Faculty advisors

To meet with a faculty advisor, you must meet the following criteria:

  • Juniors and Seniors with a declared College of Science or Mackay School of Earth Sciences & Engineering major
  • In good academic standing (University of Nevada, Reno cumulative GPA 2.0 or higher)

To request an advising appointment via email, include your full name, date of birth (month/date), your major and the dates and times you are available to meet during regular business hours.

Find your Faculty Advisor

  • Biology

    Biology | last names A - G

    Dr. Elena Pravosudova
    Office: SFB 202
    (775) 784-1704 | epravosudova@unr.edu

    Biology | last names H - O

    Dr. Josh Stevenson
    SFB 211
    jstevenson@unr.edu

    Biology | last names P - Z

    Dr. Pamela Sandstrom
    SFB 207
    (775) 784-6681 | psandstrom@unr.edu

  • Chemistry

    Advising for professional Chemistry, environmental chemistry, general, and pre-medical options.

    Craig Dodson
    craigd@unr.edu

    Lyndsay Munro
    lmunro@unr.edu

  • Geography

    Dr. Doug Boyle
    douglasb@unr.edu

  • Geological Sciences & Engineering

    Geological Engineering | last names A - L

    Dr. Scott McCoy
    smccoy@unr.edu

    Geological Engineering | last names M - Z

    Dr. Bob Watters
    watters@unr.edu

    Geophysics

    Dr. Wendy Calvin
    wcalvin@unr.edu

    Dr. John Louie
    louie@seismo.unr.edu

    Geology

    Dr. John McCormack
    mccormac@mines.unr.edu

    Hydrogeology

    Dr. Joel Scheingross
    jscheingross@unr.edu

  • Mathematics and Statistics

    Advising for students pursuing BS & BA degree programs in general mathematics, statistics, applied mathematics, and discrete mathematics/operations research options.

    Applied Mathematics

    Dr. Alex Kumjian
    alex@unr.edu

    Statistics

    Dr. Ania Panorska
    ania@unr.edu

    Dr. Tom Kozubowski
    tkozubow@unr.edu

    Discrete Mathematics/Operations research

    Dr. Tom Quint
    quint@unr.edu

    General/Pure Mathematics

    Dr. Bruce Blackadar
    bruceb@unr.edu

  • Mining & Metallurgical Engineering

    Metallurgical Engineering

    Dr. Carl Nesbitt
    calrn@unr.edu

    Mining Engineering

    Dr. Annie Koscis
    ekoscis@unr.edu

  • Microbiology & Immunology

    Last names A - L

    Dr. William Courchesne
    wcourchesne@med.unr.edu

    Last names M - Z

    Dr. Mary Burtnick
    mburtnick@med.unr.edu

  • Physics | Atmospheric Sciences

    Physics

    Dr. Dave Bennum
    daveb@physics.unr.edu

    Dr. Melodie Rodrigue
    melodi@physics.unr.edu

    Atmospheric Sciences

    Dr. Pat Arnott
    patarnott@physics.unr.edu

  • Psychology

    To schedule an appointment with a Psychology Faculty advisor:

    Visit MSS room 438 in person,
    Call (775) 784-6828,
    Or email psyhelp@unr.edu