Advising

Each student in Mechanical Engineering is assigned a faculty advisor. Students with less than 60 credits are advised by  College of Engineering advisors and upper division students are advised by Mechanical Engineering faculty. See the table below to find your advisor.

The goal of advisement is to provide you with guidance in planning your academic and professional careers. The last four weeks of each semester is the advisement period. You are required to meet with your advisor during this time to choose classes for the following semester. For a complete description of the ME program and its classes please see the University course catalog.

View the 2019 general advising session slides (.pdf)

Suggested course sequence

The recommended schedule for the mechanical engineering curriculum, available on the course catalog, is designed so that you complete prerequisite courses before you take more advanced courses and so that you can avoid scheduling problems.

If you enter the University in the fall semester with all your college preparatory courses completed, you can complete your degree in four years by following this sequence. While you do not need to complete the curriculum in exactly the order shown, you are required to complete prerequisite courses before you enroll in more advanced classes.

External conditions may prevent you from completing the curriculum in the suggested order. This can substantially increase the time required to complete your degree, since some courses are not offered every semester and some of these courses are prerequisites for higher level classes.

Asterisks in the recommended schedule show the courses that are only offered once a year. Many of the lower-division courses are offered each semester. However, most upper division mechanical engineering courses are only offered once a year. The curriculum flow chart (available in the Mechanical Engineering office) identifies the courses that are prerequisites and co-requisites for more advanced classes. If you must take courses out of the suggested sequence, you should consider this information very carefully in consultation with your advisor.

Who is my advisor?

First-year, second-year and transfer students

If you have completed less than 60 credits, are a first-semester transfer student or or have advising holds, you will be advised by the College's advisors at the  Engineering Advising Center in Cain Hall room 108.

Juniors and seniors

Juniors and seniors are advised by the faculty advisors listed below. If you decide to switch advisors, you must obtain written approval from your new advisor. If you cannot contact your assigned faculty advisor, you may contact Dr. Padilla.

Mechanical engineering faculty advisors
Student Last Name Advisor Email Office
Last Name: A Pradeep Menezes pmenezes@unr.edu PE 232
Last Name: B Feifei Fan ffan@unr.edu PE 236
Last name: C Yiliang Liao yliao@unr.edu PE 224
Last Name: D-E Lei Cao leicao@unr.edu PE 228
Last Name: F Daichi Fujioka dfujioka@unr.edu PE 202A
Last name: G-H Cahit Evrensel cahit@unr.edu PE 220
Last name: I-J Guoping Xiong gxiong@unr.edu PE 231
Last name: K-L Yanyao Jiang yjiang@unr.edu PE 207
Last name: M James Hanna jhanna@unr.edu PE 217
Last name: N-O Rahul Ramachandran rramachandran@unr.edu PE 221
Last name: P-Q Matteo Aureli maureli@unr.edu PE 218
Last name: R Yan Wang yanwang@unr.edu PE 229
Last name: S Yifei Jin yifeij@unr.edu PE 230
Last name: T Ryan Tung rtung@unr.edu PE 205
Last name: U-W Eric Wang eric.wang@unr.edu PE 227
Last name: X-Z Jun Zhang jun@unr.edu PE 225
National Merit/Presidential Scholars Angelina Padilla angelinapadilla@unr.edu PE 204B