skip to main content

Mechanical Engineering

Ideas in Motionsm

If it moves, a mechanical engineer probably had something to do with it. In our department, we're investigating mechanical systems ranging from how organisms move through aquatic environments to how groups of robots can coordinate flight through the skies.

Undergraduate Program

students in mechanical engineering lab

View Majors and Minors

Graduate Program

students prepare for balloon launch

Explore Our Program


 Hassan Masoud

Fluid and Flocks podcast

Dr. Masoud was recently interviewed on the Physics Central podcast to talk about the fluid dynamic principles underlying flocks of birds and schools of fishes.

Listen to the podcast

 Hassan Massoud

Dr. Masoud published in Nature Communications

Congratulations to Dr. Hassan Masoud, whose recent work on fluid dynamics of fish schools and bird flocks, was published in Nature Communications. Developed with collaborators at New York University, the paper explores a simulated mechanized or robotic school that offers the first look at the flows inside such groups, showing how flapping swimmers "surf" through the wavy stream left by their upstream neighbors. The principles discovered through the simulation  could be put to practical use harvesting energy from ocean waves or atmospheric turbulence.

View all announcements

Browse past department announcements.

Mechanical Engineering News

View all news >>

Contact Us

Mechanical Engineering (312)

1664 N. Virginia Street

Reno, NV 89557

Phone (775) 784-6931

Fax (775) 784-1701

Palmer Engineering, 200

Take the next step...