Advising

Dr. Fred Harris and students

Who is my advisor?

  • Freshmen, sophomores and incoming transfer students are advised by the College of Engineering Advising Center.
  • Computer science and engineering majors who have completed 60 credits are advised by a member of the CSE faculty.

CSE Advisors

Juniors and seniors: Please contact the CSE department office (SEM 242) to make an appointment with the advisor who corresponds to the first letter of your last name.

Faculty Advisors for Juniors and Seniors
Student Last NameAdvisorEmailOffice
Last name: A George Bebis bebis@cse.unr.edu SEM 241
Last name: B Mircea Nicolescu mircea@cse.unr.edu SEM 232
Last name: C Sushil Louis sushil@cse.unr.edu SEM 237
Last name: D Dwight Egbert egbert@cse.unr.edu SEM 242
Last name: E-F Sergiu Dascalu dascalu@cse.unr.edu SEM 236
Last name: G Dave Feil-Seifer dave@cse.unr.edu SEM 218
Last name: H-I Lei Yang leiy@unr.edu SEM 212
Last name: J-K Fred Harris, Jr. fredh@cse.unr.edu SEM 240A
Last name: L Engin Arslan earslan@unr.edu SEM 238
Last name: Ma-Mm Hung (Jim) La hla@unr.edu SEM 319A
Last name: Mn-Mz Nancy LaTourette latour@cse.unr.edu SEM 240
Last name: N Mehmet Gunes mgunes@cse.unr.edu SEM 238
Last name: O-P Siming Liu simingl@unr.edu EJCH 231
Last name: Q-R Kostas Alexis kalexis@unr.edu SEM 202
Last name: Sa-Sm Ming Li mingli@unr.edu SEM 235
Last name: Sn-Sz Monica Nicolescu monica@cse.unr.edu SEM 239
Last name: T Shamik Sengupta ssengupta@unr.edu SEM 204
Last name: U-V Tin Nguyen tinn@unr.edu SEM 230
Last name: W-X Feng Yan fyan@unr.edu SEM 233
Last name: Y-Z Dongfang Zhao dzhao@unr.edu SEM 206

When should I meet my advisor?

You are required to meet your advisor prior to enrolling in classes each semester so we can make sure you are making satisfactory progress toward your degree.

You should feel free to visit your advisor at any point during the semester to ask questions and seek guidance.

Additional forms

To request an exception to course requirements, please fill out General Petition/Exception form and submit it to your advisor.