2017 - 2018 Balloon Race Scholarship Winners

2017-2018 Balloon Race Scholarship Committee Recipients

The University Balloon Race Scholarship Committee has been in existence since 1986 and has awarded scholarship funds since the early 1990s.  The University Balloon Race Scholarships have been distributed each year since 1999.  The committee exists to raise the money to award two scholarships a year; one to an undergraduate student and one to a graduate student.

The committee is pleased to announce Taylor Seidler as the graduate student recipient and Jax Skye as the undergraduate student recipient for the 2017-2018 academic year.

Taylor Seidler, is pursuing a Master's degree in Psychology with an emphasis in behavior analysis.  She hopes to work with children with autism.  She wants to make a difference in their lives.  Taylor is involved with several research projects that are centered around early behavioral intervention.  She plans on getting her doctorate after she completes her Master's Degree.

Jax Skye, is a junior majoring in Neuroscience.  Jax has a keen interest in perception and consciousness.  Since coming to the University of Nevada, Reno Jax has been involved with various college activities.  Jax looks forward to conducting psychology experiments.  Attending college is very important and Jax feels the best investment one can do is obtain a college education. .

The University Balloon Race Scholarship Committee would like to congratulate Taylor Seidler and Jax Skye for their hard work and encourage everyone to attend the Great Reno Balloon Race at Rancho San Rafael Park on September 8-10, 2017.  Don't forget to stop by and visit the University Balloon Race Scholarship Committee booth during the balloon races.

Past Balloon Race Scholarship Winners


  • Graduate: Taylor Seidler
  • Undergraduate: Jax Skye


  • Graduate: Liliana Davalos
  • Undergraduate: Christian Jara


  • Graduate: Jamie Wenner
  • Undergraduate: Michael Asburn


  • Graduate: Miranda Smith
  • Undergraduate: Darrin Mccarthy


  • Graduate: Gregrette Perry
  • Undergraduate: Justin Rashidi


  • Graduate: Perla Petry
  • Undergraduate: Natalia Beltz


  • Graduate: Calen Evans
  • Undergraduate: Heather Barker


  • Graduate: Megan Gibson
  • Undergraduate: Christopher Douglas


  • Graduate: Charles Carpenter
  • Undergraduate: Jarell Green


  • Graduate: Matthew Schottel
  • Undergraduate: Elizabeth Cadigan


  • Graduate: Heather Sanderson
  • Undergraduate: Winifred Scharosch


  • Graduate: Stephanie Spear
  • Undergraduate: Jeff Marshall


  • Graduate: Phillip Parker
  • Undergraduate: Audra Haines


  • Graduate:  Veronica Griffith
  • Undergraduate:  Heidi Sabol