skip to main content

Advising

Each student in Mechanical Engineering is assigned a faculty advisor. Students will less than 60 credits are advised by college of engineering faculty advisors and upper division students are advised by Mechanical Engineering faculty (see below for advisor assignment).The goal of the advisement system is to provide students an opportunity to receive guidance in planning their academic and professional careers. The last four weeks of each semester is the Advisement Period. Students are required to meet with their advisor during this time to choose classes for the following semester. For a complete description of the ME program and its classes please see the University course catalog.

Suggested Course Sequence

The recommended semester-by-semester course sequence for the Mechanical Engineering curriculum is designed so that prerequisite courses are completed before more advanced courses are taken and so that scheduling problems will be avoided. Students who enter the University in the fall semester with all their college preparatory courses completed can complete their degree in four years by following this sequence. While students need not complete the curriculum in exactly the order shown, they are required to complete prerequisite courses before they enroll in more advanced classes.

External conditions may prevent students from completing the curriculum in the suggested order. This can substantially increase the time required to complete the degree since some courses are not offered every semester, and some of these courses are prerequisites for higher level classes. Asterisks in the Course Sequence chart show the courses that are only offered one semester a year. Many of the lower-division courses are offered each semester. However, most upper division mechanical engineering courses are only offered once a year. The Curriculum Flow Chart (available in the Mechanical Engineering office) identifies the courses that are prerequisites and co-requisites for more advanced classes. Students who must take courses out of the suggested sequence should consider this information very carefully.

Advisors

Lower Division Students

Students who have completed less than 60 credits, 1st semester transfer students, or students with advising holds need to go to the Engineering Advising Center in room 100 of the Sarah H. Fleischmann Building.

Upper Division Students

Students who decide to switch advisors must obtain written approval from their new advisor. A student's advisor is assigned according to the student's last name as shown in the table below. If you cannot contact your assigned faculty advisor you may contact Dr. Padilla.

Student Last Name

Advisor

Email

Office

Last Name: A

Pradeep Menezes pmenezes@unr.edu PE 209

Last Name: B

Feifei Fan ffan@unr.edu PE 200E

Last name: C

Yiliang Liao yliao@unr.edu PE 206

Last Name: D-F

Faramarz Gordaninejad faramarz@unr.edu PE 105B

Last name: G-H

Miles Greiner greiner@unr.edu PE 213

Last name: I-J

Hassan Masoud hmasoud@unr.edu PE 203

Last name: K-L

Yanyao Jiang yjiang@unr.edu EE 201A

Last name: M

Angelina Padilla angelinapadilla@unr.edu PE 212C

Last name: N-O

Henry Fu hfu@unr.edu PE 114

Last name: P-R

Matteo Aureli maureli@unr.edu PE 212B

Last name: S

Wanliang Shan wshan@unr.edu PE 201B

Last name: T

Ryan Tung rtung@unr.edu PE 200D

Last name: U-W

Eric Wang eric.wang@unr.edu PE 119

Last name: X-Z

Logan Yliniemi logan@unr.edu PE 200F

National Merit/Presidential Scholars

Emil Geiger ejg@unr.edu PE 212A

Take the next step...