skip to main content
×

Game Day Traffic Reminder

The 2015 Nevada Wolf Pack football season kicks off Thursday, Sept. 3 at 7 p.m. With 20,000 fans heading to Mackay Stadium, traffic and parking congestion is expected Thursday afternoon.
Learn more about game-day traffic and parking around campus.

Earthquake and Structural Engineering

About our program

Our world-class research program in earthquake and structural engineering focuses on understanding how key infrastructure stands up to extreme forces such as an earthquake. We simulate earthquake effects on large-scale models, such as a curved bridge and use those results to engineer safer buildings, bridges and roads.

Researchers and students in this program have access to two state-of-the-art earthquake engineering facilities, the Earthquake Engineering Laboratory, which opened in 2014 and houses our four shake tables, and the Large-Scale Structures Laboratory, which offers a 9,000 square foot high-bay laboratory for researchers to do floor experiments.  

Recent research has focused on how non-structural systems, such as a building's pipes and ceiling tiles, stand up to an earthquake.

Labs and centers

Faculty

Ian Buckle

Ian G. Buckle

Foundation Professor, Director of CCEER

igbuckle@unr.edu

(775) 784-1519

Ahmad Itani

Ahmad M. Itani

Professor and Chair

itani@unr.edu

(775) 784-4379

Patrick Laplace

Patrick Laplace

Research Assistant Professor, Large Scale Structures Laboratory Manager

plaplace@unr.edu

(775) 784-8080

Manos Maragakis

Emmanuel "Manos" Maragakis

Dean of Engineering

maragaki@unr.edu

(775) 784-6925

Block N Logo

Mohamed A. Moustafa

Assistant Professor

mmoustafa@unr.edu

(775) 682-7919 | SEM 349B

Gokhan Pekcan

Gokhan Pekcan

Associate Professor

pekcan@unr.edu

(775) 784-4512

Keri Ryan

Keri Ryan

Associate Professor

keri.ryan@unr.edu

(775) 784-6928

M.  Saiid Saiidi

M. "Saiid" Saiidi

Professor

saiidi@unr.edu

(775) 784-4839

David Sanders

David Sanders

Professor

sanders@unr.edu

(775) 784-4288

Take the next step...