Annual classified recognition reception set for Wednesday

Employees on campus to be honored for achievement, service

6/7/2013 | By: Staff Report  |

The annual Classified Employee Recognition Reception event will be held on Wednesday, June 12, at 3 p.m. in the Glick Ballroom of the Joe Crowley Student Union.

This year's event should have about 300 attendees, said one of the event's organizers, Lynda McLellan.

Additions this year will include recognition of the calendar year's (January-December) "Employee of the Month" awardees. Thirteen individuals earned this recognition, McLellan said. A parking pass will be presented to one lucky winner.

Special recognition will be made for Gina Bagne, a facility attendant in Residential Life Housing and Food Service, who on Oct. 13, 2012 and despite being severely injured by a student who was arrested at White Pine Hall, according to University Police reports, had the presence of mind and courage to alert others in the residence hall and give police necessary information for an arrest prior to seeking assistant for her own wounds.

In addition recognition and awards will be presented to outgoing Staff Employee Council (SEC) members.

Howard Rosenberg, the longtime University art professor and former member of the Board of Regents of the Nevada System of Higher Education, will serve as the MC while President Marc Johnson will deliver opening remarks. Johnson will also award certificates to the outgoing SEC members. Johnson has granted University employees two hours of administrative leave to attend the function. Refreshments will be served following the ceremonies.

Drawings will be held for a Southwest Airline certificate and many other items.

2013 retirees include: Harley Anderson, Cheryl Balik, Dennis Brown, Peter Brown, Sylvia Brown, Diana Chamberlain, Deborah Coker, Carol Cude, Yan-Ping Dai, Marie Dembroge, Mario Desilets, Ann Freeman, James Geddes, Norma Green, Frank Hawkins, Patricia Hawkinson, Debra Herzig, Robert Hoffman, Karl Horst, Nathan Hunt, Kim Jacobsen, Ronald Jacques, Celeste Johnson, Charles Lauterback, James Lockwood, Maria Lopez-Harris, Pamela Love, Rita Lynch, James Maranda, Heidi McConnell, Marilyn Morton, Kenneth Palm, Chet Payne, Robin Penfield, Dana Penrod, Phillip Pert, Raymond Pierce, Gary Price, Frederick Reid, Alicia Richardson, Alice Samuelson, Karan Sandholm, Carla Scott, Xiao-Ming Shen, Cindy Smullen, Bobbie Thomas, Kathleen Thomson, JoAnn Walters, Debra Widera.

Years of Service honorees include:

30 Years: Robert Del Porto, Penny Jenkins, Jeanne Martinez;

25 Years: David Davis, John Freeman, Robin Freestone, Gloria Glaser, Pauline Jasper,  Paul Lau, Theresa Moser, Regina Sisson, Daniel Yourdon;

20 Years: William Bailey, Wade Cline, Dorothy Currie, Debbie Elwell, Kathy Imasaki, Gary Johnson, Sean McCarthy, Alan Simpson, Charles Stricker;

15 Years:  Camilla Allen, Kevin Barnett, Angelina Bobadilla, Millicent Braxton-Calhoun, Richard Budetti,  Daisy Calabria, Brian Draper, Rose Du Plessis, Nicholas Ebsen, Jodie Helman, Carol Hendrix, Dean Hummel, Eduardo Martinez-Maravilla, John McCurry, Robert Molina, Pamela Moore, Danna O'Connor, Maria Pabico, Marlene Parks, Brenda Quihuis, Bonita Ragains, Stacey Rice, Julie Seekins, Antonio Sei, Phyllis Snedeker, Roxanne Taft, Peter Thorkildson;

10 Years: Brandi Aiazzi, Kurt Adams, Donnie Andrews, Martha Baring, Lilian Blanchard, David Burgarello, Steve Cavallaro, Ella Chavez-Harbrecht, Deborah Cruze, Christina Estrada,  Brenda Goodwin, Carlton "Lee" Green, Maryann Henry, Kimberly Higgins, Iris Hochschild, Karen Johnson, Kelly Larson, Daniel Martin, Shannon Montana, Molly Mott, Jonathan Pakish, Heidi Petermeier, Ida Roberts, Melissa Samon, Janet Smith, Nyleen Smith, Dawna Snyder, Lisa Southern, Joanne Tully, Jeffrey Uithoven, Linda Ward, Mona Watts, Michelle Whitaker, Edward Williams, Lois Young

Recognition of Outgoing SEC Members: Christopher Chadwick, Carlton "Lee" Green, Kristen Kabrin, Nancy Kelly, Lynda McLellan, Shannon Sisco, Phyllis Snedeker, Barbara Wiley, Erik Williams.

Recognition of the Distinguished Classified Employee of the Year and Runner-Up will also be made.


For more news on the University of Nevada, Reno, follow @unevadareno on Twitter.

Get Nevada Today in your Inbox!