Andrei Derevianko posing for a photo in his office.

Andrei Derevianko

Sara Louise Hartman Endowed Professor in Physics


About the Sara Louise Hartman Endowed Professorship in Physics

Leon W. Hartman was a professor of physics from 1909-38 and served as the president of the University of Nevada, Reno from 1938 until his death in 1943. This fund was established with a gift from his estate and is named after his daughter, Sara Louise, who passed away while a student at the University. Established: 2017. (College of Science)

Professional Experience

  • 2010 - Present Professor, University of Nevada, Reno
  • 2006-2010 Associate Professor, University of Nevada, Reno
  • 2001-2006 Assistant Professor, University of Nevada, Reno
  • 1999-2000 Postdoctoral Research Associate, Harvard University/ITAMP (A. Dalgarno group)
  • 1996-1999 Postdoctoral Research Associate, University of Notre Dame (W. R. Johnson group)
  • 1993-1996 Graduate Research and Teaching Assistant, Auburn University (E. A. Oks group)

Professional Awards

  • Outstanding Researcher, University of Nevada, Reno 2015
  • Simons Fellow in Theoretical Physics, Simons Foundation 2014
  • Westfall Scholar Mentor, University of Nevada, Reno 2013
  • Westfall Scholar Mentor, University of Nevada, Reno 2012
  • Gordon Godfrey Fellow, University of New South Wales, Sydney, Australia 2011
  • Fellow of the American Physical Society 2008
  • Fulbright senior scholar in Australia, U.S. Department of State 2007
  • Mousel-Feltner award for excellence in research/creative activity, University of Nevada 2006.
  • Precision measurement grant, US National Institute of Standards and Technology 2003.
  • Harry Merriwether fellowship, Auburn University 1995.


  • Ph.D., Physics 1996 Auburn University
  • M.S., Physics and Applied Mathematics, summa cum laude 1992 Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology (FizTech)