The Provost's Office coordinates several campus-wide academic awards, many of which are presented at the University's Honor the Best celebration, an annual event to recognize the outstanding achievements of faculty, staff, and students.  These awards include:

Cavanaugh Community Volunteer Award

The Cavanaugh Community Volunteer Award has been given annually since 1996 to recognize a graduating student at the University of Nevada, Reno who has made a significant contribution to the community through volunteer work. The award is funded by the son and daughter of Margery Cavanaugh.  

Distinguished Outreach Faculty Award

In recognition of the importance of faculty outreach, the Distinguished Outreach Faculty Award program began in 2004. The award was developed to recognize and salute the university's faculty for outstanding outreach activities. Funding is provided by the University of Nevada, Reno Foundation and the Office of the Provost.

F. Donald Tibbitts Distinguished Teacher Award

The F. Donald Tibbitts Distinguished Teacher Award has been conferred to the university's finest teachers since 1973.  Recipients come from a wide variety of UNR teaching departments.  Each year two recipients are selected based on nominations from the deans of each college, submission of teaching portfolios by the nominees, and classroom observations.  Funding is provided by the UNR Foundation, ASUN, and the Office of the Provost.  

Paul and Judy Bible University Teaching Award

Foundation Professor Award

The Foundation Professor program was developed in 1983 to recognize and salute the university's professors for outstanding achievements, particularly in research and teaching. The award is for a three-year period during which the individuals selected receive a $5,000 annual stipend to be used in professional endeavors, a one course per semester reduction in teaching load, and recognition at the annual Foundation Banquet in early fall. Funding is provided by the UNR Foundation.

Global Engagement Award

Established in 2011, the Global Engagement Award is a university-wide award for full-time academic faculty and administrative faculty in recognition of their outstanding contributions to international programs, international program development, academic and global research programs, or international research and teaching at the University of Nevada, Reno. Funding is provided by the Office of International Students & Scholars, University Studies Abroad Consortium, and the Office of the Provost.

Thornton Peace Prize

The Thornton Peace Prize was established in 1970 by William and Barbara Thornton, both graduates of the University of Nevada, Reno.  This award is given annually to recognize an individual or group from the university community who exemplifies by word or deed that use of force is not an acceptable means for settling disputes.  

The University and Board of Regents' Academic Advisor Award

The University Academic Advisor Award is given annually to faculty or staff members with distinguished records of student advisement. Two awards are granted, one for undergraduate advisement and one for graduate advisement. Full-time faculty, professional staff, and classified staff who provide academic advising as part of their regular or primary assignment are eligible for the award.