Frequently asked questions
Where is the Parking and Transportation Services Department located?
The office is located on the corner of North Virginia Street and 16th Street. It is building #106 on the campus map, located near the 3rd floor entrance to the West Stadium Parking Complex. Office hours are Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., excluding holidays.
My NSHE number isn’t working to log in to the online parking system. What do I do?
In order to log in to the Parking Services online system you must use your University NetID, not your NSHE student ID number. Your NetID (Network Identification) is a unique username that is automatically generated for all current students, faculty and staff of the University of Nevada, Reno.
Your NetID will typically be made up of your name. For example, John Smith will have a NetID like jsmith. The username made up of numbers like 8000123456 is an NSHE ID, and can only be used to log into MyNEVADA. You will not know what your NetID is until after it has been activated. Please visit the Office of Information Technology to activate your NetID or for help troubleshooting. Please note that once you activate your NetID, it may take up to 24 hours for the Parking online system to recognize this login.
How do I file an appeal?
Citations may be appealed within 15 calendar days from the date the citation was issued. Written appeals may be filed online or in person at the Parking Office; however, a deposit equal to the amount of the fine must be paid prior to submitting the appeal.
Will my appeal be approved?
Appeals are reviewed by Parking and Transportation Services Department administration. Taken into consideration are warning and citation history, parking permit history, prior parking citation appeals and circumstances as presented in the written appeal.
How long will it take to get a refund from returning my permit/approval of an appeal?
Refunds can take 3-4 weeks to be processed. It is important to note, however, that the refund will first be applied to any outstanding balance that you have with Parking Services or any other department on campus through the Cashiers Office. Refunds are processed through the Accounts Payable Office in the form of a refund check.
Can I park in the Brian J Whalen Parking Complex or the other Silver Zones if I am a student?
After 5:30 p.m., any valid permit (excluding Circus Circus and Free Friday permits) may park in the Brian J Whalen Parking Complex and lower Silver Zones, except in those areas marked 24/7 enforced. Before 5:30 p.m., these are reserved for University faculty and staff only. Restrictions are strictly enforced.
Why can I only park in the other Silver Zones after 5:30 p.m. and not 5:00 p.m.?
The 5:30 p.m. time limit is in place to allow faculty and staff to exit campus and limit congestion around the University.
How do I get my parking hold released from my MyNevada student account?
In order to release a hold, you must first pay the outstanding balance owed to Parking and Transportation Services. Once the balance is paid, please give us a call to notify us that your account is up to date. Holds on current accounts are released each morning. Payments for parking holds cannot be made through the MyNevada system.
Where should I park on campus if I am just visiting for a day?
Day parking is available at the top of the West Stadium Parking Complex for $6 per day per vehicle. A daily permit can be purchased at the top of West Stadium in the permit dispenser near the elevator or through the Parking and Transportation Services Office located outside the 3rd floor entrance at North Virginia and 16th Street.
Hourly parking is also available in various other locations on campus at $2 an hour. Please see our parking map to pick a location that works best for you.
I received a citation, but I had a valid permit?
Please visit Parking Services with your permit and citation so that we can assess the circumstances of the citation being issued. It may be that your permit was not clearly visible to the officer at the time of the citation being issued.
How do I purchase a disabled permit?
Annual disabled accessible parking permits may be purchased at the Parking and Transportation Services office located at North Virginia and 16th Street. The following items and information are needed when purchasing the permit:
- A completed parking permit application (Applications are available in our office.)
- A valid photo ID
- A DMV issued placard or vehicle registration
- A DMV "Authorization Letter" indicating ownership of the disabled access placard. (This is not necessary if the vehicle has disabled plates.)
Once your information is on file, you will be able to renew future annual parking permits by mail. In the event that the disabled individual cannot pay the entire permit fee in advance, payment arrangements may be provided.
How do I purchase a temporary disabled parking permit?
Temporarily disabled individuals are eligible to purchase a temporary university disabled permit. The same requirements listed for the annual permit above apply to temporarily disabled individuals; however, the expiration date of the temporary disabled parking permit will coincide with the expiration date of the temporary DMV placard.
How do disabled visitors park on campus?
Disabled visitors may purchase a $4 one-day parking permit at the Parking and Transportation Services office or at a parking permit dispenser in the following locations:
- Level 1 of Brian J. Whalen Parking Complex
- Top Floor of the West Stadium Parking Complex
- Silver 10 parking lot just southeast of the Center for Molecular Medicine
- In the meter parking lot east of the Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center
- In the meter parking lot east of Lombardi Recreation Center
Daily permits may be used at any disabled parking space throughout the day indicated on the permit. The permit must be displayed on the dash along with a DMV issued placard.
Are first citations always waived?
It is up to the discretion of Parking Services to waive citations. Waiving first citations is not a policy observed by Parking Services.
I received a citation before a warning. Shouldn’t I get a warning first?
Warnings are not always issued prior to citations. For a full explanation of the parking rules, please visit our page on Parking Rules and Regulations.
Why did I receive a warning in a Yellow Zone over the weekend?
Yellow zones are resident zones. Restrictions are enforced 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
What are the hours of enforcement?
Permit parking areas require proper permits to be displayed Monday through Thursday from 7:30 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. and Friday from 7:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., throughout the entire year, unless otherwise specified. Parking areas designated as 'enforced 24 hours per day, 7 days a week' require that an authorized permit to be displayed at all times. These areas include, but are not limited to, Yellow and Orange signed zones.
Short-term parking areas required paid parking Monday through Thursday from 7:30 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. and Friday from 7:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. throughout the entire year unless otherwise specified.
I received a City of Reno ticket. Can I pay it at the University Parking Services?
Parking Services is not affiliated with the City of Reno. Please contact the City of Reno to pay your citation at (775) 334-2293.
The meter I parked at is broken; what do I do?
Parking at a non-functioning meter will result in citation. Please do not park at meters that are broken.
The permit dispenser machine gave me a refund slip. What do I do?
Please visit the Parking Services office within 30 days of issuance, and we will issue you a refund.
Isn’t parking free over break?
Special exceptions do apply during Winter and Spring breaks and during the summer session. However, there is no "free" parking offered.
Why did I get a ticket in a carpool space?
Carpool spaces are reserved exclusively for students and staff who carpool to campus daily through 8:00 p.m. In order to park in these spaces, you must have a valid carpool permit.
My friend gave me his permit. How do I get it linked to me?
Parking permits are non-transferrable. You cannot purchase a permit from anyone other than the Parking Services office, including your friends. If you did not purchase your permit from the Parking Services office fines in excess of $500 will be issued. The original permit holder should contact the Parking Services office for a possible refund for the permit.
I have a Silver 11 permit. Where can I park?
Silver permits are valid in the Silver numbered zone designated on the front of the physical permit only. Silver 11 permits are valid on levels 2-5 of the Brian Whalen Parking Complex. Silver 11 permits are not valid on the first floor of the Whalen Complex or within the E. L. Wiegand parking structure (located underneath the E. L. Wiegand Fitness Center).