Thornton Peace Prize

The Thornton Peace Prize was established in 1970 by William and Barbara Thornton, both graduates of the University of Nevada, Reno. This award, given annually, recognizes an individual or group from the university community who exemplifies by word or deed that use of force is not an acceptable means for settling disputes. The award winner will be honored at the Honor the Best ceremony in May with an award check less applicable taxes.

  • Eligibility: Recipients may be a student, faculty member, or group at the University of Nevada, Reno student.
  • Nomination and Selection Process: The Provost's office calls for nominations for this award in the spring of each year. A formal nomination letter and CV or resume for the individual or individuals being nominated should be provided. Additional materials in support of the nomination are then requested by the selection committee consisting of representatives from the provost office, student services division, and faculty.
  • 2019 nominations will be accepted beginning in January.  Submit a formal letter of nomination and CV or resume for the individual or individuals being nominated to Audrey Casey at or in person to the Provost's Office, Clark Administration Building Room #110, by Friday, February 15, 2019, at 5:00 p.m.  Late nominations will not be considered.

Previous Thornton Peace Prize Recipients

2018 Kate Berry, Professor, Geography; Kevin McReynolds - Student

2017 Husain Tazarvi - Student

2016 Marta Elliott - Professor, Sociology

2015 Reno Justice Coalition

2014 Jennifer Hill - Associate Professor, English

2013 Carina Black - Director of Northern Nevada International Center

2012 Scott Slovic - Professor, English

2011 M.E.N. (Motivated, Extraordinary, Noble) of Distinction; FUSED (Student Social Work Group); Barry Peterson, Faculty, Holocaust, Genocide & Peace Studies

2010 Marissa Levan; Geraldine Thweatt

2009 Women in Dialogue; Brian Williams - Student

2008 Joaquin Rafael Roces, - Student; Campus Escort Service

2007 Fungisai Nota - Graduate Student, Researcher

2006 Rita Laden - Faculty, VP Student Life Services

2005 University Studies Abroad Consortium (USAC)

2004 Chicano Student Movement of Atzlan; Native American Organization

2003 Lois Parker - Director, Counseling Center

2002 Residence Hall Association; School of Social Work's Freedom Tree Committee

2001 ***

2000 ***

1999 Leonard Weinberg - Faculty, Political Science; Father Frank Hoffman; Rev. Ruth Hanusa

1998 Sgt. George Sullivan, UNRPD

1997 Center for Holocaust, Genocide, & Peace Studies

1996 Barbara Scott - Associate Professor, Nutrition Ed & Research

1995 Cary Yamamoto - Faculty, Student Services

1994 Emma Sepulveda-Pulvirenti - Associate Professor, FLL

1993 Michael J. Havercamp - Associate Professor, HDFS

1992 K.B. Rao - Faculty, Student Services

1991 William Scott and Ann Scott - Emeritus Faculty

1990 University Women's Center

1989 Brent D. Gardner & Elizabeth Bernheimer

1988 Mark Fred Sidles

1987 Rupert G. Seals and Barbara Ashley

1986 Dr. Richard Bargen - Professor, Medical School and Evelyn May Summers - Student

1985 Blair McGirk and Dr. Steven H. Bloomfield

1984 Ada Cook - Faculty, Student Services and Kristin Pfanku - Student

1983 Robert A. Fulkerson

1982 Jan Evans, Glenn C. Miller - Faculty, and Jack B. Selbig - Faculty, Student Services

1981 Joseph H. Robertson - Professor and Patricia Fladager

1980 Cathy Fulkerson - Student and Sue E. Romero - Student

1979 James H. Harrison

1978 Rev. Nadine Start DeWitt - Center for Religion and Life

1977 R. Edwin Worley - Professor Emeritus, Physics

1976 Elmer Rusco - Faculty

1975 Phyllis R. Kaiser - Dept. of Vocational Rehabilitation

1974 Colleen Stotler - Crisis Call Center

1973 Elaine Backman - Student

1972 William Scott - Professor, Physics

1971 Joe Crowley - Professor, Political Science

1970 Center for Religion and Life
***Unknown Recipients