Honor the Best ceremony celebrates accomplishments and milestones of students, faculty and staff

‘All of you are the embodiment of the mission and values of our University’


The Honor the Best ceremony has been a staple gathering around commencement since 1970 and recognizes the outstanding achievements of faculty, staff and students.

Honor the Best ceremony celebrates accomplishments and milestones of students, faculty and staff

‘All of you are the embodiment of the mission and values of our University’

Kevin Carman, Executive Vice President and Provost, opened the 2019 "Honor the Best" ceremony, held Tuesday, May 14, in the Glick Ballrooms of the Joe Crowley Student Union. More than 350 people attended the ceremony and reception.

"Many thanks to all of you for sharing in today's celebration," Carman said. "As members of the Wolf Pack family know, the University of Nevada, Reno was recently elevated to the R1 Carnegie classification - this classification recognizes the very high level of research done at our University which is committed to learning, discovery and engagement. This afternoon, we recognize and celebrate many of those who have made this University what it stands for today and who have helped us achieve this R1 status."

Rod Aeschlimann shakes hands with President Johnson

Residential Life, Housing and Food Services Executive Director Rod Aeschlimann received the Distinguished Service Award, shaking hands here with University President Marc Johnson.

Since 1970, the "Honor the Best" ceremony has been a gathering by the campus to recognize the outstanding achievements of faculty, staff and students.

University President Marc Johnson continued with welcoming remarks before the presentation of awards.

"Awards help our institution applaud individuals whose deeds are extraordinary - and they also help remind us that our campus is a place where teamwork and partnership and a belief in one another are central to the success of everyone here," President Johnson said. "I'd like to congratulate all of our honorees today. We have a unique story to tell here at the University, and each of the people we honor here today have helped make our story richer, more meaningful and worth remembering."

The list of honorees Tuesday included:

Emeriti Faculty: Rod Aeschlimann; Greg Arehart; Kathleen Boardman; Stacy Burton; Dale Carrison; Audrey Casey; Joseph Cline; Patrick "Tod" Colegrove; DAyue Darrel Duan; Amanda Evans; Jacque Ewing-Taylor; Adam Garcia; William Gerthoffer; Stuart Golder; Catherine Goring; Darren Griswold; Christopher Henry; Martha Hildreth; Janita Jobe; Kathleen Keef; Evan Klass; Peggy Lakey; Kenneth Lucey; Bruce Mack; Cynthia Marczynski; Gerald Marczynski; Glenn Miller; Denise Montcalm; Ronald Pardini; Pamela Jo Powell; Robert (Jerry) Qualls; Alan Ramelli; Jennifer Ring; Nelson Rojas; Dan Ruby; Janet Sanderson; James Sedinger; Mark Simkin; Ed Smith; Terence Smith; Debra Stiver; Gregory Stone; C. Richard Tracy; Deborah Verstegen; Shernaaz Webster; Leah Wilds; and Joseba Zulaika

Foundation Professors: Marjorie Matocq; Monica Miller; Vladimir Pravosudov

F. Donald Tibbitts Distinguished Teacher Award: Geoffrey Smith; Ann-Marie Vollstedt

Distinguished Outreach Faculty: Todd Felts

Inclusion, Equity and Diversity Leadership Award: Stephen Rock

University Foundation Innovative Impact Award: Kalena Pelekai-Wai

Outstanding Undergraduate Research Faculty Mentor: Angela Smilanich

Jennifer Hollander

Nevada System of Higher Education Regent Jason Geddes, Biology Lecturer Jennifer Hollander, University President Marc Johnson and Regent Rick Trachok present Hollander with the Regents' Teaching Award.

Postdoctoral Award for Exceptional Mentoring: Jorge Monteiro

Student Employee of the Year: Payton Smith

Cavanaugh Community Volunteer Award: Ryan Baldwin

Henry Albert Senior Public Service Award: Vanessa Amaya; Alec Brennan; Tania Gonzalez Contreras; Hannah Jackson

Phi Kappa Phi Award: Kaitlyn McKenna

Outstanding Senior Award: Kristopher Alighchi; Daniel Lindbergh Lang

Outstanding Graduate Student Researcher: Marcella Rosie Shrout

Outstanding Graduate Student: Jhony Habbouche

President Johnson, Larry Engstrom, Provost Carman

Associate Chair and Professor of Music Larry Engstrom was surprised with one of the two Distinguished Faculty Awards, seen here in between President Johnson and Provost Carman.

ROTC Governor's Award: Adam Khouri

ROTC President's Award: Chris Hopper

Faculty Senate's Award for Outstanding Service: Dave Croasdell; Judith Sugar

Thornton Peace Prize: Sarah Blithe

Regents' Academic Advisory Award, Undergraduate: Ivy Chin

Regents' Researcher of the Year: Jeffrey Harper

Regents' Rising Researcher Award: Yu Yang

Regents' Rising Researcher Award: Jennifer Hollander

Regents' Scholar Award, Graduate: Hector Arciniega

Regents' Scholar Award, Undergraduate: Hannah Huntley

Ravi Subramanian and family

Associate Professor Chemical & Materials Engineering Ravi Subramanian and family celebrate his Global Engagement Award at the 2019 Honor the Best ceremony.

Outstanding Researcher: Peter Sebaaly

Early Career Innovator Award: Monika Gulia-Nuss

Graduate Academic Advisory Award: Mark Nichols

Established Innovator Award: David AuCoin

Global Engagement Award: Ravi Subramanian

University Foundation Outstanding Supervisor Award: Jerry Marczynski

University Foundation Administrative Faculty of the Year: Audrey Casey

Distinguished Classified Employee Award: Brendi Gertsma

Announced at Ceremony:

Distinguished Faculty: MaryAnn Demchak; Larry Engstrom

Distinguished Service: Rod Aeschlimann

Carman concluded the ceremony.

"Together, we are taking our University into a bright and prosperous future," he said.

Latest From

Nevada Today