Advising

Who is my advisor?

  • Freshmen, sophomores and incoming transfer students are advised by the College of Engineering Advising Center.
  • Computer science and engineering majors who have completed 60 credits are advised by a member of the CSE faculty.

Advising forms

CSE advisors

Juniors and seniors: Appointments with your advisor should be made using Navigate (check for available hours and make an appointment). if you are unable to schedule an appointment please contact Ashley in the CSE department office. 

Faculty advisors for juniors and seniors
Student last name Advisor Email Office
A-Atk Engin Arslan earslan@unr.edu WPEB 421
Atl-Bern Shahriar Badsha sbadsha@unr.edu WPEB 317
Bero-Bz George Bebis bebis@cse.unr.edu WPEB 411
 C-Com Sergiu Dascalu dascalus@cse.unr.edu WPEB 311
Con-Den Keith Lancaster keithlancaster@unr.edu WPEB 215
Deo-Es Eelke Folmer efolmer@unr.edu WPEB 403
Et-Fra Emily Hand emhand@unr.edu WPEB 415
Frb-God Fred Harris, Jr. fred.harris@cse.unr.edu WPEB 437
Goe-Hen Erin Keith ekeith@unr.edu WPEB 433
Heo-Ht Hung (Jim) La hla@unr.edu WPEB 305
Hu-Ken Nancy LaTourrette latour@cse.unr.edu WPEB 419
Keo-Lee Sushil Louis sushil@cse.unr.edu WPEB 409
Lef-Martin Tin Nguyen tinn@unr.edu WPEB 435
Martine-Min Mircea Nicolescu mircea@cse.unr.edu WPEB 413
Mio-Nep Monica Nicolescu monica@unr.edu WPEB 307
Neq-Pat Christos Papachristos cpapachristos@unr.edu WPEB 309
Pau-Pz Shamik Sengupta ssengupta@unr.edu WPEB 313
R-Rz Haoting Shen hshen@unr.edu WPEB 315
S-Sn Alireza Tavakkoli tavakkol@unr.edu WPEB 417
So-Tor Feng Yan fyan@unr.edu SEM 233
Tos-Wan Lei Yang leiy@unr.edu WPEB 427
Wao-Z Dongfang Zhao dzhao@unr.edu WPEB 431

Tech electives

Valid tech electives
Course Prefix Course Number Course Name Department/Program

IS

301

Management Information Systems 

Information Systems

IS

360

internet Programming I 

Information Systems 

IS

445

Project Management: Principles and Practice

Information Systems

IS

460

Internet Programming II

Information Systems

IS

470

Computer Security, Controls, and Information Assurance 

Information Systems

IS

475

Database Design and Implementation

Information Systems

Please note: To request a course to count as a tech elective, please email Monica Nicolescu.