Wolfie Jr. battles to become Capital One Mascot of the Year

Wolfie Jr. battles to become Capital One Mascot of the Year

University of Nevada mascot, Wolfie Jr., has been selected to the 10th annual Capital One All-America Mascot Team and is battling to become the Capital One National Mascot of the Year.

Fans can vote for Wolfie Jr. at Capital One Bowl, on Facebook at Mascot Challenge on Facebook and via text voting.

"We are so excited for Wolfie Jr. to be a part of the Capital One Mascot Challenge. This is the first time for Nevada to make the mascot team, and we want to be great contenders and win the entire contest," Nevada cheer coach Kim Anastassatos said. "Wolfie Jr. needs votes, lots of them, and we are calling on all Nevada fans to vote for Wolfie Jr., by text, Facebook or the Capital One mascot web page."

Sixteen mascots, representing nine conferences and including several natural gridiron rivalries, are vying for the title determined exclusively by fan votes. The voting continues weekly through Nov. 21, 2011. The top eight mascots with the best head-to-head records will then compete in a bracket-style, single-elimination competition to determine the overall winner. When the dust – and fur – settles, one lucky creature will be named the Capital One National Mascot of the Year at the 2012 Capital One Bowl on Jan. 2.

This year's field is comprised of a variety of species, including an eclectic mix of mammals and reptiles. As in years past, the only things that eclipse the gargantuan size of the mascots' heads is their boundless energy and relentless commitment to claiming the title by any means necessary.

Though visibly thrilled to be named to the Capital One Mascot Team, Wolfie Jr. had no comment on the honor as he cannot speak.

Members of the 2011 Capital One All-America Mascot Team, as nominated by their schools and selected by a panel of judges from Capital One and the mascot community, include: Wilbur T. Wildcat of University of Arizona, Aubie of Auburn University, Testudo of the University of Maryland, Hairy Dawg of the University of Georgia, Brutus Buckeye of The Ohio State, University Duck of the University of Oregon, Buzz of Georgia Tech, Cy of Iowa State, Sparty of Michigan State University, Mike the Tiger of Louisiana State University, Wolfie Jr. of the University of Nevada, Boomer of the University of Oklahoma, Big Blue of Old Dominion University, Benny Beaver of Oregon State University, SuperFrog of TCU and Big Red of Western Kentucky University.

New this year, fans can view never-before-told before stories for each mascot to learn more about their journey to become National Mascot of the Year at www.CapitalOneBowl.com and www.Facebook.com/MascotChallenge.

The Capital One National Mascot of the Year will be awarded a $20,000 scholarship to help fund its school's mascot program. Each of the 2011 Capital One All-America team members receives $5,000 for their university mascot program.

Latest From

Nevada Today