2022 conference agenda

2022 conference agenda
Time Event
8-8:30 a.m. Breakfast
8:30-9 a.m. Opening Remarks
Erick C. Jones, Dean, University of Nevada, Reno College of Engineering
U.S. Senator Jacky Rosen, State of Nevada
9-9:45 a.m. Keynote Speaker
Brent Watkins, Director of Business Development of Tego Cyber Inc., with Shannon Wilkinson, CEO of Tego Cyber Inc. 
9:45-10 a.m. Break
10-11:30 a.m. Panel: How can small- and medium-scale organizations protect themselves?
Tony Rucci, Cybersecurity Consultant
Steven Ramirez, Renown
Heather Hall, Optiv Security
Barry Johnson, Dara Security
11:30 a.m.-12 p.m. Engage with Cyber competitions
12-1 p.m. Lunch and networking opportunity
1-1:45 p.m. Keynote
Richard Baskerville, Regents’ Professor (emeritus), Georgia State University
1:45-2 p.m. Break
2-3:15 p.m. Panel: The future of cybersecurity
Jason Truppi, Shift State Security
Paromita Pain, University of Nevada, Reno
Andy Bennett, Apollo Information Systems, Corp.
Merve Hickok, Aiethicist.org
Dr. Richard Hays, State of Nevada
3:15-3:30 p.m. Nevada Cyber Range in action
3:30-5:30 p.m. Concurrent events:
  • Capture the flag (award for the winner)
  • Industry showcase
  • Student demo and posters (award for winners)
  • Social
5:30-6 p.m. Award ceremony
Student demo and poster competition
Capture the flag

Capture the Flag

The Nevada Cyber Club invites you to participate in a student-made Capture the Flag, hosted live at the conference! Try out beginner-to-intermediate level challenges and compete to win cash prizes!

The top 3 Capture the Flag winners will receive $100, $50, and $25 monetary awards.

Access Capture the Flag

The audience is encouraged to bring their laptop computers, smart tablets or mobile devices to take part in the fun cyber competitions that will happen through the day.

Platinum sponsors


Computer Science & Engineering logo


Research and Innovation logo

Gold sponsors

Apollo logo

Reynolds School of Journalism logo

IEEE Region 6 logo

Spidersilk logo

Silver sponsors

Dara Security logo

HIMSS logo

AAR logo