Faculty

Deborah A. Boehm (Ph.D. University of New Mexico 2005; Associate Professor) Cultural anthropology, (im)migration, transnationalism, and globalization; gender and women's studies; childhood and kinship; Mexico, the U.S. West and Southwest, and the U.S.-Mexico Borderlands. dboehm@unr.edu (775) 682-6503.

Sarah E. Cowie (Ph.D. University of Arizona, Tucson 2008; Associate Professor) Historical archaeology of the American West and Southeast, social theory, power relations, archaeology of working communities, industrial archaeology, indigenous archaeology, decolonizing methods and collaborative archaeology. scowie@unr.edu (775) 682-7524.

Jenanne K. Ferguson (Ph.D. University of Aberdeen, Scotland 2013; Assistant Professor) Linguistic anthropology, language maintenance, indigenous languages and education in the circumpolar north; Russian and Canada. jenannef@unr.edu (775) 682-7629.

Louis C. Forline (Ph.D. University of Florida-Gainesville 1997; Associate Professor) Cultural anthropology, lowland peoples of South America, ecological anthropology, racial-ethnic identity; Brazilian Amazon, U.S. forline@unr.edu (775) 682-7840.

Christopher Jazwa (Ph.D. Pennsylvania State University 2015; Assistant Professor) Prehistoric archaeology, human ecology, human behavioral ecology, zooarchaeology, hunter-gatherers, isotope ecology, human-environmental dynamics, fire ecology, underwater archaeology, coastal and island archaeology; Western North America, Australia. cjazwa@unr.edu (775) 682-7623.

Christopher Morgan (Ph.D. University of California, Davis 2006; Associate Professor) Prehistoric archaeology, Great Basin, California, China, Mongolia, Andes, hunter-gatherers, early agriculture, evolutionary ecology, lithics, GIS. ctmorgan@unr.edu (775) 682-8992.

Marin Pilloud (Ph.D. Ohio State University 2009; Assistant Professor) Physical anthropology, forensic anthropology, bioarchaeology, California and Turkey;  research focus on skeletal and dental data to research stress, social structure, violent behavior and population migration. mpilloud@unr.edu (775) 682-7693.

Mikaela Rogozen-Soltar (Ph.D. University of Michigan 2010; Assistant Professor) Migration, Diaspora, Citizenship; Islam; Religious Conversion; Historical Memory; Anthropology of Gender; Public Anthropology; Europe, North Africa, and the Mediterranean. mikaelars@unr.edu (775) 682-7953.

G. Richard Scott (Ph.D. Arizona State University 1973; Professor) Dental anthropology, skeletal biology, bioarchaeology; American Southwest, Alaska, North Atlantic. grscott@unr.edu (775) 682-7630.

Kyra E. Stull (Ph.D. University of Pretoria, South Africa 2014; Assistant Professor) Biological anthropology, forensic anthropology, growth and development, craniometric and postcraniometric human variation, South Africa, and quantitative methods. kstull@unr.edu (775) 784-4834.

Geoffrey M. Smith (Ph.D. University of Wyoming 2010; Associate Professor/Graduate Program Director/Exec. Dir. Great Basin Paleoindian Research Unit) Prehistoric archaeology, The Paleoindian-Archaic transition in the Great Basin; Great Basin prehistory and paleoecology; lithic technological organization; projectile point technology; hunter-gatherer mobility; peopling of the New World. geoffreys@unr.edu (775) 682-7687.

Erin E. Stiles (Ph.D. Washington University in St. Louis 2002; Associate Professor) Cultural anthropology, Islamic studies and religion, anthropology of law, religious pluralism, gender, marriage and divorce, Zanzibar and East Africa. estiles@unr.edu (775) 682-7686

Carolyn L. White (Ph.D. Boston University 2002; Associate Professor/Chair/Director Historic Preservation Program) Historical archaeology; gender and identity; material culture; contemporary archaeology; museum studies; historic preservation; western U.S., eastern U.S., Hawaii, and England. clwhite@unr.edu (775) 682-7688

EMERITUS FACULTY

Catherine S. Fowler (Ph.D. University of Pittsburgh 1972; Professor Emerita, Anthropology, UNR) Ethnology, language and culture, linguistics, ethnobiology; North America. csfowler@unr.edu (Retired, contact the department at [775] 784-6704)

Don D. Fowler (Ph.D. University of Pittsburgh 1965; Mamie Kleberg Professor Emeritus, Historic Preservation and Anthropology, UNR) Historic preservation, history of anthropology, archaeology; North America. dfowler@unr.edu (Retired, contact the department at [775] 784-6704)

Donald L Hardesty (Ph.D. University of Oregon 1972; Professor Emeritus) Historical archaeology, ecological anthropology, archaeological theory and method; western U.S. hardesty@unr.edu (Retired, contact the department at [775] 784-6704)

Gary Haynes (Ph.D. Catholic University 1981; Professor Emeritus) Prehistoric archaeology, taphonomy, environmental archaeology. gahaynes@unr.edu (Retired, contact the department at [775] 784-6704).

LaVerne Masayesva-Jeanne (Ph.D. MIT 1978; Associate Professor) Anthropological linguistics, anthropology and education; American Southwest. jeanne@unr.edu (Retired, contact the department at [775] 784-6704)

Robert Winzeler (Ph.D. University of Chicago 1970; Professor Emeritus, Anthropology, UNR) Religion, indigenous peoples, psychological anthropology, ethnic relations, architecture; insular Southeast Asia. winzeler@unr.edu (Retired, contact the department at [775) 784-6704)

AFFILIATED FACULTY

James "Pat" Barker (Ph.D. University of California Riverside, 1982; Adjunct Assistant Professor, Anthropology, UNR) Great Basin prehistory, political evolution, cultural resources management and archaeology in ecosystem management. (barkerj@unr.edu)

Marie I Boutté (Ph.D. University of California Berkeley, 1987; Associate Professor, School of Community Health Sciences, UNR) Cultural and medical anthropology, anthropology of stigma, inherited maladies, health effects of nuclear radiation, rural health; Western Europe with focus on Azores Islands, western US. (marieb@unr.edu)

Zoe Bray (Ph.D. European University Institute, Florence, 2002; Assistant Professor, Basque Studies, UNR) Identity politics, ethnicity, regionalism, ethnographic methods, frontiers and borders, art and painting. (zoebray@unr.edu)

Robert G Elston (Ph.D. Washington State University, 1973; Adjunct Professor, Anthropology, UNR) Prehistoric archaeology, hunter-gatherers; Great Basin, China. (rgelston@gmail.com)

Mark Giambastiani (Ph.D. University of California, Davis, 2004; Adjunct Professor, Anthropology, UNR) Great Basin and California archaeology, lithic analysis and lithic technological organization, obsidian studies, settlement pattern reconstruction, cultural resource management. (mgiam@asmaffiliates.com)

Mella R. Harmon (MS, University of Nevada, Reno 1998; Adjunct Assistant Professor, Anthropology, UNR) Land Use Planning/Historic Preservation. (mellah@unr.edu)

Eugene M Hattori (Ph.D. Washington State University, 1982; Adjunct Assistant Professor, Anthropology, UNR and Nevada State Museum) Prehistoric archaeology, historic archaeology, paleoenvironmental analysis; North America. (ghattori@nevadaculture.org)

Bryan S. Hockett (Ph.D. University of Nevada, Reno 1993; Adjunct Assistant Professor, Anthropology, UNR, and Bureau of Land Management State Office) Taphonomy, faunal analysis, Great Basin and Old World Mammals, the Pleistocene/Holocene Transition in the Great Basin, Great Basin prehistory (b50hocke@blm.gov)

Ronald M. James (MA, University of Nevada, Reno 1981; Adjunct Assistant Professor, Anthropology, UNR and Nevada State Historic Preservation Office) History and folklore, Nevada history, historic preservation (rjames@nevadaculture.org)

Deniz Kaptan (Ph.D. Anakara University, 1988; Adjunct Lecturer, Anthropology, UNR) Classical archaeology; Turkey. (dkaptan@unr.edu)

Sandra Ott (Ph.D. Oxford University, 1979; Associate Professor, Center for Basque Studies, UNR) Social Anthropology specialist in the northern Basque Country (France); research interests include relationships among ethnography/memory/history, especially in relation to the German Occupation; wartime letter-writing; and the ethnographic study of denunciation and collaboration. (sott@unr.edu)

David E. Rhode (Ph.D. University of Washington, 1987; Associate Research Professor, Desert Research Institute) Archaeology, archaeobotany; Western North America, China. (dave@dri.edu)

Michelle S. Roberts (Ph.D. University of Nevada, Reno, 2011; Adjunct Instructor, Anthropology, UNR) Cultural Anthropology, Southeast Asia, Laos, Thailand, ethnography, Lao farmers and decision making, agriculture (chemwali@hotmail.com).

Joseba Zulaika (Ph.D. Princeton University, 1982; Professor and Director, Center for Basque Studies, UNR) Symbolic anthropology, discourse of terrorism, museum culture; Basque country of northern Spain and southern France. (zulaika@unr.edu)