Kevin Carman

Executive Vice President and Provost
2013 - present

Meet Kevin Carman

Provost Carman was appointed to his position by President Johnson in February 2013. As the Executive Vice President and Provost, Kevin Carman oversees the University's twelve colleges and schools, the Division of Extended Studies and the University of Nevada Cooperative Extension. He also has responsibility for the Office of Research and Innovation, the Office of Information Technology, University Libraries, the University of Nevada Press, and KUNR. In his role as Executive Vice President, he serves as the University's chief executive officer when President Marc Johnson is away.

Provost Carman previously served as Dean of the College of Science at Louisiana State University. He has served in numerous leadership roles for national and statewide higher-education programs. At the national level, he has served on the Education Committee of the American Institute for Biological Sciences, and as LSU's representative on the National Council for Science and the Environment. He served as vice-chair of Louisiana's statewide EPSCoR committee.

He currently serves on the board of directors for the National Association of Chief Academic Officers; the Statewide Medical Committee, charged with overseeing the transition to two medical schools in Nevada; and on the "What's Next Nevada" advisory board, which is charged with identifying and promoting best practices in K-12 education. Dr. Carman's research interests are in the area of marine ecology and ecotoxicology. He has previously served on the editorial board of International Scholarly Research Network Oceanography and as subject editor for Aquatic Microbial Ecology. Provost Carman is a Professor in the University of Nevada, Reno Department of Biology and is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. He earned his undergraduate degree in biology from McPherson College in 1982, and he earned master's and doctoral degrees in biological oceanography from Florida State University in 1984 and 1989.