Advising

Dr. Fred Harris and students

Advising Forms

Who is my advisor?

  • Freshmen, sophomores and incoming transfer students are advised by the College of Engineering Advising Center.
  • Computer science and engineering majors who have completed 60 credits are advised by a member of the CSE faculty.

CSE Advisors

Juniors and seniors: Please contact the CSE department office (SEM 242) to make an appointment with the advisor who corresponds to the first letter of your last name.


Faculty Advisors for Juniors and Seniors
Student Last NameAdvisorEmailOffice
 A George Bebis bebis@cse.unr.edu SEM 235
B Fred Harris, Jr. fred.harris@cse.unr.edu SEM 240A
C Monica Nicolescu monica@unr.edu SEM 239
D Sushil Louis sushil@cse.unr.edu SEM 237
E-F Dwight Egbert egbert@cse.unr.edu SEM 242
G Sergiu Dascalu dascalus@cse.unr.edu SEM 236
H Dave Feil-Seifer dave@cse.unr.edu SEM 218
I-J Feng Yan fyan@unr.edu SEM 233
K Engin Arslan earslan@unr.edu SEM 238
L Nancy LaTourrette latour@cse.unr.edu SEM 240
Ma-Mm Emily Hand emhand@unr.edu PE 223
Mn-Mz Alireza Tavakkoli tavakkol@unr.edu PE 222
N-O Siming Liu simingl@unr.edu SEM 253B
P Hung (Jim) La hla@unr.edu SEM 214
Q-R Mircea Nicolescu mircea@cse.unr.edu SEM 232
Sa-Sm Lei Yang leiy@unr.edu SEM 212
Sn-Sz Shamik Sengupta ssengupta@unr.edu SEM 204
T Tin Nguyen tinn@unr.edu SEM 230
U-V Hui Lin hlin2@unr.edu SEM 208
W Kostas Alexis kalexis@unr.edu SEM 202
X-Z Dongfang Zhao dzhao@unr.edu SEM 206

When should I meet my advisor?

You are required to meet your advisor prior to enrolling in classes each semester so we can make sure you are making satisfactory progress toward your degree.

You should feel free to visit your advisor at any point during the semester to ask questions and seek guidance.