry
Department of Chemistry
Mario Alpuche Aviles malpuche@unr.edu
Christopher Barile cbarile@unr.edu
Ana de Bettencourt-Dias abd@unr.edu
Brian Frost frost@unr.edu
Laina Geary lgeary@unr.edu
Chris Jeffrey cjeffrey@unr.edu
Robert Sheridan rss@unr.edu
Yiftah Tal Gan ytalgan@unr.edu
Matthew Tucker matthewtucker@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Geography
Department of Geography
Scott Kelley scottkelley@unr.edu
Stephanie McAffee smcafee@unr.edu
Kenneth Nussear knussear@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Geological Sciences and Engineering
Department of Geological Sciences and Engineering
Ronald Breitmeyer rbreitmeyer@unr.edu
John McCormack mccormac@mines.unr.edu
Paula Noble noblepj@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Mathematics and Statistics
Department of Mathematics and Statistics
Christopher Herald herald@unr.edu
Paul Hurtado phurtado@unr.edu
Anna Panorska ania@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Physics
Department of Physics
Heather Holmes hholmes@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Reynolds School of Journalism
Reynolds School of Journalism
Ezequiel Korin ekorin@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Sanford Center for Aging
Sanford Center for Aging
Susan Harris sharris@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Microbiology and Immunology
Department of Microbiology and Immunology
David Aucoin daucoin@medicine.nevada.edu
Sujata Pandit spandit@medicine.nevada.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Pharmacology
Department of Pharmacology
Dean Burkin dburkin@medicine.nevada.edu
Heather Burkin hburkin@medicine.nevada.edu
Ruben Dagda rdagda@medicine.nevada.edu
Cherie Singer csinger@medicine.nevada.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Physiology and Cell Biology
Department of Physiology and Cell Biology
Qi Chen cqi@med.unr.edu
Seungil Ro sro@medicine.nevada.edu
Wei Yan wyan@medicine.nevada.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Speech Pathology and Audiology
Department of Speech Pathology and Audiology
Abbie Olszewski aolszewski@medicine.nevada.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Biology
Department of Biology
Laura Briggs lbriggs@tmcc.edu