Academic advisors

*Please contact academic advisors by email only at this time.

All new students (freshmen, transfer students and newly declared majors), continuing freshmen, sophomores, and probation students in the College of Science and the Mackay School of Earth Sciences & Engineering meet with one of the Academic Advisors listed below.

Your advisor is assigned to you based on your major and, in some cases the first letter of your last name.

Juniors and Seniors in good academic standing should meet with their faculty advisor, not an academic advisor.

Juniors and Seniors: find your faculty advisor

Select majors assigned an advisor by last name

Students with the following majors are assigned to an advisor by last name:

  • Atmospheric Sciences
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Microbiology & Immunology
  • Neuroscience
  • Physics
  • Psychology

Advisor assigned by major only

  • Geography (BA & BS)
  • Geology
  • Geological Engineering
  • Geophysics
  • Hydrogeology
  • Mathematics & Statistics (BA & BS)
  • Metallurgical Engineering
  • Mining Engineering
Steve Calhoun

Steve Calhoun

Last names beginning with A

scalhoun@unr.edu
Orvis 211

Schedule an appointment with Steve

Headshot of Taylor Diamond outdoors.

Taylor Diamond

Last names beginning with B-F:

tdiamond@unr.edu
Orvis Building 210

Schedule an appointment with Taylor

Portrait of David Dineen with a green foliage background

David Dineen

Last names beginning with G-L

ddineen@unr.edu
Orvis 212

Schedule an appointment with David

Tanuja Miura

Tanuja Miura

Last names beginning with M-Q 

tmiura@unr.edu
Orvis Building 207

Schedule an appointment with Tanuja

Jennifer Oneil

Jennifer O'Neil

Last names beginning with R and advisor for the following majors:

  • Geography (BA & BS)
  • Geology
  • Geological Engineering
  • Geophysics
  • Hydrogeology
  • Mathematics & Statistics (BA & BS)
  • Metallurgical Engineering
  • Mining Engineering

joneil@unr.edu
Orvis Building 208

Schedule an appointment with Jennifer

Tanuja Miura

Gina Sella

Last names beginning with S-Z and all BS-MD/BS-DMD participants

gsella@unr.edu
Orvis 214

Schedule an appointment with Gina