Presidential Task Force & Strategic Action Plan

The Presidential Diversity and Inclusion Task Force (PDITF) was convened in early 2020 by Diversity and Inclusion as an executive mandate to coordinate and organize the working units that would complete the first diversity, equity and inclusion (DEI) strategic action plan for the University of Nevada, Reno.

The PDITF consisted of separate working groups representing all academic units (colleges and schools), Student Services, Marketing and Communications, Police Services and Administration and Finance. Each working group consisted of six-week working sessions to assess needs, areas of accomplishment and areas for improvement, following research-based, data-driven methods and including the findings from the 2019 Climate Survey.

The 2021-2022 Strategic Action Plan, created by the PDITF, identified four areas of focus for promoting inclusive excellence:

  • Increasing enrollment, retention, and graduation of underrepresented students
  • The classroom and education in democracy
  • Faculty and staff recruitment, development, and retention
  • Communication, symbols, and safe places

Read the full 2021-2022 Strategic Action Plan

Below are the members who worked on the 2021-2022 DEI Strategic Action Plan.

Committee members

Academic units

  • Adam Kirn, College of Engineering
  • Lillian Wichinsky, School of Social Work
  • Daniel Enrique Pérez, College of Liberal Arts
  • Dean William Payne, College of Agriculture, Biotechnology & Natural Resources
  • Eleni Oikonomidoy, College of Education
  • Sung-Yeon Park, School of Public Health
  • Katherine McCall, College of Science
  • Linda Kopecky, University Libraries and Teaching & Learning Technologies
  • Jody Lykes, Honors College
  • Loren Pietsch, Graduate School
  • Nicole Jacobs, School of Medicine
  • Paul Mitchell, Reynolds School of Journalism
  • Ronald Lembke, College of Business
  • Sarah Cummings, Core Curriculum, ex-officio member
  • Zhizhong Li, Orvis School of Nursing

Student Services and Athletics

  • Christopher Weir, Scheduling Services
  • Dean Kennedy, Residential Life
  • Erin Edgington, Honors College 
  • Jennifer Lowman, Student Persistence Research
  • Jose Quiroga, Financial Aid
  • Mayra Sierra-Ruiz, Records and Registration
  • Rhonda Bennet, Athletics
  • Romando Nash, Student Life Services
  • Sheena Harvey, Fitness and Recreational Sports

Marketing & Communications and IT

  • David Branby, Marketing and Communications
  • Deaon Clausell, Marketing and Communications, Web
  • J’Neal Hachquet, Marketing and Communications, Marketing
  • John Trent, Marketing and Communications, News and Features
  • Karl Fendelander, Marketing and Communications, News and Features
  • Kerri Garcia, Marketing and Communications
  • Kirstin Swagman, Marketing and Communications, Online Media

University Police Department - Northern Command

  • Detective Faith Syfrett
  • Reserve Officer Adam Wilson
  • Sergeant Matt Stewart
  • Sergeant Dave Olson
  • Lieutenant John Galicia

Vice President for Administration and Finance

  • Adam Mcwhirter, Facilities
  • Alex Khaliq, Human Resources
  • Amanda Leiner, Real Estate
  • Christy Sireika, Planning, Budget & Analysis
  • Cory Jares, Facilities
  • Daniel Anthonijsz, Facilities
  • Desi Tillman, Human Resources
  • Gina Dory, Facilities
  • Haley Anderton-Folmer, Human Resources
  • Janine Nelson, Human Resources
  • Jaymi Powney, Human Resources
  • Jim Rothstein, Facilities
  • Jon King, Facilities
  • Jordan DeWeerd, Facilities
  • Jorge Farinacci, Facilities
  • Kim Beers, Human Resources
  • Kristi Roberson, Human Resources
  • Kyle Dazey, Facilities
  • Leanne Caspe, Human Resources
  • Liana Mcgill, Human Resources
  • Melissa Campsey, Facilities
  • Mike Averett, Facilities
  • Mikeal Carver, Facilities
  • Mitch Childs, Facilities
  • Raeven Johnson, Human Resources
  • Tad Kelly, Business & Finance

University Advancement

  • Amy Carothers, Directory, Alumni Engagement
  • Leigh Fitzpatrick, Director of Development, College of Science
  • Autumn Henderson, Executive Assistant
  • Torrey Hood, Director, Annual Giving
  • Bill Johnson, Vice President Advancement and Executive Director of University of Nevada, Reno Foundation
  • Emily Sharick, Manager, Alumni Relations
  • Jillian Szewczak, Assistant Director of Development, School of Social Work, Orvis School of Nursing & School of Public Health
  • Keiko Weil, Director, Donor Relations
  • Allison Williams, Specialist, Communications Writer