skip to main content

Graduation and Deadlines

Graduates

Graduating Doctoral Students

Doctoral Student Hooding Ceremony

Graduating doctoral students are accorded special recognition during spring or winter commencement exercises by participating in a Hooding Ceremony.

To participate in the Hooding Ceremony, students must:

  • Be a doctoral student. Masters students do not participate in the hooding ceremony.
  • File an application for graduation for the appropriate semester (fall or spring) and;
  • Have successfully defended their dissertation and filed the completed Notice of Completion with the Graduate School at least two weeks prior to the commencement exercises. Students who complete their degree during the summer session are eligible to attend either the fall or spring commencement exercises.

Dissertation Title Submission Form

Please provide the Graduate School with the title of your dissertation and the name of your advisor.

Graduation Application for All Masters and Doctoral Students

Every student must purchase a graduation application by the designated deadline:

  • May Graduation Deadline: March 1
  • August Graduation Deadline: June 1
  • December Graduation Deadline: October 1

When we receive your graduation application you will receive an email outlining the result of their graduation review approximately 3-8 weeks after the application has been received.

All candidates for graduation should visit your department advisor to confirm their expectations for your final semester. Contact the Graduate School with any questions or concerns.

Apply Online for Graduation


Important Dates and Milestones for Graduate and Doctoral Students

It is the responsibility of the student to meet the below deadlines in order to graduate on time.  Work with your graduate advisor to ensure you meet all degree and program requirements. Download a PDF of these deadlines for the 2014 academic year.

Dec 2014 Graduation

MilestoneDate
Program of Study must be on file with Graduate School Fri, Apr 18, 2014
Semester begins Mon, Aug 18, 2014
Classes begin Mon, Aug 25, 2014
Graduation Applications filed on-line Wed, Oct 1, 2014
Notice of Completion (Doctoral) due from
Graduating Doctoral Students who are being Hooded
Wed, Nov 19, 2014
Dissertation, Thesis, Notice of Completion (Doctoral/Master's) due Fri, Dec 5, 2014
Commencement Sat, Dec 6, 2014
Final grades due, Semester ends Mon, Dec 22, 2014

May 2015 Graduation

MilestoneDate
Program of Study must be on file with Graduate School Fri, Nov 21, 2014
Semester begins Mon, Jan 12, 2015
Classes begin Tues, Jan 20, 2015
Graduation Applications filed on-line Sun, Mar 1, 2015
Notice of Completion (Doctoral) due from
Graduating Doctoral Students who are being Hooded
Fri, May 1, 2015
Dissertation, Thesis, Notice of Completion (Doctoral/Master's) due Fri, May 8, 2015
Commencement Fri-Sat, May 15-16, 2015
Final grades due, Semester ends Mon, May 18, 2015

August 2015 Graduation

MilestoneDate
Program of Study must be on file with Graduate School Fri, April 17, 2015
Mini term summer session begins Mon, May 18, 2015
Graduation Applications filed on-line Mon, June 1, 2015
First term summer session begins Mon, June 8, 2015
Second term summer session begins Mon, July 13, 2015
Dissertation, Thesis, Notice of Completion (Doctoral/Master's) due Fri, Aug 7, 2015
Final grades due, Semester ends Mon, Aug 17, 2015

Take the next step...