Skip Site Navigation
Skip To Page Content

Earthquake and Structural Engineering

About our program

Our world-class research program in earthquake and structural engineering focuses on understanding how key infrastructure stands up to extreme forces such as an earthquake. We simulate earthquake effects on large-scale models, such as a curved bridge and use those results to engineer safer buildings, bridges and roads.

Researchers and students in this program have access to our world-renowned Large Scale Structures Laboratory, which offers four shake tables and 32,000 square feet of laboratory and research space. This laboratory is one of 14 NSF-supported faciliticies in the George E. Brown Network for Earthquake Engineering Simulation (NEES).

Recent research has focused on how non-structural systems, such as a building's pipes and ceiling tiles stand up to an earthquake.

Labs and centers

Faculty

Ian Buckle PhotoIan G. Buckle

Foundation Professor, Director of CCEER
(775) 784-1519
igbuckle@unr.edu

Ahmad Itani PhotoAhmad M. Itani

Professor and Chair
(775) 784-4379
itani@unr.edu

Patrick Laplace PhotoPatrick Laplace

Research Assistant Professor, Large Scale Structures Laboratory Manager
(775) 784-8080
plaplace@unr.edu

Manos Maragakis PhotoEmmanuel "Manos" Maragakis

Dean of Engineering
(775) 784-6925
maragaki@unr.edu

Eric Monzon PhotoEric V. Monzon

Postdoctoral Scholar
(775) 784-6965
emonzon@unr.edu

Gokhan Pekcan PhotoGokhan Pekcan

Associate Professor
(775) 784-4512
pekcan@unr.edu

Keri Ryan PhotoKeri Ryan

Associate Professor
(775) 784-6928
keri.ryan@unr.edu

M. Saiid Saiidi PhotoM. "Saiid" Saiidi

Professor
(775) 784-4839
saiidi@unr.edu

David Sanders PhotoDavid Sanders

Professor
(775) 784-4288
sanders@unr.edu

University Block N Logo

University of Nevada, Reno

University of Nevada, Reno
1664 N. Virginia Street
Reno,  NV  89557-

(775) 784-1110
Website Help
Contact Us

Copyright
Privacy
Accessibility Tools

Emergency Information
Emergency Alerts
Doing business with us