Winners of the Outstanding Researcher Award

The University of Nevada, Reno Outstanding Researcher Award is given annually to a faculty member with a distinguished record in research or creative activities.

Outstanding Researcher Award recipients
Year Recipient Discipline
2023 Ana de Bettencourt-Dias Chemistry
2023 Monica Miller Criminal justice
2022 Scott Earley Pharmacology
2021 Tom Bell Chemistry
2020 Geoffrey Blewitt Geosciences
2019 Peter Sebaaly Civil and environmental engineering
2018 Jeffrey Harper Biochemistry and molecular biology
2017 Wei Yan Physiology and cell biology
2016 Mae Gustin Environmental science
2015 Andrei Derevianko Physics
2014 David Leitner Chemistry
2013 John Cushman Biochemistry and molecular biology
2012 Thomas Kozel Microbiology and immunology
2011 Michael Webster Psychology
2010 James Brune Geology/seismology
2009 Bruce Moran History
2008 Iain Buxton Pharmacology
2007 Peter Goin Art
2006 Faramarz Gordaninejad Mechanical engineering
2005 Ann Ronald English
2004 David Schooley Biochemistry
2003 Donald D. Fowler Anthropology/historic preservation
2002 Kathleen Keef Physiology
2001 Donald L. Hardesty Anthropology
2000 Mehdi Saiidi Civil engineering
1999 William Douglass Basque studies
1998 Dorothy Hudig Microbiology
1997 Steven Hayes Psychology
1996 Manoranjan Misra Chemical and metallurgical engineering
1995 Catherine Fowler Anthropology
1994 Joseph Hume Physiology
1993 Robert Merrill English
1992 John Sutko Pharmacology
1991 Kenton Sanders Physiology
1990 Morris Brownell English
1989 David Westfall Pharmacology
1988 Thomas J. Nickles Philosophy
1987 Paul McReynolds Psychology
1986 Bruce Blackadar Mathematics
1985 Bruce Douglas Civil engineering
1984 Gary Blomquist Biochemistry
1983 William H. Jacobsen, Jr. English
1982 No Award Given  
1981 Alan S. Ryall Seismology
1980 Larry Scott Chemistry
1979 Baldev Vig Biology
1978 David Lightner Chemistry
1977 Thomas Cargill Economics
1976 R.A. and Beatrix Gardner Psychology
1975 Hyung Kyu Shin Chemistry