Bachelor of Arts in Anthropology

Undergraduate majors in anthropology earn a Bachelor of Arts degree in the College of Liberal Arts. The Department of Anthropology at the University of Nevada, Reno is internationally recognized for its faculty and the excellence of its programs.

An active anthropology club provides students with opportunities to socialize and share their interests in anthropology, by sponsoring or hosting field trips, speakers and social events.

The department's museum allows behind-the-scenes training in preparing exhibits and taking care of collections. The department's two archeology laboratories provide experience in analyzing and studying artifacts and sites in the American West and Great Basin. The physical anthropology laboratory is well-equipped with a collection of fossil ancestral human specimens. Another laboratory is set up to study animal bones, tree-rings and other clues about past environmental changes.


Anthropology also offers a minor in either archaeology, cultural, or physical anthropology. The department also participates in the interdisciplinary minor program by offering minors in the following areas:

More Info