Academic advisors

All new students (freshmen, transfer students and newly declared majors), continuing freshmen, sophomores, and probation students in the College of Science and the Mackay School of Earth Sciences & Engineering meet with one of the Academic Advisors listed below.

Your advisor is assigned to you based on your major and, in some cases the first letter of your last name.

Juniors and Seniors in good academic standing should meet with their faculty advisor, not an academic advisor.

Juniors and Seniors: find your faculty advisor

Select majors assigned an advisor by last name

Students with the following majors are assigned to an advisor by last name:

  • Atmospheric Sciences
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Molecular Microbiology & Immunology (MMI)
  • Physics
Steve Calhoun

Steve Calhoun

Last names beginning with A-F

scalhoun@unr.edu
SFB 100D

Schedule an appointment with Steve

Portrait of David Dineen with a green foliage background

David Dineen

Last names beginning with G-L

ddineen@unr.edu
SFB 100C

Schedule an appointment with David

Tanuja Miura

Tanuja Miura

Last names beginning with M-Q 

tmiura@unr.edu
SFB 100G

Schedule an appointment with Tanuja

Tanuja Miura

Gina Sella

Last names beginning with R-Z and all BS-MD/BS-DMD participants

gsella@unr.edu
SFB 100F

Schedule an appointment with Gina

Advisor assigned by major only

The following advisors are assigned by majors only, including all students with majors in the Mackay School of Earth Sciences & Engineering.

Jennifer Oneil

Jennifer O'neil

joneil@unr.edu
SFB 100B

Advisor for the following majors:

  • Geography (BA & BS)
  • Geology
  • Geological Engineering
  • Geophysics
  • Hydrogeology
  • Mathematics & Statistics (BA & BS)
  • Metallurgical Engineering
  • Mining Engineering

Make an appointment with Jennifer Oneil

Lyndsey Forbes

Lindsey Forbes

lforbes@unr.edu
(775) 784-4684
PSAC 405

Advising for the following major:

  • Neuroscience