Skip Site Navigation

Wintermester 2019 Courses

Please note: syllabus previews are linked below when available. Students will receive a full syllabus on the first day of class.

American Sign Language • 784-4887

AM 145 American Sign Language I—4 credits

Section: 5801 (29266)
Instructor: Laura Archer
Email: lauraarcher@unr.edu
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:45 p.m.

AM 146 American Sign Language II—4 credits

Section: 5801 (29285)
Instructor: Cherie Valentine
Email: cvalentine@med.unr.edu
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:45 p.m.

AM 148 American Sign Language IV—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29267)
Instructor: Andrea Juillerat-Olvera
Email: ajuillerat@unr.edu
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m.

Anthropology • 784-6704

ANTH 101 Introduction to Cultural Anthropology—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29204)
Instructor: Michelle Roberts
Email: chemwali@hotmail.com
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:00 p.m.

ANTH 401D Peoples and Cultures of Southeast Asia—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29205)
Instructor: Michelle Roberts
Email: chemwali@hotmail.com
MTWR, 1:30–5:30 p.m.

Center for the Application of Substance Abuse Technologies (CASAT) • 784-6265

CAS 355 Individual & Group Addiction Treatment—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29184)
Instructor: Adrienne Sutherland
Email: adrienne.communitychestnevada@gmail.com
MTWRF, 5:00–8:00 p.m.

Communication • 784-6839

COM 101 Oral Communication—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29212)
Instructor: Philip Sharp
Email: psharp@unr.edu
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:00 p.m.

Section: 5802 (29213)
Instructor: Phil Goodwin
Email: pgoodwin@unr.edu
MTWRF, 6:00–9:00 p.m.

COM 329 Business and Professional Speaking—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29214)
Instructor: Samuel Crostic
Email: samuelc@unr.edu
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:00 p.m.

COM 412 Intercultural Communication—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29215)
Instructor: Sarah Blithe
Email: sblithe@unr.edu
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:00 p.m.

Community Health Sciences • 784-4041

CHS 101 Introduction to Community Health Sciences—3 credits

Section: 5801 (28928)
Instructor: Andrea Esp
Email: aesp@health.nv.gov
Online with final in person on January 18, 10:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m.

CHS 102 Foundations of Personal Health and Wellness—3 credits

Section: 5801 (28997)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 6:00–9:00 p.m.

CHS 211 Technical Writing in the Health Sciences—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29280)
Instructor: Nicholas Murray
Email: nicholasmurray@unr.edu
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:00 p.m.

CHS 310 Health and Wellness Communication—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29039)
Instructor: Amy Arias
Email: ariasa@unr.edu
MTWR, 8:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m.

CHS 360 Disability Issues in Health Ecology—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29263)
Instructor: Robbin Dunn
Email: rvasquez@unr.edu
MTWRF, 6:00–9:00 p.m.

CHS 371 Applied Kinesiology—4 credits

Section: 5801 (23261)
Instructor: Parley Anderson and Michael Spevak
Email: parleya@unr.edu, michaeljspevak@gmail.com
TWR, 4:30–9:00 p.m.;
WR, 12:00:00–4:00 p.m.

CHS 421 Health and Wellness Across the Lifespan—4 credits

Section: 5801 (29278)
Instructor: Lindsey Dermid-Gray
Email: ldermidgray@gmail.com
Mandatory online class meetings on the following dates: 1/2, 1/7, and 1/14 at 5:00 p.m. PT. The final exam will be online on January 18.

CHS 461 The World’s Health—3 credits

Section: 5801 (23262)
Instructor: Gerold Dermid
Email: gdermid@unr.edu
Online with final in person on January 18, 10:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m.

CHS 473 Epidemiology—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29171)
Instructor: Julie Smith-Gagen
Email: jsmithgagen@unr.edu
MTWRF, 6:00–9:00 p.m.

CHS 476 AIDS: Psychosocial and Health Care Concerns—3 credits

Section: 5801 (28897)
Instructor: Melanie Flores
Email: melanief@unr.edu
MTWR, 1:30–5:30 p.m.

CHS 661 The World’s Health—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29170)
Instructor: Gerold Dermid
Email: gdermid@unr.edu
Online with final in person on January 18, 10:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m.

CHS 676 AIDS: Psychosocial and Health Care Concerns—3 credits

Section: 5801 (23290)
Instructor: Melanie Flores
Email: melanief@unr.edu
MTWR, 1:30–5:30 p.m.

Core Humanities • 784-4447

CH 201 Ancient and Medieval Cultures—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29197)
Instructor: John Benjamin
Email: benjajo@gmail.com
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:00 p.m.

CH 202 The Modern World—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29198)
Instructor: Devin Bray
Email: djbray@unr.edu
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:00 p.m.

CH 203 American Experience and Constitutional Change—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29200)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:00 p.m.

Section: 5802 (29201)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWR, 1:30–5:30 p.m.

CH 212 Science, Technology, and Society in the Modern Era—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29199)
Instructor: Bretton Rodriguez
Email: brettonr@unr.edu
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:00 p.m.

Section: 5855 (29250)
Instructor: Angela Chase
Email: achase@unr.edu
Online with two in-person exams

Counseling and Educational Psychology • 784-4345

CEP 690 Grief and Loss—2 or 3 credits

Criminal Justice • 784-6164

CRJ 104 Introduction to Administration of Justice—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29167)
Instructor: Weston Morrow
Email: wmorrow@unr.edu
Online with final through Examity

CRJ 301 Research Methods in Criminal Justice—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29163)
Instructor: Monica Miller
Email: mkmiller@unr.edu
Online with final through Examity

CRJ 311 Forensic Science—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29164)
Instructor: Breanne Jones
Email: breannejones@sbcglobal.net
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:00 p.m.

CRJ 463 Victimology—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29165)
Instructor: Emily Berthelot
Email: eberthelot@unr.edu
Online with final in person on January 18, 10:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m.

CRJ 475 Women and the Criminal Justice System—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29166)
Instructor: Pamla Keller
Email: keller.p@att.net
MTWR, 1:30–5:30 p.m.

Economics • 784-6850

ECON 102 Principles of Microeconomics—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29192)
Instructor: Mehmet Tosun
Email: tosun@unr.edu
MTWR, 1:30–5:30 p.m.

ECON 261 Principles of Statistics I—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29193)
Instructor: Shunfeng Song
Email: song@unr.edu
MTWR, 12:15–4:15 p.m.

ECON 262 Principles of Statistics II—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29194)
Instructor: Robert Dick
Email: rmd@unr.edu
MTWR, 1:30–5:30 p.m.

ECON 305 Comparative Economics—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29224)
Instructor: Elliott Parker
Email: elliottp@unr.edu
MTWRF, 12:15–3:15 p.m.

ECON 334 Economic History of the U.S.—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29195)
Instructor: Robert Dick
Email: rmd@unr.edu
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m.

Capstone and Diversity Course

Education • 784-4383

EDU 208 Characteristics of Students with Mild to Moderate Disabilities—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29273)
Instructor: Sharon Goldrup
Email: sgoldrup@gmail.com
Online with final exam online through Examity.

EDUC 413 Education for a Changing World—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29311)
Instructor: Eleni Oikonomidoy
Email: eleni@unr.edu
Online January 2ndash;11
Meets in person MTWR, 8:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m., January 14–18

EDUC 447 Parent Involvement and Family Engagement (K–12 Perspective)—3 credits

Section: 5801 (28740)
Instructor: Jennifer Mahon
Email: jmahon@unr.edu
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:00 p.m.

EDUC 495 Education Topics: Film & Video Fluency for the Digital Age—3 credits

Section: 5801 (28742)
Instructor: Greg Nielsen
Email: greganielsen@gmail.com
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:00 p.m.

EDUC 613 Education for a Changing World—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29312)
Instructor: Eleni Oikonomidoy
Email: eleni@unr.edu
Online January 2ndash;11
Meets in person MTWR, 8:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m., January 14–18

EDUC 647 Parent Involvement and Family Engagement (P–12 Perspective)—3 credits

Section: 5801 (28741)
Instructor: Jennifer Mahon
Email: jmahone@unr.edu
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:00 p.m.

EDUC 695 Education Topics: Film & Video Fluency for the Digital Age—3 credits

Section: 5801 (28743)
Instructor: Greg Nielsen
Email: greganielsen@gmail.com
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:00 p.m.

English • 784-6689

ENG 202 Film Analysis and Interpretation—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29290)
Instructor: Lee Olsen
Email: leeo@unr.edu
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:00 p.m.

ENG 223 Themes of Literature—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29220)
Instructor: Marshall Johnson
Email: marshalljohnson@unr.edu
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:00 p.m.

ENG 304 American Literature and Culture—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29172)
Instructor: Melissa Gunby
Email: mgunby@unr.edu
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:00 p.m.

ENG 321 Expository Writing—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29173)
Instructor: Daniel Morse
Email: dmorse@unr.edu
MTWR, 1:30–5:30 p.m.

Section: 5802 (29174)
Instructor: Jason Ludden
Email: jludden@unr.edu
MTWR, 1:30–5:30 p.m.

Section: 5803 (29175)
Instructor: Patrick Harris
Email: patrickharris@unr.edu
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:00 p.m.

ENG 331 Literary Themes—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29176)
Instructor: Charles Robinson
Email: chuckr@unr.edu
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:00 p.m.

ENG 340 Myth and Archetype—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29177)
Instructor: Cassandra Bishop
Email: cassandrabishop@nevada.unr.edu
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:00 p.m.

ENG 427A Women and Literature—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29178)
Instructor: Alison Johnson
Email: alisonj@unr.edu
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:00 p.m.

Finance • 784-6993

FIN 301 Principles of Managerial Finance—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29272)
Instructor: Hongchao Zeng
Email: hzeng@unr.edu
Online with final in person January 18, 10:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m.

Geography • 784-6995

GEOG 470 Geographic Explorations—2 credits

Section: 5801 (28564)
Instructor: Chris Ryan
Email: christopherr@unr.edu
Class Meeting: Thursday, January 8, 5:30–8:30 p.m.
Field Trip: January 10–13, San Francisco

Section: 5802 (28838)
Instructor: Chris Ryan
Email: christopherr@unr.edu
Field Trip: January 3–6, Death Valley
Students will be required to provide their own food and camping gear: tent, sleeping bag, warm clothing, and supplies. Light hiking will be required. Contact instructor for more information.

History • 784-6855

HIST 408A World War II Goes to the Movies—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29216)
Instructor: Doug Mishler
Email: damishler@aol.com
MTWR, 1:30–5:30 p.m.

HIST 608A World War II Goes to the Movies—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29217)
Instructor: Doug Mishler
Email: damishler@aol.com
MTWR, 1:30–5:30 p.m.

Human Development and Family Studies • 784-6767

HDFS 431B Advanced Human Development: Childhood—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29261)
Instructor: Bridget Walsh
Email: bridgetw@unr.edu
MTWR, 1:30–5:30 p.m.

HDFS 438 Children and Families in a Multiethnic Society—3 credits

Section: 5801 (28880)
Instructor: Joseph Lykes
Email: jlykes@unr.edu
MTWR, 1:30–5:30 p.m.

HDFS 638 Children and Families in a Multiethnic Society—3 credits

Section: 5801 (28881)
Instructor: Joseph Lykes
Email: jlykes@unr.edu
MTWR, 1:30–5:30 p.m.

Journalism • 784-6531

JOUR 208 All Things Media: Images and Sounds—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29190)
Instructor: Kari Barber
Email: karibarber@unr.edu
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:00 p.m.

JOUR 300 Visual Communication—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29249)
Instructor: Katherine Hepworth
Email: khepworth@unr.edu
Online with final through Examity

JOUR 304 Social Media and Society—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29222)
Instructor: Paromita Pain
Email: paromita.pain@gmail.com
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m.

JOUR 401 First Amendment & Society—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29191)
Instructor: Benjamin Birkinbine
Email: bbirkinbine@unr.edu
MTWRF, 1:30–4:30 p.m.

JOUR 490B Consumer Research for a Multicultural World—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29279)
Instructor: Ezequiel Korin
Email: ekorin@unr.edu
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:00 p.m.

Management • 784-6993

MGT 323 Organization and Interpersonal Behavior—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29253)
Instructor: Bret Simmons
Email: simmonsb@unr.edu
MTWR, 5:30–9:30 p.m.

MGT 325 Legal Environment—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29262)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWR, 1:30–5:30 p.m.

MGT 367 Human Resource Management—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29254)
Instructor: Joseph Ray
Email: jeray@unr.edu
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:00 p.m.

MGT 462 Changing Environments—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29259)
Instructor: Karla Vanhavel
Email: dr.petersvanhavel.ims@gmail.com
MTWR, 8:30 a.m.–12:30 p.m.

MGT 496 Strategic Management and Policy—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29255)
Instructor: Mark Packard
Email: mpackard@unr.edu
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:00 p.m.

Capstone Course

Marketing • 784-6993

MKT 210 Marketing Principles—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29257)
Instructor: Igor Makienko
Email: imakienko@unr.edu
MTWR, 9:00–1:00 p.m.

Mathematics • 784-6773

MATH 95 Elementary Algebra—3 credits

Section: 5801 (28974)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m.

MATH 96 Intermediate Algebra—3 credits

Section: 5801 (28975)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 1:30–4:30 p.m.

Section: 5802 (28976)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m.

MATH 126 Precalculus I—3 credits

Section: 5801 (28978)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 1:30–4:30 p.m.

Section: 5802 (28979)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m.

Section: 5803 (28980)
Instructor:
Email:
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m.

MATH 127 Precalculus II—3 credits

Section: 5801 (28981)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 1:30–4:30 p.m.

Section: 5802 (28982)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m.

Section: 5803 (28983)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 1:30–4:30 p.m.

Section: 5804 (28984)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m.

Section: 5805 (28985)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 1:30–4:30 p.m.

MATH 176 Introductory Calculus for Business and Social Sciences—3 credits

Section: 5801 (28986)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 1:30–4:30 p.m.

MATH 181 Calculus I—4 credits

Section: 5801 (28987)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRFS, 9:00 a.m.–12:20 p.m.
This class meets Monday through Saturday, January 2–19.

Section: 5802 (28988)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRFS, 9:00 a.m.–12:20 p.m.
This class meets Monday through Saturday, January 2–19.

MATH 182 Calculus II—4 credits

Section: 5801 (29040)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRFS, 9:00 a.m.–12:20 p.m.
This class meets Monday through Saturday, January 2–19.

Music • 784-6145

MUS 121 Music Appreciation—3 credits

Section: 5801 (26002)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:00 p.m.

MUS 425 Film Music—3 credits

Section: 5801 (26003)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:00 p.m.

Nutrition • 784-6444

NUTR 223 Principles of Nutrition—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29196)
Instructor: Karon Felten
Email: kfelten@cabnr.unr.edu
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m.

Physical Education Activity • 784-1546

PEX 169 Yoga—1 credit

Section: 5801 (26293)
Instructor: Alison Pratte
Email: amepratte@unr.edu
MTWRF, 7:00–9:00 a.m.

Physical Education Didactic • 784-1546

PED 320 Motor Development—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29218)
Instructor: Laura McHarg
Email: lmcharg@renown.org
MTWR, 5:00–9:00 p.m.

PED 391 Conditioning and Training Principles—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29158)
Instructor: Nora Constantino
Email: nlc@unr.edu
MTWR, 8:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m.

Political Science • 784-4601

PSC 231 Introduction to International Relations—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29185)
Instructor: Nicholas Seltzer
Email: naseltzer@gmail.com
MTWR, 1:30–5:30 p.m.

PSC 405Z Guns and Money—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29219)
Instructor: Allison Evans
Email:
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:00 p.m.

PSC 407W Terrorism—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29186)
Instructor: Nancy Martin
Email: susannemartin@unr.edu
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:00 p.m.

PSC 407Z Special Topics: Religion—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29271)
Instructor: Ian Hartshorn
Email: ihartshorn@unr.edu
MTWR, 1:30–5:30 p.m.

PSC 607W Terrorism—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29187)
Instructor: Nancy Martin
Email: susannemartin@unr.edu
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:00 p.m.

Psychology • 784-6828

PSY 101 General Psychology—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29206)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 12:15–3:15 p.m.

PSY 205 Elementary Analysis of Behavior—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29207)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 12:15–3:15 p.m.

PSY 240 Introduction to Research Methods—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29208)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 12:15–3:15 p.m.

PSY 403 Physiological Psychology—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29209)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 12:15–3:15 p.m.

PSY 436 Mindfulness in Psychology—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29210)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 12:15–3:15 p.m.

PSY 441 Abnormal Psychology—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29211)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 12:15–3:15 p.m.

Social Work • 784-6542

SW 498 Resilience Perspective—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29202)
Instructor: Linda Anngela-Cole
Email: lanngela@unr.edu
January 2–18. Final exam through the online proctor service, Examity.

SW 698 Resilience Perspective—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29203)
Instructor: Linda Anngela-Cole
Email: lanngela@unr.edu
January 2–18. Final exam through the online proctor service, Examity.

Sociology • 784-6647

SOC 101 Principles of Sociology—3 credits

Section: 5801 (27690)
Instructor: Angela Lee
Email: alee3@unr.edu
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:00 p.m.

SOC 342 Social Stratification—3 credits

Section: 5801 (27693)
Instructor: Clayton Peoples
Email: peoplesc@unr.edu
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:00 p.m.

SOC 490 Class, Race, and Gender—3 credits

Section: 5801 (28884)
Instructor: Berch Berberoglu
Email: berchb@unr.edu
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:00 p.m.

Capstone Course

SOC 690 Class, Race, and Gender—3 credits

Section: 5801 (28885)
Instructor: Berch Berberoglu
Email: berchb@unr.edu
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:00 p.m.

Statistics • 784-6855

STAT 152 Introduction to Statistics—3 credits

Section: 5801 (28989)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m.

Supply Chain Management • 784-4887

SCM 352 Operations Management—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29258)
Instructor: Armina Karapetian
Email: akarapetian@unr.edu
MTWR, 8:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m.

Women’s Studies • 784-6155

WMST 427A Women and Literature—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29221)
Instructor: Alison Johnson
Email: alisonj@unr.edu
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:00 p.m.

Note: students should always consult with an advisor to ascertain whether they are registering for correct classes for their degree.