Removing content from My Media

It is a good practice to remove content you no longer use, or which has become outdated, from your My Media repository.This has the additional benefit of helping the university make the best use its storage resources. Follow the instructions below to remove content from your My Media repository.

Please Note: Deleted items are unrecoverable. If you would like an archive copy of a particular piece of content prior to deletion, please contact IDT for assistance.

Step 1: Log in to WebCampus and browse to your course.


Step 2: Click on My Media in the left-hand course menu. (If My Media is not in your course menu it will need to be enabled.

Screen clipping of the My Media interface in WebCampus. There is an arrow indicating a selected checkbox adjacent to one of the videos. There is a second arrow indicating the Delete option on the activated ACTIONS drop-down menu. There is a circle around the trashcan icon associated with the same video.
[Figure 1] Screen clipping of the My Media interface in WebCampus. There is an arrow indicating a selected checkbox adjacent to one of the videos. There is a second arrow indicating the Delete option on the activated ACTIONS drop-down menu. There is a circle around the trashcan icon associated with the same video.

Step 3: From the My Media interface, you can delete old content one of two ways:

a. Select the checkbox next to the item and then select Delete from the ACTIONS drop-down menu.

b. Click on the trashcan icon adjacent to the item you would like to delete.
Screen clipping of the delete confirmation dialog which asks the user whether or not they want to permanently delete the media item from the library. The prompt contains a Delete and Cancel button.
[Figure 2] Screen clipping of the delete confirmation dialog which asks the user whether or not they want to permanently delete the media item from the library. The prompt contains a Delete and Cancel button.

Step 4: You will be prompted with a delete confirmation message; click the Delete button to finalize the deletion of the content item.

As noted in the message, deleted items are unrecoverable. If you would like an archive copy of a particular piece of content prior to deletion, please contact the Instructional Design Team (IDT) for assistance.