Hiroshi Sawada headshot

Hiroshi Sawada

Associate Professor


Professional experience

  • 2018-present: Associate Professor, University of Nevada, Reno
  • 2012–2018: Assistant Professor, University of Nevada, Reno
  • 2011–2012: Assistant Project Scientist, University of California, San Diego
  • 2008–2011: Postdoctoral Researcher, University of California, San Diego

Research interests

My research interests include the experimental investigation of High Energy Density (HED) plasmas, short pulse laser-solid interaction, relativistic electron generation, hard x-ray generation, fast electron transport relevant to laser fusion schemes such as Inertial Confinement Fusion (ICF) and Fast Ignition (FI). The plasma conditions created in ICF by high-power and high-intensity lasers are predicted to have millions of degree temperature and above solid density. I am particularly interested in diagnosing these plasmas with x-rays (x-ray spectroscopy, x-ray imaging, etc.) to understand complicated physics involving equation of state, phase transition, radiation transport, shock wave heating and compression in material states called warm dense matter. I am also interested in physics with short-pulse laser generated charged particles. High-intensity, short-pulse laser such as the Leopard laser at the University can produce energetic electrons in the relativistic regime. Characterization and applications of these relativistic particles are also my research interests.

Courses taught

  • PHYS 301: Mathematical Methods for Physics
  • PHYS 461/661: Optics and Modern Photonics
  • PHYS 483/683: Introduction to High Energy Density Physics and Laser Fusion
  • PHYS 725: Laser Physics
  • PHYS 771: High Energy Density Physics


  • Ph.D, Mechanical Engineering, University of Rochester, NY, USA, 2008
  • M.S., Mechanical Engineering, University of Rochester, NY, USA, 2001
  • B.S., Electrical Engineering, Kindai University, Japan, 2000