Graduate Council

The Graduate Council reviews and recommends to the President, through the Provost Office, and subject to approval of the Graduate Dean, policy matters pertaining to graduate education, such as graduate teaching, graduate program needs, and graduate student and faculty research. The Graduate Council reviews and evaluates proposed and existing graduate programs and recommends priorities to be adopted in graduate education, scholarship, and research. The Graduate Council includes graduate faculty members from each college and school that grants a graduate degree, Faculty Senate, the Graduate Dean, Associate Dean, and the current Graduate Student Association President.

Graduate Council Chair

The Chair for the 2018 - 2019 academic year is Ian Wallace.

Meeting Dates

The Graduate Council meets from 2:30pm-4:30pm in the Joe Crowley Student Union (JCSU 320) on the following dates:

  • Sept. 4, 2018
  • Sept. 25, 2018
  • Oct. 29, 2018
  • Nov. 27, 2018
  • Jan. 28, 2019
  • Feb. 25, 2019
  • March 26, 2019
  • April 30, 2019
2018-2019 Membership
AreaNameEmailMail StopPhoneTerm
Graduate Dean David Zeh zehd@unr.edu Graduate School/0326 784-6869
Agriculture, Biotechnology and Natural Resources Ian Wallace iwallace@unr.edu Molecular Bioscience/0330 682-7311 2016 - 2019
Business Mark Pingle pingle@unr.edu Economics/0030 784-6634 2018 - 2021
Education William Evans wevans@unr.edu Education/0281 784-7013 2018 - 2021
Engineering Sushil Louis sushil@cse.unr.edu
Computer Science & Engineering/0171 784-1877 2018 – 2021
Faculty Senate MaryAnn Demchak mad@unr.edu Director/099 682-7852 2018 – 2019
GSA President Sandesh Kannan skannan@unr.edu GSA/0057 784-1093 2018 – 2019
Community Health Sciences Julie Smith-Gagen jsmithgagen@unr.edu Community Health Sciences/0275 784-4041 2018 - 2021
Journalism Kari Barber karibarber@unr.edu Journalism/0310 784-6531 2018 – 2021
Medicine Kristine Galek kgalek@med.unr.edu Speech Path & Audiology/0152 682-7021 2018 - 2021
Liberal Arts – Fine Arts Miya Hannan miyah@unr.edu Art/0224 784-6779 2018 - 2021
Liberal Arts– Humanities Meredith Oda mereditho@unr.edu History/0308 784-6850 2016– 2019
Liberal Arts – Social Sciences Sarah Blithe sblithe@unr.edu Communication Studies/0229 784-6826 2016 - 2019
Liberal Arts – Social Sciences Anthony Papa apapa@unr.edu Psychology/0228 682-8666 2016 - 2019
Orvis School of Nursing Susan Ervin sme@unr.edu Nursing/0134 682-7153 2016 - 2019
Science Vacant Jamie Voyles-Ensor
Biology/0314 784-6188 2018 – 2021
Science – Mines Paula Noble noblepj@unr.edu
Geological Sciences and Engineering/0172 784-6211 2018 – 2021