Thornton Peace Prize

The Thornton Peace Prize was established in 1970 by William and Barbara Thornton, both graduates of the University of Nevada, Reno. This award, given annually, recognizes an individual or group from the university community who exemplifies by word or deed that use of force is not an acceptable means for settling disputes. The award winner will be honored at the Honor the Best ceremony in May.

Eligibility and nominations

Recipients may be a student, faculty member, or group at the University of Nevada, Reno.

The Office of the Provost calls for nominations for this award in the spring of each year. A formal nomination letter and CV or resume for the individual or individuals being nominated should be provided. Additional materials in support of the nomination are then requested by the selection committee consisting of representatives from the Office of the Provost, Division of Student Services and faculty.

2024 nominations will be accepted beginning in January. Submit a formal letter of nomination and CV or resume for the individual or individuals being nominated to Karen Gotchy at by Thursday, February 15, 2024 at 5 p.m. Late nominations will not be considered.

Previous Thornton Peace Prize recipients

List of winners of the Thornton Peace Price
Year Name Unit Student or Professor
2023 Nevada Positive Behavior Interventions and Support Technical Assistance Center (PBISTA) N/A N/A
2022 Marlene Rebori Northern Area, Cooperative Extension Professor
2021 Nicole Jacobs School of Medicine Professor
2020 The Young Feminists n/a n/a
2019 Sarah Blithe Communication Studies Associate Professor
2018 Kate Berry Geography Professor
2018 Kevin McReynolds N/A Student
2017 Husain Tazarvi N/A Student
2016 Marta Elliot Sociology Professor
2015 Reno Justice Coalition N/A N/A
2014 Jennifer Hill English Associate Professor
2013 Carina Black Northern Nevada International Center Director
2012 Scott Slovic English Professor
2011 M.E.N. (Motivated, Extraordinary, Noble) of Distinction N/A N/A
2011 FUSED (student social work group) N/A N/A
2011 Barry Peterson Holocaust, Genocide & Peace Studies Faculty
2010 Marissa Levan N/A N/A
2010 Geraldine Thweatt N/A N/A
2009 Women in Dialogue N/A N/A
2009 Brian Williams N/A Student
2008 Joaquin Raafael Roces N/A Student
2008 Pack Rides Service N/A N/A
2007  Fungisai Nota N/A Graduate Student
2006 Rita Laden Student Life Services Faculty
2005 University Studies Abroad Consortium N/A N/A
2004 Chicano Student Movement of Atzlan N/A N/A
2004 Native American Organization N/A N/A
2003 Lois Parker Counseling Center Director
2002 Residence Hall Association N/A N/A
2002 Freedom Tree Committee School of Social Work N/A
2001 Unknown recipient N/A N/A
2000 Unknown recipient N/A N/A
1999 Leonard Weinberg Political Science Faculty
1999 Father Frank Hoffman N/A N/A
1999 Rev. Ruth Hanusa N/A N/A
1998 Sgt. George Sullivan Police Services N/A
1997 Center for Holocaust, Genocide & Peace Studies N/A N/A
1996 Barbara Scott Nutrition Education & Research Associate Professor
1995 Cary Yamamoto Student Services Faculty
1994 Emma Sepulveda-Pulvirenti Foreign Languages & Literature Associate Professor
1993 Michael J. Havercamp Human Development & Family Studies Associate Professor
1992 K.B. Rao Student Services Faculty
1991 William Scott & Ana Scott N/A Emeritus Faculty
1990 University Women's Center N/A N/A
1989 Brent D. Gardner N/A N/A
1989 Elizabth Bernheimer N/A N/A
1988 Mark Fred Sidles N/A N/A
1987 Rupert G. Seals N/A N/A
1987 Barbara Ashley N/A N/A
1986 Dr. Richard Bargen School of Medicine Professor
1986 Evelyn May Summers N/A Student
1985 Blair McGirk N/A N/A
1985 Dr. Steven H. Bloomfield N/A N/A
1984 Ada Cook Student Services Faculty
1984 Kristin Pfanku N/A Student
1983 Robert A. Fulkerson N/A N/A
1982 Jan Evans N/A Faculty
1982 Glenn C. Miller N/A Faculty
1982 Jack B. Selbig Student Services Faculty
1981 Joseh H. Robertson N/A Professor
1981 Patricia Fladager N/A N/A
1980 Cathy Fulkerson N/A Student
1980 Sue E. Romero N/A Student
1979 James H. Harrison N/A N/A
1978 Rev. Nadine Start DeWitt Center for Religion and Life N/A
1977 R. Edin Worley Physics Professor Emeritus
1976 Elmer Rusco N/A Faculty
1975 Phyllis R. Kaiser Department of Vocational Rehabilitation N/A
1974 Collenn Stotler Crisis Call Center N/A
1973 Elaine Backman N/A Student
1972 William Scott Physics Professor
1971 Joe Crowley Political Science Professor
1970 Center for Religion and Life N/A N/A