Advising

Dr. Fred Harris and students

Who is my advisor?

  • Freshmen, sophomores and incoming transfer students are advised by the College of Engineering Advising Center.
  • Computer science and engineering majors who have completed 60 credits are advised by a member of the CSE faculty.

CSE Advisors

Juniors and seniors: Please contact the CSE department office (SEM 242) to make an appointment with the advisor who corresponds to the first letter of your last name.


Faculty Advisors for Juniors and Seniors
Student Last NameAdvisorEmailOfficeAdvising HoursOffice Hours
 A George Bebis bebis@cse.unr.edu SEM 241 M/W 3:30-5:30 pm M/W 3:30-5:30pm
B Mircea Nicolescu mircea@cse.unr.edu SEM 232 TH 10:30 am - 1:30 pm TH 10:30 am - 1:30 pm
C Sushil Louis sushil@cse.unr.edu SEM 237 M/W: 1:00-2:30 pm M/W: 1:00-2:30 pm
D Dwight Egbert egbert@cse.unr.edu SEM 242 M/W: 1:00-2:30 pm M/W: 1:00-2:30 pm
E-F Sergiu Dascalu dascalu@cse.unr.edu SEM 236 T 4:30-5:30 pm
W 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
T 4:30-5:30 pm
W 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
G Dave Feil-Seifer dave@cse.unr.edu SEM 218 T/TH 1:30-3:00pm T/TH 1:30-3:00pm
H-I Lei Yang leiy@unr.edu SEM 212 T/TH 1:00-2:30pm T/TH 1:00-2:30pm
J-K Fred Harris, Jr. fredh@cse.unr.edu SEM 240A M/W/F: 10:15 am M/W/F 10:00-10:50 am
L Engin Arslan earslan@unr.edu SEM 238 M 1:00-4:00 pm M 1:00-4:00 pm
Ma-Mm Hung (Jim) La hla@unr.edu SEM 319A W 9:00 am - 12:00 pm W 9:00 am - 12:00 pm
 Mn-Mz Nancy LaTourrette latour@cse.unr.edu SEM 240 By appointment M 10:00 am - 1:00 pm or by appointment
N Mehmet Gunes mgunes@cse.unr.edu SEM 216 M/W 11:20 am - 12:50 pm M/W 11:20 am - 12:50 pm
O-P Siming Liu simingl@unr.edu EJCH 231 F 10:00 am - 12:00 pm CPE 201 M/W 9:00-10:30 am
CS 135 M/W 10:30 am - 12:00 pm
CS 446 M/W 2:00-3:30 pm
Q-R Kostas Alexis kalexis@unr.edu SEM 202 M/W 3:30-5:30 pm
Sa-Sm Ming Li mingli@unr.edu SEM 235 T/TH 3:00-4:30 pm T/TH 3:00-4:30 pm
Sn-Sz Monica Nicolescu monica@cse.unr.edu SEM 239 T 10:00-11:00 am
W 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
T 10:00-11:00 am
W 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
T Shamik Sengupta ssengupta@unr.edu SEM 204 W 12:00-1:00 pm M 12:00-2:00pm
U Hui Lin hlin2@unr.edu SEM 253B M 1:00-2:30 pm
T 1:30-3:00 pm
M 1:00-2:30 pm
T 1:30-3:00 pm
V Tin Nguyen tinn@unr.edu SEM 230 M/W 5:00-7:00 pm
 W-X Feng Yan fyan@unr.edu SEM 233 W 2:30-5:30 pm W 2:30-5:30 pm
Y-Z Dongfang Zhao dzhao@unr.edu SEM 206 T2:30-5:30 pm

When should I meet my advisor?

You are required to meet your advisor prior to enrolling in classes each semester so we can make sure you are making satisfactory progress toward your degree.

You should feel free to visit your advisor at any point during the semester to ask questions and seek guidance.

Additional forms

To request an exception to course requirements, please fill out General Petition/Exception form and submit it to your advisor.