Find a Faculty Mentor

Many faculty members are interested in working with undergraduates on research projects. It's easier than you might think to find a faculty mentor to work with.

Here are some steps to help you get started:

  • Think about your interests and your available time to commit to a research project.
  • Talk with faculty you have taken classes with and ask them to recommend other faculty members to contact.
  • Familiarize yourself with a faculty member's research before you contact them; check their department web pages and research sites for bios and publications.

Faculty Mentor Directory

Below is a list of faculty who would like to mentor and work with undergrad students. Faculty are listed by college and department.

Faculty Mentors for the Department of Agriculture, Nutrition & Veterinary Sciences
Department of Agriculture, Nutrition & Veterinary Sciences
Stanley Omaye omaye@unr.edu
Marie-Louise Ricketts mricketts@cabnr.unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Patricia Ellison ellison@unr.edu
Patricia Ferreira Dos Santos pferreiradossantos@unr.edu
Dylan Kosma dkosma@unr.edu
Ron Pardini ronp@cabnr.unr.edu
David Shintani shintani@unr.edu
Ian Wallace iwallace@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Science
Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Science
Tom Dilts tdilts@unr.edu
Mae Gustin mgustin@cabnr.unr.edu
Marjorie Matocq mmatocq@unr.edu
Bob Nowak nowak@cabnr.unr.edu
Kelley Stewart kstewart@cabnr.unr.edu
Lee Turner leeturner@ndow.org
Paul Verburg pverburg@cabnr.unr.edu
Peter Weisberg pweisberg@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Economics
Department of Economics
Tom Harris harris@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Literacy Studies
Department of Literacy Studies
Dianna Townsend dtownsend@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Chemical and Materials Engineering
Department of Chemical and Materials Engineering
Dev Chidambaram dcc@unr.edu
Jeffrey LaCombe lacomj@unr.edu
Ravi Subramanian ravisv@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Yu Yang yuy@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Computer Science and Engineering
Department of Computer Science and Engineering
David Feil-Seifer dfseifer@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Mechanical Engineering
Department of Mechanical Engineering Faculty Mentors
Eric Wang elwang@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Anthropology
Department of Anthropology
Richard Scott grscott@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Art
Department of Art
Peter Goin pgoin@unr.edu
Tamara Scronce tamaras@unr.edu
Brett Van Hoesen bvanhoesen@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Criminal Justice
Department of Criminal Justice
Emmanuel Barthe epbarthe@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of English
Department of English
Michael Branch mbranch@unr.edu
Patrick Harris patrickharris@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of History
Department of History
Emily Hobson ehobson@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Political Science
Department of Political Science
Robert Ostergard orobert@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Psychology
Department of Psychology
Marian Berryhill mberryhill@unr.edu
Gideon Caplovitz gcaplovitz@unr.edu
William Follette follette@unr.edu
Holly Hazlett-Stevens hhazlett@unr.edu
Fang Jiang fangj@unr.edu
Jacqueline Snow snow@unr.edu
Michael Webster mwebster@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of World Languages and Literatures
Department of World Languages and Literatures
Fred de Rafols fdrafols@unr.edu
Casilde Isabelli isabelli@unr.edu
Beatriz Robinson beatriz@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Biology
Department of Biology
Patricia Berninsone berninsone@unr.edu
Chris Feldman ophis@unr.edu
Matthew Forister mforister@unr.edu
Thomas Kidd tkidd@unr.edu
Minkyung Kim minkim@unr.edu
Anne Leonard anneleonard@unr.edu
Grant Mastick gmastick@unr.edu
Pedro Miura pmiura@unr.edu
Yong Zhang yongzhang@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Chemistry
Department of Chemistry
Mario Alpuche Aviles malpuche@unr.edu
Ana de Bettencourt-Dias abd@unr.edu
Brian Frost frost@unr.edu
Chris Jeffrey cjeffrey@unr.edu
Ben King king@chem.unr.edu
Robert Sheridan rss@unr.edu
Yiftah Tal Gan ytalgan@unr.edu
Matthew Tucker matthewtucker@unr.edu
Sergey Varganov svarganov@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Geography
Department of Geography
Tom Albright talbright@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Geological Sciences and Engineering
Department of Geological Sciences and Engineering
John McCormack mccormac@mines.unr.edu
Paula Noble noblepj@unr.edu
Simon Poulson poulson@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Mathematics and Statistics
Department of Mathematics and Statistics
Christopher Herald herald@unr.edu
Anna Panorska ania@unr.edu
Paul Hurtado phurtado@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Physics
Department of Physics
Tim Darling darling@unr.edu
Andrew Geraci ageraci@unr.edu
Heather Holmes hholmes@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Community Health Sciences
Community Health Sciences
Jeff Angermann jangermann@medicine.nevada.edu
Judith Sugar jsugar@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Division of Atmospheric Sciences
Division of Atmospheric Sciences
Eric Wilcox Eric.Wilcox@dri.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Division of Hydrologic Sciences
Division of Hydrologic Sciences
Greg Pohll Greg.Pohll@dri.edu
Sesh Rajagopal Seshadri.Rajagopal@dri.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Reynolds School of Journalism
Reynolds School of Journalism
Ezequiel Korin ekorin@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Sanford Center for Aging
Sanford Center for Aging
Susan Harris sharris@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Microbiology and Immunology
Department of Microbiology and Immunology
David Aucoin daucoin@medicine.nevada.edu
Sujata Pandit spandit@medicine.nevada.edu
Cyprian Rossetto crossetto@medicine.nevada.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Pharmacology
Department of Pharmacology
Dean Burkin dburkin@medicine.nevada.edu
Heather Burkin hburkin@medicine.nevada.edu
Iain Buxton ibuxton@medicine.nevada.edu
Ruben Dagda rdagda@medicine.nevada.edu
Normand Leblanc nleblanc@medicine.nevada.edu
Cherie Singer csinger@medicine.nevada.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Physiology and Cell Biology
Department of Physiology and Cell Biology
Seungil Ro sro@medicine.nevada.edu
Wei Yan wyan@medicine.nevada.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Speech Pathology and Audiology
Department of Speech Pathology and Audiology
Abbie Olszewski aolszewski@medicine.nevada.edu
Faculty Mentors for the School of Social Work
School of Social Work
Mary Hylton mhylton@unr.edu
Faculty Mentors for the Department of Biology
Department of Biology
Laura Briggs lbriggs@tmcc.edu
Faculty Mentors for the University of Nevada Cooperative Extension
University of Nevada Cooperative Extension
Loretta Singletary singletaryl@unce.unr.edu