Cyberinfrastructure Committee (CiC)

The Cyberinfrastructure Committee (CiC) is a representative committee of faculty from all colleges and research-facing units at the University of Nevada, Reno. The CiC's mission is to provide a critical perspective and vision for cyberinfrastructure needs across campus, how the University can use cyberinfrastructure to transform the scale and impact of its research, and how a campus cyberinfrastructure program can be developed and most productively used.

The goals of the CiC include the following:

  • Research: To promote and enhance research productivity to address regional, national, international, and global grand challenges through the use of cyberinfrastructure.
  • Education: To facilitate the training of students, faculty, and other university employees to make use of state-of-the-art hardware, software, and practices for research and education.
  • Access: To broaden and diversify the user base for technologically advanced resources within the University, Nevada, and the national cyberinfrastructure communities.
  • Sustainability: To assist in advocating for and building a sustainable campus cyberinfrastructure program that becomes a central, long-term investment by the University.

For more information about Cyberinfrastructure at the University, or for further information about the CiC, please contact Dr. Scotty Strachan, Director of Cyberinfrastructure.

Contact Dr. Scotty Strachan - Director of Cyberinfrastructure

Faculty Cyberinfrastructure Committee Members

These are the current members of the faculty Cyberinfrastructure Committee (CiC).

This is a list of the faculty Cyberinfrastructure Committee (CiC) with their contact information.
Nominee Name Nominee College/Unit Nominee Email Name of Nominator
Jonathan Greenberg CABNR (Nat Res. Env. Sci.) jgreenberg@unr.edu Appointed by Dean or Equivalent Supervisor
Engin Arslan COENG (Comp. Sci. Eng.) earslan@unr.edu Appointed by Dean or Equivalent Supervisor
Kyra Stull COLA (Anthropology) kstull@unr.edu Appointed by Dean or Equivalent Supervisor
Tom Parchman COS (Biology) tparchman@unr.edu Appointed by Dean or Equivalent Supervisor
John Cushman Grad School (Biochem. Molec. Biol.) jcushman@unr.edu Appointed by Dean or Equivalent Supervisor
Glenn Hagerstrom OSN ghagerstrom@unr.edu Appointed by Dean or Equivalent Supervisor
Vacant School of Public Health TBD Appointed by Dean or Equivalent Supervisor
Laura Crosswell RSJ lcrosswell@unr.edu Appointed by Dean or Equivalent Supervisor
Vacant SOM TBD Appointed by Dean or Equivalent Supervisor
Elena Azadbakht Libraries eazadbakht@unr.edu Appointed by Dean or Equivalent Supervisor
Scotty Strachan OIT strachan@unr.edu Appointed by Dean or Equivalent Supervisor
Sergiu Pascutiu VPRI spascutiu@unr.edu Appointed by Dean or Equivalent Supervisor
Vacant COB TBD Appointed by Dean or Equivalent Supervisor
Ken Nussear COS (Geography) knussear@unr.edu At Large Appointment
Mark Lescroart COS (Psychology) mlescroart@unr.edu At Large Appointment
Mohammed Ben-Idris COENG (Elect. Biomed. Eng.) mbenidris@unr.edu At Large Appointment