skip to main content

Graduation and Deadlines

Graduates

Graduating Doctoral Students

Doctoral Student Hooding Ceremony

Graduating doctoral students are accorded special recognition during spring or winter commencement exercises by participating in a Hooding Ceremony.

To participate in the Hooding Ceremony, students must:

  • Be a doctoral student. Masters students do not participate in the hooding ceremony.
  • File an application for graduation for the appropriate semester (fall or spring) and;
  • Have successfully defended their dissertation and filed the completed Notice of Completion with the Graduate School at least two weeks prior to the commencement exercises. Students who complete their degree during the summer session are eligible to attend either the fall or spring commencement exercises.

Dissertation Title Submission Form

Please provide the Graduate School with the title of your dissertation and the name of your advisor.

Graduation Application for All Masters and Doctoral Students

Every student must purchase a graduation application by the designated deadline:

  • May Graduation Deadline: March 1
  • August Graduation Deadline: June 1
  • December Graduation Deadline: October 1

When we receive your graduation application you will receive an email outlining the result of their graduation review approximately 3-8 weeks after the application has been received.

All candidates for graduation should visit your department advisor to confirm their expectations for your final semester. Contact the Graduate School with any questions or concerns.

Apply Online for Graduation


Important Dates and Milestones for Graduate and Doctoral Students

It is the responsibility of the student to meet the below deadlines in order to graduate on time.  Work with your graduate advisor to ensure you meet all degree and program requirements. Download a PDF of these deadlines for the 2015/16 academic year.

May 2017 Graduation

MilestoneDate
Program of Study must be on file with Graduate School Friday, Nov. 18, 2016
Semester begins Monday, Jan. 16, 2017
Classes begin Tuesday, Jan. 23, 2017
Graduation Applications filed on-line Wednesday, March 1, 2017
Notice of Completion (Doctoral) due from
Graduating Doctoral Students who are being Hooded
Friday, April 28, 2017
Dissertation, Thesis, Notice of Completion (Doctoral/Master's) due Friday, May 5, 2017
Commencement Thursday-Saturday, May 18-20, 2017
Final grades due, Semester ends Monday, May 22, 2017

August 2017 Graduation

MilestoneDate
Program of Study must be on file with Graduate School Friday, April 21, 2017
Mini term summer session begins Monday, May 22, 2017
Graduation Applications filed on-line Thursday, June 1, 2017
First term summer session begins Monday, June 12, 2017
Second term summer session begins Monday, July 17, 2017
Dissertation, Thesis, Notice of Completion (Doctoral/Master's) due Friday, Aug. 4, 2017
Final grades due, Semester ends Monday, Aug. 18, 2017

December 2016 Graduation

MilestoneDate
Program of Study must be on file with Graduate School Friday, April 22, 2016
Semester begins Monday, Aug. 22, 2016
Classes begin Monday, Aug. 29, 2016
Graduation Applications filed on-line Saturday, Oct. 1, 2016
Notice of Completion (Doctoral) due from
Graduating Doctoral Students who are being Hooded
Wednesday, Nov. 23, 2016
Dissertation, Thesis, Notice of Completion (Doctoral/Master's) due Friday, Dec. 2, 2016
Commencement Saturday, Dec. 10, 2016
Final grades due, Semester ends Tuesday, Dec. 27, 2016

Take the next step...