GSA Committees

Committees function as the workhorse for the GSA as much of what we accomplish is through these committees. As a graduate student, you may be a member of any GSA committee without being an elected Council Representative. This provides the opportunity to become involved with GSA at a smaller level than what is required of a representative. For more information please contact the Internal Vice President.

To submit a public comment for an upcoming GSA Committee meeting please email your comment via GSA email at Public comment is due 4 hours before the scheduled committee meeting. 

GSA committees

Awards Committee

The Awards Committee is in charge of both Fall and Spring Awards, including the Fall Graduate Poster Symposium but is not involved in the evaluation of the applications. Tasks include but are not limited to: recruiting faculty members to serve as judges, setting judging criteria per award, and organizing the Graduate Fall Poster Symposium.


Clubs and Organizations Committee

Approves clubs for official recognition. Responsible for ensuring fair disbursement and proper use of club funding to help clubs hold events and further establish the clubs on campus.


Elections Committee

The Elections Committee is in charge of setting up and hosting the presidential and general elections for the Graduate Student Association in the spring semester. Additionally, this committee will be tasked with keeping all graduate students informed on when elections, voting, and other events take place.


Events Committee

The Events Committee is in charge of coordinating GSA events such as the Welcome Back Social, Fall Social, Pub n Sub Social, and Spring Awards Banquet. Tasks include but are not limited to: planning the event (location, theme, food, and drinks), organizing volunteers, and promoting the event.

Members:  Arturo Macias Franco, Fatema Azmee, 


Judicial, Budget, and Finance Committee

Reviews and amends the Constitution and Bylaws when needed. This committee is chaired by the Internal Vice President of GSA. GSA policies are also reviewed by this committee. The GSA Budget is determined at the beginning of the school year by this committee. The approved budget is presented to the council by the senior advisor at the beginning of the Fall Semester.


Service Committee

This committee seeks to give back to the University and the greater Reno community in a variety of ways. Tasked with the coordination and implementation of a day of service, in addition to other service opportunities throughout the school year such as clothing drives.


Student Advocacy Committee

Tackles issues that affect the student body that don’t explicitly fit within other committee scopes.


University Committees

In addition to serving on internal GSA committees, each Council Member represents fellow graduate students by serving on at least one University committee alongside faculty.

  • ADA Plan Review (Taissa Lytchenko)
  • Counseling Services Advisory Board (Andrew Jessani)
  • Cultural Diversity  (Frank Pulciano)
  • Faculty Diversity  (Arturo Macias Franco)
  • JCSU Advisory Board 
  • Performance Arts 
  • Queer & LGBT Advocacy Board 
  • Status of Women 
  • Student Fee Review 
  • Silver Paw 
  • Tech Fee 
  • Title IX