Regents' Academic Advisor Award

Two recipients are selected annually for the University Academic Advisor Award in the categories of undergraduate advisement and graduate advisement. Recipients of the UNR award receive $1,000 and are recognized at the annual Honor the Best Ceremony in May. These winners are also forwarded for consideration for the Regent's Academic Advisor Awards which is $5,000 each for a Regent's Undergraduate Academic Advisor Award and the Regent's Graduate Advisor Award.

Eligibility: Full-time faculty, professional staff, and classified staff who provide academic advising as part of their regular or primary assignment are eligible for the award. Although these awards are intended for individuals, groups who have made outstanding contributions in academic advising may be recognized as well.

Nomination and Selection Process: Nominations are requested in the early fall and can be made by any member of the university community. Any employee or student of the university may submit one name in nomination for this award. Nominees are asked to submit materials, including a CV, evidence of effective advising, examples of advising materials developed, a statement of advising philosophy, and support letters. A selection committee with representatives from the provost's office, student services, faculty and students determines the winners each year.

Previous University and Regents' Academic Advisor Winners:

2017 Natalia Rudi, Undergraduate Advisor*

2017 Pamela Sandstrom, Undergraduate Advisor* and James Sedinger, Graduate Advisor*

2016 Nancy Markee and Julie Stoughton, Undergraduate Advisors and Tamara Scronce, Graduate Advisor

2015 Erin Stiles, Undergraduate Advisor* and Jane Detweiler, Graduate Advisor

2014 Kathy Leonard, Undergraduate Advisor and Cheryll Glotfelty, Graduate Advisor*

2013 Elena Pravosudova, Undergraduate Advisor and Robert Ostergard, Graduate Advisor*

2012 Cynthia Birk, Undergraduate Advisor* and Robert Ostergard, Graduate Advisor

2011 Jennifer O'Neil, Undergraduate Advisor* and Thomas Harrison, Graduate Advisor

2010 David Fenimore, Undergraduate Advisor and Jamie Anderson, Graduate Advisor*

2009 Elliott Parker, Undergraduate Advisor* and Kambiz Raffiee, Graduate Advisor

2008 Lorena Beck, Undergraduate Advisor* and C. Richard Tracy, Graduate Advisor*

2007 Sean Casey, Undergraduate Advisor and Mary Ann Demchak, Graduate Advisor

2006 Kristi Van Gorder, Undergraduate Advisor*

2005 Christie Howard & Eileen Hickey, Undergraduate Advisors* and Scott Slovic, Graduate Advisor*

2004 V. Dean Adams, Undergraduate Advisor* and Scott Tyler, Graduate Advisor*

2003 Nancy Markee, Undergraduate Advisor* and Deborah Kuhls, Graduate Advisor*

2002 Debra Holman, Undergraduate Advisor* and Lynda Wiest, Graduate Advisor*

2001 Chris Cheney, Undergraduate Advisor* and Joe Cline, Graduate Advisor*

2000 Chris Exline, Undergraduate Advisor* and Mary Maples, Graduate Advisor*

1999 Rena Armstrong, Undergraduate Advisor* and Martha Combs, Graduate Advisor*

1998 Gary Vinyard, Graduate Advisor (Posthumous)

*Indicates a Regents' Academic Advisor Award Winner.