Graduates honored with awards

Numerous awards presented during final weeks of spring semester

5/25/2012 | By: Staff Reports  |

Numerous graduating student awards were presented during the final days of the spring 2012 semester at the University of Nevada, Reno.

Below is a list of many of them. Please note that the list below was compiled from awards submitted by an April 20 deadline.

University-wide honors

  • Herz Gold Medal for Outstanding Scholarship: Mathew N. Neben
  • ROTC Governor's Award: Catherine Stokes
  • ROTC President's Award: Zachary Betts
  • Student Employee of the Year: Michelle Bowman
  • Cavanaugh Community Volunteer Award: Christopher John McDonnell
  • Henry Albert Senior Public Service Award: Schinria Islam; Juan Lopez; Gregrette Perry; Pierce Robledo
  • Outstanding Senior Award: Schinria Islam; Maxwell Alderman
  • Phi Kappa Phi Award: Heather Cherry; Dae Hyun Hahm
  • Regents' Scholar Award Graduate: Crystal Colombini
  • Regents' Scholar Award Undergraduate: Muir Morrison
  • Graduate Student Association
  • Outstanding Graduate Student Researcher: Victoria Springer
  • Outstanding Graduating Graduate Student: Angela Spires

College Honors
Agriculture, Biotechnology and Natural Resources

Outstanding Undergraduates

  • Biochemistry & Molecular Biology: Jeffrey Surin; Alexander Shaft; Magda Nowinski
  • Agriculture, Nutrition and Veterinary Science: Nicole Richardson; Lisa Gilmore; Brittanie Miller
  • Natural Resources and Environmental Science: Shannon Swim; Michele Clark; Anthony Bush

Outstanding Graduate Students

  • Biochemistry & Molecular Biology: Minmin (Guizhi) Song
  • Biotechnology: Suman Gurung
  • Agriculture, Nutrition and Veterinary Science: Chiara Velotta
  • Natural Resources and Environmental Science: Cody McKee

College of Business

  • Most Outstanding Senior: Meredith McBride
  • Outstanding Seniors: Tatiana Burkham; Cody Heimerdinger; Justin Morrill; Mathew Neben; Kati Nelson; Colin Proctor; Rachel Sa-Onoy

College of Engineering

  • College Outstanding Service Award: James Johnson

Civil and Environmental Engineering

  • Department Senior Scholar: Erika Horst
  • Outstanding Service: Justin Kunert

Chemical and Materials Engineering

  • Outstanding Service: Kelsey Plank
  • Departmental Senior Scholar: Diane Mar

Computer Science and Engineering

  • Outstanding Service: Marvin Smith
  • Departmental Senior Scholar: Brian Streng

Electrical and Biomedical Engineering

  • Departmental Senior Scholar: Cynthia Hughes
  • Outstanding Service: Stefan Briones

Mechanical Engineering

  • Outstanding Service: Marissa Tsugawa
  • Departmental Senior Scholar: Trevor Cummins

College of Science

Westfall Scholars

  • Biology: Holly Breeden
  • Chemistry: Janell Mahoney
  • Geography: Matthew Barnes
  • Geological Sciences and Engineering: Erica Romero
  • Mathematics and Statistics: Jarrett Kemmerly
  • Physics: Muir Morrison
  • The Vernon E. Scheid Award: Matthew Barnes

Community Health Sciences

  • Wolf Pack Award: Shane Collins
  • Academic Achievement Award: Melissa Neu
  • Honors Award: Emily Stetzer
  • Public Health Service Award: Bonnie Elliott

College of Liberal Arts

  • Dean's Distinguished Scholar: Aaron Benedetti

Outstanding Graduates

  • Social Sciences: Kristina Wiggins
  • Arts: Ashlea Clark
  • Humanities: Taylor Diamond
  • Dean's Award for Service: Nicholas Weiland
  • Dean's Award for Research: Terina Metoyer
  • Dean's Award for Performance/Artistry: Amy  Aramanda
  • Dean's Exemplar Award: Shirley Diaz
  • Dean's Special Recognition: Zachary Betts

Department of English

  • Critical Writing Award: Ilse Grangaard (first place); Sravya Challa (second place)
  • DQ Writing Award: Megan Padilla (fiction); Suzanne Shoemaker (poetry)

Athletics Honors

  • All Western Athletic Conference Team: Annabelle Allen; Jeremy Cole; Olek Czyz; Mike Gallett; Dario Hunt; Danielle Patrick; Tahnee Robinson; Nicole Williams; Brandon Wimberly
  • WAC All-Academic Team: Jacob Anderson; Alex Borcherts; Marie Cove; Matthew Gardner; Britton Murdock; Lais Ogata; Tatiana Santiago; Elizabeth Stott; Garrett Yrigoyen

Senior Scholars and Mentors

College of Agriculture, Biotechnology and Natural Resources

  • Scholar: Cassandra Allen
  • Mentor: Dr. Dale Holcombe

College of Business

  • Scholar: Mathew Neben
  • Mentor: Dr. Rahul Bhargava

College of Education

  • Scholar: Gina Rosa
  • Mentor: Dr. David Crowther

College of Engineering

  • Scholar: Charley Voos
  • Mentor: Dr. Kam Leang

Donald W. Reynolds School of Journalism

  • Scholar: Catherine Stokes
  • Mentor: Ms. Rosemary McCarthy

Division of Health Sciences

  • Scholar: Patricia Milham
  • Mentor: Dr. Leah Skladany

College of Liberal Arts

  • Scholar: Aaron Benedetti
  • Mentor: Dr. James Mardock

College of Science

  • Scholar: Matthew Barnes
  • Mentor: Dr. Scott Mensing


For more news on the University of Nevada, Reno, follow @unevadareno on Twitter.

Get Nevada Today in your Inbox!