Three Minute Thesis Competition

The Three Minute Thesis Competition (3MT) is an exciting, fast-paced event showcasing the research of graduate students across campus. Each scholar is given three minutes to present their research displayed to the audience and judging panel in a single presentation slide. The competition boasts cash prizes for winners in each category.

You'll be amazed at what these scholars can fit into a three-minute presentation. You don't want to miss this competition!

The deadline to compete has passed for 2021, but check back in January of 2022 for next year's deadline.

Learn more about our competition

2020-2021 Finalists and winners

Doctoral category


FIRST PLACE: Elizabeth Preston
  • Graduate Program: Rhetoric and Composition
  • Title:  Humor Me: Using Humor Writing to Teach FYC Students Rhetoric and Composition
  • Faculty Advisors: Drs. William Macauley, Jr., Maureen McBride, Michael Branch and Chris Earle
SECOND PLACE: Katie Snider
  • Graduate Program: Interdisciplinary Social Psychology
  • Title: Coping with their Child's Incarceration: The Experiences of Parents in the Juvenile Justice System
  • Faculty Advisor: Shawn Marsh
THIRD PLACE: Beatrice Gordon
  • Graduate Program: Graduate Program of Hydrologic Sciences
  • Title: A Socio-Hydrologic Assessment of Agricultural Vulnerability to Changing Snowmelt-Driven Streamflow
  • Faculty Advisor: Dr. Adrian Harpold


Brendan Johnston
  • Graduate Program: English
  • Title:  Epic Materialism: Matter, Culture, and Place in the Modernist Long Poem
  • Faculty Advisor: Dr. Ann Keniston
Mohammad Sadrian
  • Graduate Program: Geological Sciences and Engineering
  • Title: Sometimes it's the Little Things that Count most: Mineral Dust, a Driver of the Earth Climate
  • Faculty Advisor: Dr. Wendy Calvin
Priyamvada Sharma
  • Graduate Program: Civil & Environmental Engineering
  • Title: What Goes Around Comes Around: Drugs in our Food?
  • Faculty Advisor: Dr. David Hanigan
Asif Siddiqui
  • Graduate Program: Political Science
  • Title:  The Fraying American Social Contract: The Politics and Budgeting of the Global War on Terror
  • Faculty Advisor: Dr. Susanne Martin

Patricia Berninsone People's Choice Award

Anjana Parandhaman
  • Graduate Program: Ecology Evolution and Conservation Biology
  • Title: Slow and Steady Wins the Race?
  • Faculty Advisor: Dr. Kenneth Nussear

Master's category


FIRST PLACE: Sarah Shapley
  • Graduate Program: Geology
  • Title: Fluid Inclusions and the Origin of Carlin-Style Deposits
  • Faculty Advisor:  Dr. John Muntean
SECOND PLACE: Samuel Cartwright
  • Graduate Program: Geological Sciences & Engineering
  • Title: Reading the Icy Pages of Mars Climate History
  • Faculty Advisor: Dr. Wendy Calvin
THIRD PLACE: Alexis Tudor
  • Graduate Program: Computer Science & Engineering
  • Title: Tick Marks on the Intergalactic Wall: Measuring the Flux of Stars
  • Faculty Advisors: Drs. Sergiu Dascalu and Richard Plotkin


Timothy Hannon
  • Graduate Program: Judicial Studies
  • Title: Asteroid Mining and the future of Space Law
  • Faculty Advisor: Dr. David Tanenhaus 
Haden Kingrey
  • Graduate Program: Anthropology
  • Title: Protein Residue and Starch Grain Analysis of Early Holocene Groundstone from the Northern Great Basin
  • Faculty Advisor: Dr. Geoffrey Smith
Brittany McAllister
  • Graduate Program: Philosophy
  • Title: Relational Autonomy
  • Faculty Advisor: Dr. Christopher Williams
Nazli Mohammad
  • Graduate Program: Business
  • Title: The Power of Trust
  • Faculty Advisor: Dr. Yvonne Stedham
Erin Smith
  • Graduate Program: Agriculture, Veterinary & Rangeland Sciences
  • Title: Growing Sorghum in Nevada: Using Modern Technology to Study an Ancient Grain
  • Faculty Advisor: Dr. Robert Washington-Allen

Undergraduate honor's thesis category (non-competitive)


Lily Liu
  • Major: Biology
  • Title: YPEL3: Important for Synaptic Development?
  • Faculty Advisor: Dr. Jung Hwan Kim
Moriah Martinez
  • Major: Integrated Elementary Education
  • Title: Students’ Eyewitness Accounts of Nazi Governed Schools
  • Faculty Advisor: Dr. John Marini