Raymond H. Berner Graduate School Scholarship Program in Molecular Biosciences

Raymond H. Berner was born in November 1913 in Chicago, Illinois and moved west after World War II where he worked as a quality control inspector for the aircraft/aerospace industry then retired at an early age. He spent 25 years of his life as a resident of Douglas County and Carson City, Nevada and died on March 12, 2004 at the age of 90. Ray was cognizant of the need for higher education and upon the death of his wife Margaret in December 2015, the Berner Trusts were distributed equally to four institutions to endow perpetual funds in his name to provide grants-in-aid to graduate and undergraduate students. The University of Nevada, Reno Foundation, Northwestern University, the University of California, Berkeley Foundation and the University of Illinois Foundation are the grateful beneficiaries.

The Raymond H. Berner graduate scholarship provides educational funding to students in four categories within the  Molecular Biosciences graduate programs. To nominate a student, please contact the graduate program director.

2019-2020 Raymond H. Berner Scholarship award recipients

The following students have been awarded a total of $13,000:

  • Allison Bartlett - Cellular & Molecular Pharmacology & Physiology Ph.D.
  • Colin A. Fox - Biochemistry Ph.D.
  • Hayden M. Mcswiggin - Cell & Molecular Biology Ph.D.
  • Haley S. Toups - Biochemistry Ph.D.
  • Zhuqing Wang - Cell & Molecular Biology Ph.D.

The following students have been awarded a total of $7,800:

  • Heather Rayne Green - Cell & Molecular Biology Ph.D.
  • Emily E. Hannah - Cell & Molecular Biology Ph.D.
  • Evan T. Yamasaki - Cellular & Molecular Pharmacology & Physiology Ph.D.

The following students have been awarded a total of $3,500:

  • Ria Anand - Cell & Molecular Biology Ph.D.
  • John P. Baggett - Biochemistry Ph.D.
  • Christina R. Bates - Cellular & Molecular Pharmacology & Physiology Ph.D.
  • Silvana G. Cooper - Cellular & Molecular Pharmacology & Physiology Ph.D.
  • Isaura Vanessa Gutierrez - Cell & Molecular Biology Ph.D.
  • Gurlaz Kaur - Cell & Molecular Biology Ph.D.
  • Salome Manska - Cell & Molecular Biology Ph.D.
  • Mitiku A. Mengistu - Biochemistry Ph.D.
  • Kelly Reihl - Cellular & Molecular Pharmacology & Physiology Ph.D.
  • Michael W. Rudokas - Cellular & Molecular Pharmacology & Physiology Ph.D.
  • Caleb J. Worker - Cellular & Molecular Pharmacology & Physiology Ph.D.

Previous Raymond H. Berner Scholarship awardees