Update on the President search

Apr. 6, 2020

This message was sent to University of Nevada, Reno staff, faculty and employees.

To Our University Community:

In conversations between Nevada System of Higher Education Chancellor Thom Reilly and President Marc Johnson, as well as Board of Regents Chair Jason Geddes and Vice Chair Mark Doubrava, the parties have agreed to a recommendation to be presented to the Board of Regents that President Johnson will continue to serve as president of the University of Nevada, Reno through Dec. 31, 2020, or until his successor has been named. The Board of Regents will address this recommendation during its April 10 special board meeting.

President Johnson had previously announced he would be transitioning to the faculty at the end of June. Given the April 5 letter from Gov. Steve Sisolak to state workers informing them that the Governor’s Finance Office will be working with state agencies to review budgets for recommendations regarding possible budget reductions in light of the unprecedented challenges the state is facing due to the outbreak of coronavirus, the agreement would provide the University with leadership continuity and stability until a permanent president is chosen.

The executive search firm WittKieffer will continue to accept applications and actively recruit candidates to apply for the position of president through August 3, 2020. Finalists will be invited to campus for tours, meetings and interviews with the ad hoc presidential search committee and various University and community stake holders. The campus visits are scheduled to take place on Monday, September 14 and Tuesday, September 15 with the finalist interviews occurring on September 16..

Following the interview process, the ad hoc presidential search committee, made up of Regents and institutional advisory members, will make a recommendation to the Board of Regents. The Regents would meet at 1 p.m. on Thursday, September 17 at the NSHE System Administration Office in Reno to make their decision.

Thank you for your continued good work on behalf of the University.


Patricia Richard
Chief of Staff
Office of the President

Brian J. Frost
Faculty Senate Chair Chair
NSHE Council of Chairs
Associate Professor of Chemistry