Honor the Best ceremony recognizes vital, productive and quality staff, faculty and students

‘Together, we are taking our University into a bright and prosperous future’

Felicity Muth, left, was honored with the Postdoctoral Award for Exceptional Mentoring, and Carrie Branch was awarded the Graduate Regents' Scholars Award. Photo by David Calvert.


5/16/2018 | By: Natalie Fry |

Shannon Ellis, VP Student Services, opened the 2018 "Honor the Best" ceremony, held Tuesday, May 15, in the Glick Ballrooms of the Joe Crowley Student Union. More than 370 people attended the ceremony and reception.

“As members of the Wolf Pack family know, this is a vibrant campus with the success and challenges of a public land-grant university seeking to prepare itself and its students for the future,” Ellis said. “This afternoon, we recognize and celebrate many of those who have made this University what it stands for today.”

Since 1970, the "Honor the Best" ceremony has been a gathering by the campus to recognize the outstanding achievements of faculty, staff and students. Executive Vice President and Provost Kevin Carman continued with welcoming remarks before the presentation of awards.

“We are a vital, productive and quality institution because we have so many vital, productive and quality people who play important roles,” Carman said. “All of today’s honorees have made it a point throughout their careers to take that extra step, to go that extra mile, so that others could benefit. So, this is a shared moment, where we celebrate personal achievement and also acknowledge the great outcomes that are often a combination of extraordinary moments, done together, for the good of all. All of you have provided us with a proud example of what it means to work, to teach, to research, to study and to provide service.”

The list of honorees Tuesday included:

Emeriti Faculty: Davood Bahrami; Phillip Boardman; Charles Carslaw; John Cobourn; Denise Cordova; Jason Davison; Francis Flavin; Alan Fuchs; Betty Glass; Cheryll Glotfelty; Sandra Haslem; Guy Hoelzer; James Kenyon; Steven Lewis; Bernadette Mae Longo; Richard Mason; Marilyn Ming; William Murphy-Sharp; Christopher Nielson; Kim O’Reilly; Samuel Parks; Pat Ragains; Susan Ray; Roger Ritzlin; Beatriz Robinson; Howard Rosenberg; Patsy Ruchala; David Sanders; Eberhardt Sauerland; Kathleen Schegg; Emma Sepulveda Pulvirenti; Sonya Sistare; Marilyn Smith; Anton Sohn; William Sparkman; Gregg Tallman; John Tipton; Virginia Vogel; Patricia Walsh; Mary Perry Wilson; Ronald Zurek

Foundation Professors: George Bebis, Michael Branch, Wendy Calvin, Peter Weisberg

Kevin Carman, Eric Herzik and Shannon Ellis pose for a photos at the Honor the Best ceremony

From left, Provost Kevin Carman, Professor of Political Science Eric Herzik and VP Student Services Shannon Ellis. Herzik was surprised and honored with the 2018 Distinguished Faculty award. Photo by David Calvert.

F. Donald Tibbitts Distinguished Teacher Award: Shannon Richard; Dianna Townsend

Distinguished Outreach Faculty: Jane Fisher

Inclusion, Equity and Diversity Leadership Award: Albert Lee

Innovative Impact Award: Kara Cleveland

Outstanding Undergraduate Research Faculty Mentor: Christopher Jeffrey

Postdoctoral Award for Exceptional Mentoring: Felicity Muth

Student Employee of the Year: Karla Cortes Canchola

Cavanaugh Community Volunteer Award: Tyra Eggert

Henry Albert Senior Public Service Award: Joseph Jun-Yiu Cheung, Jr.; Catherine Pollock; Brittany Rose Russ; Clark Watkins

Phi Kappa Phi Award: Kayla Banda; Luke Bittar; Brenda Saldana

Outstanding Senior Award: Yesenia Alvarez Padilla; Catherine Pollock

Outstanding Graduate Student Researcher: Alicia DeVault

Outstanding Graduate Student: Farzan Kazemi

ROTC Governor's Award: Mira Seekins

ROTC President's Award: Royce Kennerley

Faculty Senate's Award for Outstanding Service: Cheryl Hug-English; David Sanders

Thornton Peace Prize: Kate Berry; Kevin McReynolds

Regents' Academic Advisory Award, Undergraduate: Natalia Rudi

Regents’ Researcher of the Year: Mae Sexauer Gustin

Regents’ Rising Researcher Award: Wesley Chalifoux

Regents’ Rising Researcher Award: Jacqueline Snow

Regents’ Scholar Award, Graduate: Carrie Branch

Regents’ Scholar Award, Undergraduate: Shahil Pema

Outstanding Researcher: Jeffrey Harper

Early Career Innovator Award: Amilton de Mello

Established Innovator Award: Thomas Bell

Global Engagement Award: Mehmet Tosun

Outstanding Supervisor Award: James Beattie

Administrative Faculty of the Year: Jeffrey Erickson

Distinguished Classified Employee Award: Donna Healy

Distinguished Service: Ronald Zurek

Distinguished Faculty: Eric Herzik

Ellis concluded the ceremony and said, “Together, we are taking our University into a bright and prosperous future.”


For more news on the University of Nevada, Reno, follow @unevadareno on Twitter.

Get Nevada Today in your Inbox!