Advising

General advising session for juniors and seniors

Download the advising session powerpoint (.ppt)

Each student in Mechanical Engineering is assigned a faculty advisor. Students with less than 60 credits are advised by  College of Engineering advisors and upper division students are advised by Mechanical Engineering faculty (Looking for your advisor's contact information? See the table below to find your advisor.)

The goal of advisement is to provide you with guidance in planning your academic and professional careers. The last four weeks of each semester is the advisement period. You are required to meet with your advisor during this time to choose classes for the following semester. For a complete description of the ME program and its classes please see the University course catalog.

Suggested Course Sequence

The recommended schedule for the Mechanical Engineering curriculum, available on the Course Catalog, is designed so that prerequisite courses are completed before more advanced courses are taken and so that scheduling problems will be avoided. Students who enter the University in the fall semester with all their college preparatory courses completed can complete their degree in four years by following this sequence. While students need not complete the curriculum in exactly the order shown, they are required to complete prerequisite courses before they enroll in more advanced classes.

External conditions may prevent students from completing the curriculum in the suggested order. This can substantially increase the time required to complete the degree since some courses are not offered every semester, and some of these courses are prerequisites for higher level classes. Asterisks in the recommended schedule show the courses that are only offered one semester a year. Many of the lower-division courses are offered each semester. However, most upper division mechanical engineering courses are only offered once a year. The curriculum flow chart (available in the Mechanical Engineering office) identifies the courses that are prerequisites and co-requisites for more advanced classes. Students who must take courses out of the suggested sequence should consider this information very carefully.

Advisors

Lower Division Students

Students who have completed less than 60 credits, 1st semester transfer students, or students with advising holds need to go to the Engineering Advising Center in Cain Hall room 108.

Upper Division Students

Students who decide to switch advisors must obtain written approval from their new advisor. A student's advisor is assigned according to the student's last name as shown in the table below. If you cannot contact your assigned faculty advisor you may contact Dr. Padilla.

Mechanical Engineering Faculty Advisors
Student Last NameAdvisorEmailOffice
Last Name: A Pradeep Menezes pmenezes@unr.edu PE 232
Last Name: B Feifei Fan ffan@unr.edu PE 236
Last name: C Yiliang Liao yliao@unr.edu PE 224
Last Name: D-E Lei Cao leicao@unr.edu PE 228
Last Name: F Daichi Fujioka dfujioka@unr.edu PE 202A
Last name: G-H Cahit Evrensel cahit@unr.edu PE 220
Last name: I-J Guoping Xiong gxiong@unr.edu PE 231
Last name: K-L Yanyao Jiang yjiang@unr.edu PE 207
Last name: M Nicholas Maus nmaus@unr.edu PE 202C
Last name: N-O Rahul Ramachandran rramachandran@unr.edu PE 221
Last name: P-Q Matteo Aureli maureli@unr.edu PE 218
Last name: R Yan Wang yanwang@unr.edu PE 217
Last name: S Wanliang Shan wshan@unr.edu PE 229
Last name: T Ryan Tung rtung@unr.edu PE 205
Last name: U-W Eric Wang eric.wang@unr.edu PE 227
Last name: X-Z Saul Opie sopie@unr.edu PE 202B
National Merit/Presidential Scholars Angelina Padilla angelinapadilla@unr.edu PE 204B