University Balloon Race Scholarship Recipients

Jennifer Heppner and Ivana Lang receive the 2019 Balloon Race Scholarship

Deflated hot air balloon with red and white checkers and people's shadows in the background.

The University Balloon Race Scholarship Committee has been in existence since 1986 and has awarded scholarship funds since the early 1990s.  The University Balloon Race Scholarships have been distributed each year since 1999.  The committee exists to raise the money to award two scholarships a year; one to an undergraduate student and one to a graduate student.

The committee is pleased to announce Jennifer Heppner as the graduate student recipient and Ivana Lang as the undergraduate student recipient for the 2019-2020 academic year.

Jennifer Heppner

Jennifer Heppner, is pursuing a degree in Ecology.  She indicates that research is her passion and strives to answer environmental questions that impacts both wildlife and humans.  She wants to make a difference in their lives.  Jennifer is involved with her community and helps with Girl Scouts of Nevada. 

Ivana LangIvana Lang, is a junior and is a pre-business Honors student with the intentions to declare as an Accounting and International Business major.  She is the Visual Arts Director at the Brushfire Literature and Arts Journal and a Writing Consultant at the University Writing and Speaking Center.

The University Balloon Race Scholarship Committee would like to congratulate Jennifer Heppner and Ivana Lang for their hard work and encourage everyone to attend the Great Reno Balloon Race at Rancho San Rafael Park on September 6-8, 2019.  Don’t forget to stop by and visit the University Balloon Race Scholarship Committee booth during the balloon races.

Latest From

Nevada Today