Diversity in EECB

University Land Acknowledgement

We acknowledge that the University of Nevada, Reno is situated on the traditional homelands of the Numu (Northern Paiute), Wašiw (Washoe), Newe (Western Shoshone), Nuwu (Southern Paiute) peoples. These lands continue to be a gathering place for Indigenous Peoples and we recognize their deep connections to these places. We extend our appreciation for the opportunity to live and learn on their territory.

Visit the University's Diversity & Inclusion page

We, the EECB faculty and students of the University of Nevada, Reno, condemn all forms of discrimination and recognize that systemic bias is pervasive in academia. EECB fully supports the goals of Black Lives Matter, DiversifySTEM, QueerSTEM, DiversifyEEB, Black Ecologists Matter, and allied groups.

We recognize that systemic anti-Blackness, racism, sexism, xenophobia, and transphobia have contributed substantially to a lack of diversity in EECB fields, and we support all individuals and organizations working towards correcting these injustices. We commit to holding ourselves accountable for recognizing and eliminating systemic discrimination within our unit with regards to race, ethnicity, national origins, immigration status, gender, gender identity, sexual orientation, age, ability, socioeconomic status, and religion. We commit ourselves to identifying and dismantling the barriers to accessibility and full participation in our disciplines because we recognize that the greatest scientific advancements will require the full scope of human creativity and experience. We commit to being an active participant and leader in the substantial review and renewal that is needed in education, research and academic policies related to student and faculty equity. Some solutions are within our immediate reach, while others require developing policies and practices that can only be implemented at higher administrative levels or in partnership with our surrounding community. We commit to the long-term work required to develop and implement these actions on our campus, in our local community, as well as our broader scientific societies.

The EECB faculty commitment to bold transformation will require ongoing review and refinement, but our first steps towards the future we seek will be led by our new EECB Faculty Diversity Committee. This committee will:

  1. coordinate with the EECB Student Justice, Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Committee
  2. maintain and review data concerning EECB faculty and student diversity to identify barriers in recruitment and retention
  3. review and update student recruitment, admissions and training objectives to align with diversity and equity goals
  4. integrate diversity training into our core introductory course
  5. formalize a mechanism by which faculty and students can safely report and have reviewed any discriminatory or exclusionary acts
  6. review and enhance ongoing in-reach and outreach programs to maximize achievement of diversity and equity
  7. ensure that new grant proposals include funding to give research experiences to underrepresented high school, undergraduate, graduate students or teachers in our community


  • Julie Allen
  • David Alvarez-Ponce
  • Sarah Bisbing
  • Joanna Blaszczak
  • Sudeep Chandra
  • Hall Cushman
  • Lee Dyer
  • Chris Feldman
  • Matt Forister
  • Jonathan Greenberg
  • Paul Hurtado
  • Christopher Jeffrey
  • Beth Leger
  • Annie Leonard
  • Michael Logan
  • Carlos Mariscal
  • Marjorie Matocq
  • Pedro Miura
  • Christopher Morgan
  • Ken Nussear
  • Tom Parchman
  • Mary Peacock
  • Vladimir Pravosudov
  • Beth Pringle
  • Misty Riddle
  • Kevin Shoemaker
  • Bob Shriver
  • Angela Smilanich
  • Kelley Stewart
  • Benjamin Sullivan
  • Jamie Voyles
  • Perry Williams


  • Nathan Byer
  • Matthew Holding
  • Josh Jahner
  • Kelly Klingler
  • Jessica Oswald


  • Casey Adkins
  • Valentina Alaasam
  • Tessa Behnke
  • Lauren Benedict
  • Anson Call
  • Cas Carroll
  • Ally Coconis
  • Stephanie Coronado
  • Aramee Diethelm
  • Lydia Doan
  • Trevor Faske
  • Avery Grant
  • Ari Grele
  • Joshua Hallas
  • Lacey Hankin
  • Steven Hromada
  • Ericka R. Kay
  • Madeleine Lohman
  • Haley Moniz
  • Leslie R. Morris
  • Nadya Muchoney
  • Danny Nielsen
  • Anjana Parandhaman
  • Devon Picklum
  • Angela Pitera
  • Leah Prescott
  • Thomas Riecke
  • Kelly Robinson
  • Masoud A. Rostami
  • Danielle Salcido
  • Ciara Sheets
  • Laura Shriver
  • Katherine Strain
  • Chanchanok Sudta
  • Anna Tatarko
  • Katie Uckele
  • M. A. Walden
  • Ranae Zauner