Graduation dates, deadlines and requirements

Graduation can be a very exciting and hectic time. Be sure to review the items below to ensure you meet your deadlines to graduate on time. 

All candidates for graduation should visit your department advisor to confirm their expectations for your final semester. Students must have a minimum GPA of 3.0 to be eligible for graduation. 

Graduation application deadlines for all doctoral, masters and graduate certificate students

Every student must purchase a graduation application by the designated deadline:

  • May graduation deadline: March 1
  • August graduation deadline: June 1
  • December graduation deadline: October 1

When we receive your graduation application, you will receive an email outlining the result of their graduation review approximately 3-8 weeks after the application has been received. Graduate applications are available in MyNEVADA. 

  • Log in to MyNEVADA and select the "Academic Records" tile.
  • Select "Apply for Graduation" from the menu and follow the steps presented.

Apply for graduation in MyNEVADA

Graduation information

Important dates and milestones for graduate and doctoral Students

It is the responsibility of the student to meet the below deadlines in order to graduate on time. Work with your graduate advisor to ensure you meet all degree and program requirements.

Deadlines by milestones and dates for December 2022 graduation

Milestone Date
Program of Study must be on file
with Graduate School
Fri., Apr. 15, 2022
Classes begin Mon., Aug. 29, 2022
Graduation Applications filed online Sat., Oct. 1, 2022
Notice of Completion due from graduating
doctoral students who are being hooded
Fri., Dec. 2, 2022
Dissertation, Thesis, Notice of Completion due Fri., Dec. 9, 2022
Commencement Sat., Dec. 10, 2022
Final grades due; semester ends Tue., Dec. 27, 2022

Deadlines by milestones and dates for May 2023 graduation

Milestone Date
Program of Study must be on file
with Graduate School
Thurs, Nov. 10, 2022
Classes begin Mon., Jan. 23, 2023
Graduation Applications
filed online
Wed., Mar, 1, 2023
Notice of Completion due from graduating
doctoral students who are being hooded
Fri., May 5, 2023
Dissertation, Thesis, and
Notice of Completion due
Fri., May 12, 2023
Commencement Thur.-Sat., May 18-20, 2023
Final grades due; semester ends Mon., May 22, 2023

Deadlines by milestones and dates for August 2023 graduation

Milestone Date
Program of Study must be on file
with Graduate School
Fri., April 14, 2023
Mini term summer session begins Mon., May 22, 2023
Graduation Applications
filed online
Thur., Jun. 1, 2023
First-term summer session begins Mon., Jun. 12, 2023
Second-term summer session begins Mon., Jul. 17, 2023
Dissertation, Thesis, and
Notice of Completion Due
Fri., Aug. 11, 2023
Final grades due; semester ends Mon., Aug. 21, 2023