Reynolds School dean named to national journalism award committee

Dean Al Stavitsky (pictured above) is one of six deans on the Hearst awards committee


7/3/2018 | By: Adrianna Owens |

Reynolds School of Journalism Dean Alan Stavitsky has been selected to join the Hearst Journalism Awards Steering Committee. The committee guides the Hearst Journalism Awards Program, referred to as the Pulitzers of collegiate journalism.

Stavitsky will join six other deans on the committee, from leading journalism schools across the nation, including Arizona State University and Syracuse University. The committee meets two times each year to address changes in journalism education as they impact the awards program.

"I'm honored to be invited to join the Hearst awards committee," Stavitsky said. "It's nice that the Reynolds School will be at the table when the evolution of the awards program is discussed."

Every year, students at the Reynolds School compete in the Hearst Journalism Awards Program. This past spring, Reynolds School student Robyn Feinberg took ninth place in the Hearst Journalism Awards Personality Profile contest for her story titled "An interpreter's journey from Afghanistan to northern Nevada."

The Hearst awards are administered by the Hearst Foundations, which support Reynolds School programs such as Noticiero Móvil and the Reynolds Media Lab.


For more news on the University of Nevada, Reno, follow @unevadareno on Twitter.

Get Nevada Today in your Inbox!