University Balloon Race Scholarship Recipients

University students Miranda Smith and Darrin Mccarthy receive scholarship

8/26/2014 | By: Staff Report  |

The University Balloon Race Scholarship Committee has been in existence since 1986 and has awarded scholarship funds each year since 1999.  The committee exists solely to raise the money to award two scholarships a year; one to an undergraduate student and one to a graduate student.

The committee is pleased to announce Miranda Smith as the graduate student recipient and Darrin Mccarthy as the undergraduate student recipient for the 2014-2015 academic year.

Miranda Smith volunteers for the Crisis Call Center and at the Solace Tree.   She is also involved in being a tutor at the University Writing Center. She is seeking a master's degree in Social Work.  She would like to help people, no matter their situation in life, to accomplish all that they can.

Darrin Mccarthy is seeking a bachelor's degree in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology.  Darrin enjoys doing research and wants to help as many people as he can.

The University Balloon Race Scholarship Committee would like to congratulate Miranda Smith and Darrin Mccarthy for their hard work and encourage everyone to attend the Great Reno Balloon Race at Rancho San Rafael Park on September 5-7, 2013.  For a $5 donation you can receive this year's University Balloon Race Scholarship pin.  So, don't forget to stop by and visit the University Balloon Race Scholarship Committee booth at the event.


For more news on the University of Nevada, Reno, follow @unevadareno on Twitter.

Get Nevada Today in your Inbox!