Intelligent and Autonomous Systems

Research Projects

Browse a list of representative research projects on our projects page:

Research Labs

Advanced Robotics and Automation Laboratory

Primary Contacts: Hung (Jim La)
Major Focus: Mobile robotic systems, multi-robot systems, infrastructure/bridge inspection robotic systems, human-robot collaboration, automatic control systems
Website: Advanced Robotics and Automation Laboratory

Autonomous Robots Laboratory

Primary Contacts: Kostas Alexis
Major Focus: Creating cognizant, intelligent robotic systems capable of long-term autonomous operation in complex, dynamic, diverse environments
Website: Autonomous Robots Laboratory

Computer Vision Laboratory (CVL)

Primary Contacts: George Bebis and Mircea Nicolescu
Major Focus: Object recognition, visual motion analysis, 3-D reconstruction, face detection/recognition, biometrics, tracking and pose estimation projects of human body/head/ hand/eye-gaze, surveillance and human activity recognition
Website: Computer Vision Laboratory

Evolutionary Computing Systems Laboratory (ECSL)

Primary Contact: Sushil Louis
Major Focus: Evolutionary computing based machine learning and its applications to military training and decision support, computer gaming, and modeling and inversion.
Website: Evolutionary Computing Systems Lab Website

Robotics Research Laboratory

Primary Contact: Monica Nicolescu and David Feil-Seifer
Major Focus: Mobile and articulated robotics, multi-agent systems, machine learning, motion planning, human-robot interaction, biologically inspired robotics, and human activity recognition
Website: Robotics Laboratory


Faculty in this area

Kostas Alexis

Kostas Alexis

Assistant Professor

kalexis@unr.edu

(775) 682-6871 | SEM 202

George Bebis

George Bebis

Foundation Professor

bebis@cse.unr.edu

(775) 784-6463 | SEM 235

David Feil-Seifer

David Feil-Seifer

Assistant Professor

dave@cse.unr.edu

(775) 784-6469 | SEM 218

Emily Hand

Emily Hand

Assistant Professor

emhand@unr.edu

(775) 682-8256 | PE 223

Hung La

Hung (Jim) La

Assistant Professor

hla@unr.edu

(775) 682-6862 | SEM 214

Siming Liu

Siming Liu

Lecturer

simingl@unr.edu

(775) 784-6701 | SEM 253B

Sushil Louis

Sushil Louis

Professor

sushil@cse.unr.edu

(775) 784-4315 | SEM 237

Monica Nicolescu

Monica Nicolescu

Professor

monica@unr.edu

(775) 784-1687 | SEM 239

Mircea Nicolescu

Mircea Nicolescu

Professor

mircea@cse.unr.edu

(775) 784-4356 | SEM 232

Alireza Tavakkoli

Alireza Tavakkoli

Associate Professor

tavakkol@unr.edu

(775) 682-8426 | PE 222