More about the Department of Music

The Department of Music is a member of the National Association of Schools of Music. and is part of the School of the Arts, housed under the College of Liberal Arts.

The Department of Music boasts a faculty of world-class performers and scholars committed to providing a creative, vibrant and challenging center for artistic development.

Offering Bachelor and Master degrees, the Department of Music has approximately 60 full- or part-time music faculty and over 200 student majors. Class sizes are small and the faculty is extremely accessible. The faculty is encouraged to maintain active performing careers which in turn provide inspiration for their students.

Music programs within the Department are dedicated to the professional training of students in music education, applied performance, and music history. The Department's dedication to student and faculty participation in ensemble performance reflects the belief that interactive rehearsals and live performances teach music students the technology and social dynamics of being a musician. It is in ensemble playing where musical ideas are animated individually, instrument by instrument, but shared as a collaborative experience with fellow musicians and with the listening audience.

The Department's facilities include the 615-seat Nightingale Concert Hall, housed in the Church Fine Arts building. Completed in 1987, Nightingale Hall is renowned for its excellent acoustics and intimate performance space. The Harrah Music Wing and the Clarence and Martha Jones Music Studio Center include classrooms, practice rooms, a recording studio, and several instrumental rehearsal facilities.