Wintermester 2020 Courses

Please note: syllabus previews are linked below when available. Students will receive a full syllabus on the first day of class.

American Sign Language • 784-4887

AM 145 American Sign Language I—4 credits

Section: 5801 (29603)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–1:15 p.m.

AM 146 American Sign Language II—4 credits

Section: 5801 (29604)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–1:15 p.m.

AM 148 American Sign Language IV—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29605)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:20 p.m.

Anthropology • 784-6704

ANTH 401D Peoples and Cultures of Southeast Asia—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29583)
Instructor: Michelle Roberts
Email: chemwali@hotmail.com
MTWR, 5:00–9:30 p.m.

Diversity

Communication • 784-6839

COM 101 Oral Communication—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29591)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:20 p.m.

Section: 5802 (29592)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 5:00–9:30 p.m.

COM 329 Business and Professional Speaking—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29593)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:20 p.m.

COM 412 Intercultural Communication—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29594)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:20 p.m.

Capstone & Diversity

Section: 5802 (29595)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 1:30–4:50 p.m.

Capstone & Diversity

Community Health Sciences • 784-4041

CHS 101 Introduction to Community Health Sciences—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29561)
Instructor: Andrea Esp
Email: aesp@unr.edu
Online with final in person on January 17, 10:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m.

CHS 102 Foundations of Personal Health and Wellness—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29557)
Instructor: Sara Depaoli
Email: srosenow@unr.edu
MTWRF, 3:30–6:50 p.m.

CHS 211 Technical Writing in the Health Sciences—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29549)
Instructor: Nicholas Murray
Email: nicholasmurray@unr.edu
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:30 p.m.

CHS 310 Health and Wellness Communication—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29560)
Instructor: Amy Arias
Email: ariasa@unr.edu
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:30 p.m.

CHS 360 Disability Issues in Health Ecology—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29559)
Instructor: Robbin Dunn
Email: rvasquez@unr.edu
MTWRF, 5:00–9:30 p.m.

Diversity

CHS 371 Applied Kinesiology—4 credits

Section: 5801 (29562)
Instructor: Parley Anderson
Email: parleya@unr.edu
TWR, 4:30–9:00 p.m.

Section: 5811 (29563)
Instructor: Michael Spevak
Email: michaeljspevak@gmail.com
WR, 12:00:00–4:00 p.m.

CHS 405 Spirituality and Health—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29550)
Instructor: Melanie Minarik
Email: mminarik@unr.edu
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:30 p.m.

CHS 421 Health and Wellness Across the Lifespan—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29558)
Instructor: Lindsey Dermid-Gray
Email: ldermidgray@gmail.com
Mandatory online class meetings on the following dates: 1/2, 1/6, and 1/13 at 5:00 p.m. PT. The final exam is online.

CHS 461 The World’s Health—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29545)
Instructor: Gerold Dermid
Email: gdermid@unr.edu
Online with final in person on January 17, 10:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m.

Capstone & Diversity

Section: 5802 (29547)
Instructor: Kelly Morning
Email: kmorning@unr.edu
MTWR, 5:00–9:00 p.m.

Capstone & Diversity

CHS 473 Epidemiology—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29553)
Instructor: Julie Smith-Gagen
Email: jsmithgagen@unr.edu
MTWRF, 5:00–9:30 p.m.

CHS 476 AIDS: Psychosocial and Health Care Concerns—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29548)
Instructor: Melanie Flores
Email: melanief@unr.edu
MTWR, 5:00–9:30 p.m.

CHS 605 Spirituality and Health—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29551)
Instructor: Melanie Minarik
Email: mminarik@unr.edu
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:30 p.m.

CHS 661 The World’s Health—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29546)
Instructor: Gerold Dermid
Email: gdermid@unr.edu
Online with final in person on January 17, 10:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m.

Core Humanities • 784-4447

CH 201 Ancient and Medieval Cultures—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29575)
Instructor: Bretton Rodriguez
Email: brettonr@unr.edu
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:20 p.m.

CH 202 The Modern World—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29576)
Instructor: Erica Westhoff
Email: ewesthoff@unr.edu
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:20 p.m.

CH 203 American Experience and Constitutional Change—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29577)
Instructor: Lara Hansen
Email: lara.hansen818@gmail.com
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:20 p.m.

Section: 5855 (29534)
Instructor: Edan Strekal
Email: strekal@unr.edu
Online with two in-person exams

CH 212 Science, Technology, and Society in the Modern Era—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29578)
Instructor: Jason Ludden
Email: jludden@unr.edu
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:20 p.m.

Section: 5855 (29533)
Instructor: Angela Chase
Email: achase@unr.edu
Online with two in-person exams

Criminal Justice • 784-6164

CRJ 104 Introduction to Administration of Justice—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29496)
Instructor: Weston Morrow
Email: wmorrow@unr.edu
Online with final in person on January 17, 10:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m.

CRJ 311 Forensic Science—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29497)
Instructor: Breanne Jones
Email: breannejones@sbcglobal.net
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:20 p.m.

CRJ 430 Juvenile Justice—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29535)
Instructor: Melanie Taylor
Email: melanietaylor@unr.edu
Online with final through Examity

CRJ 463 Victimology—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29498)
Instructor: Emily Berthelot
Email: eberthelot@unr.edu
Online with final in person on January 17, 10:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m.

CRJ 475 Women and the Criminal Justice System—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29499)
Instructor: Pamla Keller
Email: keller.p@att.net
MTWRF, 1:30–4:50 p.m.

Capstone & Diversity

CRJ 498 Selected Topics in Criminal Justice—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29536)
Instructor: Pamela Everett
Email: peverett@unr.edu
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:20 p.m.

Economics • 784-6850

ECON 102 Principles of Microeconomics—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29584)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 1:30–4:50 p.m.

ECON 261 Principles of Statistics I—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29585)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 12:15–3:35 p.m.

ECON 262 Principles of Statistics II—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29586)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 1:30–4:50 p.m.

ECON 305 Comparative Economics—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29587)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 12:15–3:35 p.m.

Capstone & Diversity

ECON 334 Economic History of the U.S.—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29588)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:20 p.m.

Capstone and Diversity Course

Education • 784-4383

EDSP 411 Students with Disabilities in General Education Setting—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29609)
Instructor: Lindsey Batavia
Email:
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:20 p.m.

EDSP 611 Students with Disabilities in General Education Setting—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29610)
Instructor: Lindsey Batavia
Email:
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:20 p.m.

EDU 208 Characteristics of Students with Mild to Moderate Disabilities—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29582)
Instructor: Sharon Goldrup
Email: sgoldrup@gmail.com
Online with final through Examity.

Diversity

EDUC 413 Education for a Changing World—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29579)
Instructor: Eleni Oikonomidoy
Email: eleni@unr.edu
Online January 2–10
Meets in person, January 13–17 MTWRF, 8:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m.

Capstone & Diversity

EDUC 447 Parent Involvement and Family Engagement (K–12 Perspective)—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29494)
Instructor: Jennifer Mahon
Email: jmahon@unr.edu
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:20 p.m.

EDUC 613 Education for a Changing World—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29580)
Instructor: Eleni Oikonomidoy
Email: eleni@unr.edu
Online January 2–10
Meets in person, January 13–17 MTWRF, 8:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m.

EDUC 647 Parent Involvement and Family Engagement (P–12 Perspective)—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29494)
Instructor: Jennifer Mahon
Email: jmahon@unr.edu
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:20 p.m.

Educational Leadership • 784-7870

EL 703 Administration and Curriculum Improvement—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29581)
Instructor: Jafeth Salido-Sanchez
Email: jesanchez@unr.edu
Online January 2–17
Final exam online through proctoring service.

English • 784-6689

ENG 202 Film Analysis and Interpretation—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29537)
Instructor: Brendan Johnston
Email: brendanj@unr.edu
MTWRF, 1:30–4:50 p.m.

ENG 205 Introduction to Creative Writing: Fiction and Poetry—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29538)
Instructor: Michelle Wait
Email: michellewait@nevada.unr.edu
MTWRF, 1:30–4:50 p.m.

ENG 246 The Art of Literature—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29567)
Instructor: Holly Kruitbosch
Email: hollyk3799@me.com
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:20 p.m.

ENG 261 Introduction to Poetry—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29568)
Instructor: Peter Picetti
Email: peter.picetti@hotmail.com
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:20 p.m.

ENG 301 Understanding Arguments—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29569)
Instructor: Patrick Harris
Email: patrickharris@unr.edu
MTWRF, 1:30–4:50 p.m.

Section: 5802 (29570)
Instructor: Blake Watson
Email: bwatson@unr.edu
MTWRF, 1:30–4:50 p.m.

ENG 321 Expository Writing—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29539)
Instructor: Katie Miller
Email: katrinamiller@unr.edu
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:20 p.m.

Section: 5802 (29540)
Instructor: Albert Lehman
Email: alehman@nevada.unr.edu
MTWRF, 1:30–4:50 p.m.

Section: 5803 (29541)
Instructor: Lee Olsen
Email: leeo@unr.edu
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:20 p.m.

ENG 345 Literature of Ethnic Minorities in the U.S.—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29542)
Instructor: Megan Cannella
Email: mcannella@unr.edu
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:20 p.m.

Capstone

ENG 400B Topics in Professional Writing—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29571)
Instructor: William Macauley
Email: wmacauleyjr@unr.edu
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:20 p.m.

ENG 600B Topics in Professional Writing—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29572)
Instructor: William Macauley
Email: wmacauleyjr@unr.edu
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:20 p.m.

Finance • 784-6993

FIN 301 Principles of Managerial Finance—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29493)
Instructor: Hongchao Zeng
Email: hzeng@unr.edu
Online with final in person January 17, 10:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m.

History • 682-8993

HIST 408A World War II Goes to the Movies—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29489)
Instructor: Doug Mishler
Email: damishler@aol.com
MTWRF, 1:30–4:50 p.m.

Capstone

HIST 409 History of Sports in America—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29488)
Instructor: Jonathan Cummins
Email: jcummins@unr.edu
MTWRF, 6:00–9:20 p.m.

HIST 608A World War II Goes to the Movies—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29490)
Instructor: Doug Mishler
Email: damishler@aol.com
MTWRF, 1:30–4:50 p.m.

HIST 609 History of Sports in America—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29544)
Instructor: Jonathan Cummins
Email: jcummins@unr.edu
MTWRF, 6:00–9:20 p.m.

Human Development and Family Studies • 784-6490

HDFS 400 Hip Hop Studies—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29601)
Instructor: Joseph (Jody) Lykes
Email: jlykes@unr.edu
MTWRF, 1:30–4:50 p.m.

HDFS 600 Hip Hop Studies—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29602)
Instructor: Joseph (Jody) Lykes
Email: jlykes@unr.edu
MTWRF, 1:30–4:50 p.m.

Journalism • 784-6531

JOUR 208 All Things Media: Images and Sounds—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29525)
Instructor: Ezequiel Korin
Email: ekorin@unr.edu
MTWR, 9:00–9:20 a.m.

Lab Section: 5811 (29526)
MTWR, 9:30 a.m.–1:30 p.m.

JOUR 304 Social Media and Society—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29522)
Instructor: Paromita Pain
Email: paromita.pain@gmail.com
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:20 p.m.

JOUR 361 Writing for Strategic Communications—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29523)
Instructor: Alison Gaulden
Email: gauldena@unr.edu
MTWR, 2:00–6:30 p.m.

JOUR 401 First Amendment & Society—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29524)
Instructor: Benjamin Birkinbine
Email: bbirkinbine@unr.edu
MTWRF, 1:30–4:50 p.m.

Management • 784-6993

MGT 323 Organization and Interpersonal Behavior—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29253)
Instructor: Bret Simmons
Email: simmonsb@unr.edu
MTWR, 5:30–9:30 p.m.

MGT 325 Legal Environment—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29262)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWR, 1:30–5:30 p.m.

MGT 367 Human Resource Management—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29254)
Instructor: Joseph Ray
Email: jeray@unr.edu
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:00 p.m.

MGT 462 Changing Environments—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29259)
Instructor: Karla Vanhavel
Email: dr.petersvanhavel.ims@gmail.com
MTWR, 8:30 a.m.–12:30 p.m.

Capstone

MGT 496 Strategic Management and Policy—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29255)
Instructor: Mark Packard
Email: mpackard@unr.edu
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:00 p.m.

Capstone Course

Marketing • 784-6993

MKT 210 Marketing Principles—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29257)
Instructor: Igor Makienko
Email: imakienko@unr.edu
MTWR, 9:00–1:00 p.m.

Mathematics • 784-6773

MATH 95 Elementary Algebra—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29472)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:20 p.m.

MATH 96 Intermediate Algebra—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29473)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 1:30–4:50 p.m.

Section: 5802 (29474)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:20 p.m.

MATH 126 Precalculus I—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29475)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 1:30–4:50 p.m.

Section: 5802 (29476)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:20 p.m.

Section: 5803 (29477)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:20 p.m.

MATH 127 Precalculus II—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29478)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 1:30–4:50 p.m.

Section: 5802 (29479)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:20 p.m.

Section: 5803 (29480)
Instructor:
Email:
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:20 p.m.

Section: 5804 (29481)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:20 p.m.

Section: 5805 (29482)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 1:30–4:50 p.m.

MATH 176 Introductory Calculus for Business and Social Sciences—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29483)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:20 p.m.

MATH 181 Calculus I—4 credits

Section: 5801 (29484)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRFS, 9:00 a.m.–12:45 p.m.

Section: 5802 (29485)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRFS, 9:00 a.m.–12:45 p.m.

MATH 182 Calculus II—4 credits

Section: 5801 (29486)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRFS, 9:00 a.m.–12:45 p.m.

Music • 784-6145

MUS 121 Music Appreciation—3 credits

Section: 5801 (26002)
Instructor: Valerio Morucci
Email: vmorucci@unr.edu
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:00 p.m.

MUS 425 Film Music—3 credits

Section: 5801 (26003)
Instructor: Louis Niebur
Email: lniebur@unr.edu
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:00 p.m.

Capstone

Integrative Neuroscience • 682-8691

NS 403 Physiological Psychology—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29531)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:20 p.m.

NS 432 Human Memory—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29574)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:20 p.m.

Nutrition • 784-6444

NUTR 223 Principles of Nutrition—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29607)
Instructor: Karon Felten
Email: kfelten@cabnr.unr.edu
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:20 p.m.

Physical Education Activity • 784-1546

PEX 169 Yoga—1 credit

Section: 5801 (29566)
Instructor: Alison Pratte
Email: amepratte@unr.edu
MTWRF, 7:00–9:00 a.m.

Physical Education Didactic • 784-1546

PED 340 Teaching Rhythmic Activities—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29564)
Instructor: Manal Toppozada
Email: manalt@unr.edu
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:20 p.m.

PED 391 Conditioning and Training Principles—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29565)
Instructor: Nora Constantino
Email: nlc@unr.edu
MTWR, 8:00 a.m.–12:30 p.m.

Political Science • 784-4601

PSC 400F Politics in Film—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29543)
Instructor: Nicholas Seltzer
Email: naseltzer@gmail.com
MTWRF, 1:30–4:50 p.m.

Psychology • 784-6828

PSY 101 General Psychology—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29517)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:20 p.m.

PSY 205 Elementary Analysis of Behavior—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29518)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:20 p.m.

PSY 403 Physiological Psychology—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29519)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:20 p.m.

PSY 432 Human Memory—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29573)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:20 p.m.

PSY 441 Abnormal Psychology—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29521)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:20 p.m.

Social Work • 784-6542

SW 498 Resilience Perspective—3 credits

Section: 5801 ()
Instructor: Linda Anngela-Cole
Email: lanngela@unr.edu
Online with final through Examity.

SW 698 Resilience Perspective—3 credits

Section: 5801 ()
Instructor: Linda Anngela-Cole
Email: lanngela@unr.edu
Online with final through Examity.

Sociology • 784-6647

SOC 101 Principles of Sociology—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29597)
Instructor: Clayton Peoples
Email: peoplesc@unr.edu
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:30 p.m.

SOC 463 Social Psychology of Education—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29598)
Instructor: Markus Kemmelmeier
Email: markusk@unr.edu
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:30 p.m.

SOC 497 Special Topics: Sociology in Film—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29600)
Instructor: Berch Berberoglu
Email: berchb@unr.edu
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:30 p.m.

Diversity

SOC 663 Social Psychology of Education—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29599)
Instructor: Markus Kemmelmeier
Email: markusk@unr.edu
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:30 p.m.

SOC 697 Special Topics: Sociology in Film—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29630)
Instructor: Berch Berberoglu
Email: berchb@unr.edu
MTWR, 9:00 a.m.–1:30 p.m.

Statistics • 784-6773

STAT 152 Introduction to Statistics—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29487)
Instructor: TBA
Email:
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:20 p.m.

Women’s Studies • 784-1560

WMST 345 Literature of Ethnic Minorities in the U.S.—3 credits

Section: 5801 (29606)
Instructor: Megan Cannella
Email: mcannella@unr.edu
MTWRF, 9:00 a.m.–12:20 p.m.

Note: students should always consult with an advisor to ascertain whether they are registering for correct classes for their degree.