GSA Committees

Committees function as the workhorse for the GSA as much of what we accomplish is through these committees. As a graduate student, you may be a member of any GSA committee without being an elected Council Representative. This provides the opportunity to become involved with GSA at a smaller level than what is required of a representative. For more information please contact the Internal Vice President.

Awards Committee

Awards Committee is in charge of both Fall and Spring Awards, including the Fall Graduate Poster Symposium but is not involved in the evaluation of the applications. Tasks include but are not limited to: recruiting faculty members to serve as judges, setting judging criteria per award, and organizing the Graduate Fall Poster Symposium. 

Members: Mikala Yepez, Desiree Valdez Chavez, and committee chair, Tamara Guinn.

Budget Judicial and Finance Committee

Reviews and amends the Constitution and Bylaws when needed. This committee is chaired by Internal Vice President of GSA. GSA policies are also reviewed by this committee. The GSA Budget is determined at the beginning of the school year by this committee. The approved budget is presented to the council by the senior advisor at the beginning of the Fall Semester. 

Members: Brian Battaglia, Alex Lerner, Demitri Call, committee co-chair, Robert Eugene del Carlo, and committee co-chair, Tara Park.

Events Committee

Events Committee is in charge of coordinating GSA events such as: Welcome Back Social, Fall Social, Pub n Sub Social, and Spring Awards Banquet. Tasks include but are not limited to: planning the event (location, theme, food, and drinks), organizing volunteers, and promoting the event. 

Members: Mikala Yepez, Raj Shukla, Rob Yturralde, and committee chair, Tamara Guinn.

Service Committee

This committee seeks to give back to the university and greater Reno community in a variety of ways. Tasked with the coordination and implementation of a day of service, in addition to other service opportunities throughout the school year such as clothing drives. 

Members: Priya Ahlawat, Elmira Shoushtari, Winsa Abdul Kabeer, Ashtan Orlan, and committee chair, Rob Yturralde.

Clubs and Organizations Committee

Approves clubs for official recognition. Responsible for ensuring the fair disbursement and proper use of club funding to help clubs hold events and further establish the clubs on campus. 

Members: Reeham Mohammed, Taissa Lytchenko, committee co-chair, Sourik Banjere, and committee co-chair, Birendra Rana.

Research Grants Committee

Tasked with tracking the frequency and magnitude of the external funding opportunities given to graduate students so those opportunities can be highlighted and shared with all graduate students.

Members: Deep Sengupta, Dhurba Neupane, Julia Ausmus, and Birendra Rana.

Student Advocacy Committee

Tackles issues that affect the student body that don’t explicitly fit within other committee scopes. 

Members: Dimitrious Kyriakou, Julia Ausmus, Michael Abdelmalak, Kapreace Young, committee co-chair, Alex Lerner, and committee co-chair, Jay Kolbet-Clausell.

Communication Committee

Fulfills the legal mandate to apportion the GSA council seats to the separate colleges based off of student body size, as well as to announce the Council elections to the student body. The Communications Committee also releases the newsletter to the student body on a regularly scheduled basis. 

Members: Jean Cabell, Taissa Lytchenko, Foram Gathia, Mushfique Wadud, Himesh Patel, and committee chair, Reeham Mohammed.